Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Fight 3000 (II)

by ComaToes - Jam Entry

Kill alien scum!

Game Info

This is a solo entry, splintered from teamawesome's entry. I "borrowed" the team art and sound assets but all the code is my own. Play both games and see how we each did!

Levels 1 and 2 are fixed and closely laid out. 3+ are randomly generated, so you'll need to get used to using boost (right click accelerates toward mouse cursor) to get to places you can't just jump to.

If you stray too far from the play area you'll die, so keep control of your speed and trajectory!

The connection between the worlds is gravity. Everything is affected by it so aim yourself and your bullets accordingly!


Playing the Game

Linux users can play by installing 'python-pygame', cloning from the git repo and running 'spacefight3001.py', e.g.

sudo apt-get install git python python-pygame
git clone git@github.com:ComaToes/spacefight3001.git
cd spacefight3001
python spacefight3001.py

Standalone Windows binary package is available, or you can install python 2.7 and pygame and run from a git clone.

Packaged build for Mac coming soon(tm)

If the default resolution is too high for you, you can change it in spacefight3001.py (camera.WIN_WIDTH and camera.WIN_HEIGHT)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#332Humor(Jam)2.52
#338Fun(Jam)3.11
#386Innovation(Jam)3.03
#483Theme(Jam)2.94
#492Audio(Jam)2.75
#531Mood(Jam)2.82
#557Overall(Jam)2.95
#637Graphics(Jam)2.71

Comments

teamawesome says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:52am

Thanks for ripping off our game you faithless gimboid

ComaToes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:12am

Our games are totally different. Mine is fun to play ;)

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Really great job! I loved the gravity mechanic and had a lot of fun trying to leap off and far as I could while shooting at the aliens. It was a satisfying experience overall

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Nice game! I love how bullets are affected by gravity. Boosting was fun as well. Once, an alien strayed so far from the play area I died trying to catch it. But, had fun with this one. Good job.

abayb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Very cool game and concept, but I feel I can't rate it very high if the art and sound assets were developed by someone else!

dancingmad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Wait, which one is the original game? this one or the one created by teamawesome??

ComaToes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:00pm

There is no "original" game. Both games were developed alongside each other - literally - we all sat in the same room! I split from the team early on as they decided to use libraries I had no chance of learning in time (I hadn't used pygame before, let alone the custom, undocumented OpenGL wrapper and Box2D physics lib), so we shared assets and produced two games, rather than me holding the others back.

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Nice one!

radmars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:41pm

neat. fun little game

nice to have a game for linux that works out of the box on fedora :)

audio got a bit repetative after a bit

jmf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Nice game! Feels good to control.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:21am

You've mastered the physics of this game perfectly! May the odds be ever in your favor!

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:50am

Fun to play, and I loved the SFX heh

dancingmad says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:03am

@ComaToes ok

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Fun game mechanics with a good design and good sound

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:49pm

I loved the "Euar!" sonds when an alien die x)

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:01pm

I like how big the levels are and the programmer art looks very charming.

teamawesome says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Just to be clear, us lot over at teamawesome don't really agree with ComaToes' narrative. It rather feels more like he took our ideas and assets (well eskoala's) and made his own game. It really spoiled it for the rest of us who took part in good faith.

Vudu says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:19am

The gravity and boost-mechanics are really cool.
I ran into the same problem as "OnlySlightly", which made the game impossible to complete,
but I still had a lot of fun playing it.

Rehacked says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:36am

good game but didnt get the theme in it

PixelFeet says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:54am

I enjoyed the physics of your game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]