Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Just an Otter Game

by Logan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Just an Otter Game! Like any Otter Game.
Try to get to the right side of every screen.

Please at least play the second level before rating. If you get too stuck, there are some cheats lower down.


Controls are:

Move - Arrows
Button 1 (jump) - X
Button 2 (run) - C
(You will need to use RUN to clear pits. It's important)


Restart level (if you get hopelessly stuck) - Backspace

If you don't like these, press Ctrl+Y to change them.
If you don't like the sounds, Ctrl+S will mute them.

Cheat keys:

Shift+F - Fire Otter
Shift+numbers - level select


Made in Multimedia Fusion 2
Sounds made in sfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#31Theme4.13
#60Innovation4.00
#175Overall3.63
#267Graphics3.58
#329Humor2.74
#334Fun3.30
#385Mood3.19
#582Audio2.67

Comments

ajopart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Works fine. Cute graphics, liked it. But where is the link with the theme ?

Logan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:30pm

The theme should become apparent by the second level. How far did you play?

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:39am

Our game is the same way, you won't get the connection unless you play to the 2nd level. It's apparent you put a lot of effort into 48 hours! Good luck to you!

otresnjak says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:49am

LOVE this. Very clever!

Nanolotl says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:52am

Amazing idea and done really well.
The platformer physics felt good and the graphics were quite nice. Great job.

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:58am

That's a pretty amazing concept and game you have there, wish I'd thought of that. I really like the change in view from game-to-game. Great job man!

drstik says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:59am

Wow! To others playing: make sure you stick with the game until the second level. What a great take on the theme, I loved it!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:30am

Why should I play this when I have so many other otter games?

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:47am

I almost quit too soon thinking this was just a dumb Mario clone. I'm glad I played to the second level. That was a nice surprise. Well done! But the movement wasn't quite as smooth as mario and made getting past the star on the third level too frustrating. So I quit playing. I still really liked it,tho. :)

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:48am

Was about to turn it off. Just an otter Mario clone, then BAM!

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:48am

I almost quit too soon thinking this was just a dumb Mario clone. I'm glad I played to the second level. That was a nice surprise. Well done! But the movement wasn't quite as smooth as mario and made getting past the star on the third level too frustrating. So I quit playing. I still really liked it,tho. :)

okeedokeben says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:49am

I hit a weird bug where I got to the end of the level and hit an enemy off screen, so I didn't know how to get to the next one. Then, I read the comments and tried it again. The connected worlds mechanic is amazing! I would LOVE to see this developed further. So many awesome possibilities. Well done!

KevRevDev says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:57am

Really liked the theme mechanic, it was cool to play around with. Graphics were nice too. But I thought the platforming physics could use some work, it felt pretty loose and difficult for me to control.

jdavidson091 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:05am

THAT JUMP. Loved it, definitely a faithful clone of mario right down to the sound and graphics. Theme wasn't immediately there, but I enjoyed it a lot

Marcellus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:37am

At first I was like.. ok he made a super mario clone, move on. Then I reached the second level and, to be true this is the best theme using game I've played this LD. I tried to do something similar but didn't succeed, your idea is amazing, congratulations.

lekochen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:31am

What a surprise! Clever concept with lots of content. Well done!

TautNerve says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:59am

Great use of the theme!
You should maybe put a hint or something at the start of
the game or at the description so people know that there
is more to it, and won't miss out.
I enjoyed the shifting mechanic but on some occasions it
was unclear where do I need to proceed in order to expand
the newly shifted perspective.
Great concept overall with cool graphics, I really liked
how similar the zelda themed world looked to the original.
Good job

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:53pm

AMAZING use of the theme! A very polished game, as well.

rlangewi says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:59am

Awesome job, my only gripe is that the platforming was a little frustrating with how you slipped off platforms while on the edges, but still probably the best entry I've played so far.

disease says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:33am

Great use of the theme!

Galan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:35am

Gotta say, I love the core game-switching mechanic, very well done. I just wish the game had more of a point, and the different sub-games were better implemented. I'd also suggest having the world switch mechanic appear much earlier. If I hadn't come back and read the comments, I would have missed it completely.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:47am

The second and third level (that's as far as I got) were brilliant. The concept was very clever and surprising. However, the first level was so...mediocre that I almost quit there. It felt like Mario, but without the tight controls and fun gameplay. With no hope in the horizon, I almost closed the game on the spot. Luckily I stuck with it enough to see the premise behind the game come to life. With some improvement, I could see this being a pretty good game, but I'm not sure it would be anywhere near as good without the initial surprise when the mechanic was introduced.

Piscythe says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:16am

I'm impressed you made this in 48 hours! I've seen a full game with a similar interaction between retro worlds, (Mega Mash by Nitrome,) but that game had very distinct borders between worlds. Here, the worlds rip and tear at eachother, creating a very neat effect and causing some tricky and interesting gameplay. Unfortunately, I did encounter a bug here, where I fell from Otter Mario's world into an Otter Zelda lake and got stuck, but most such cases result in player death. However, I had to use the level skip cheat to get past levels 3 through 6. This had nothing to do with Otter Zelda or Otter Space Thing, both of which had fine gameplay and tight controls. The problem was Otter Mario, who controls like an otter coated in lubricant, slipping and sliding around the stage, off platforms, and into instakill pits. This was the character I had to use for star sections, where I'd need to travel a certain distance before the star wore off. The sharply limited time I had for this meant that I had to hurry, and I'd either slip once and thus not have enough time, or slide into a pit and have to start the level over. While at least the game is forgiving enough to give more stars, I still found that the timing requirement was beyond my capabilities. Still, there were plenty of fun little polish elements, such as the coin meter changing form depending on the nature of the game it's in, but it needs some tuning.

KEFIR says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:27pm

It would be great to have something like checkpoints on the level. Is too frustrating to start over after accidental fall in a pit.. This game is pretty hardcore! I couldn't make it to the second level..

ConciseBit says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:16am

O M G ! This is AMAZING!
Innovation 10/10 Theme 10/10!
With that element of surprise and u get over 9k!
3 simple games with 2 types of enemies = BAM!
And you did this in 48 hours? HELLO!?

Anyways I got stucked at level 2 trying so hard to keep spawning the snakes and baiting them to the edge to add more MAGIC SPLASH. Maybe could add simple AI for them to follow you somehow. (Or maybe i just too dumb to find out how to do level 2. I skipped level 2 with cheats)

A good job well done!

ConciseBit says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:22am

@KEFIR: The platformer is pretty easy if you use Run (button C)

btw @OP wanna mention too that looking at the snake dance is super funny too! (snake running up to sky and dropping back to Zelda and up and down and up and down)

SketchyGalore says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:06am

I must admit, I was almost guilty of not sticking with this to the good part! IT seems like you might have shot yourself in the foot a little by not introducing the main mechanic early on, so at a first glance the game doesn't seem as impressive as it is.
Once you dig in, though, it's extremely clever! and the way the worlds cut into one another is by far the best graphical use of the theme I've seen in the competition! I'd love to see this idea expanded into a full game some day!

geekygenius says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:54am

The ending... That's a neat concept for a game...

vividhelix says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:26am

This has to be the most original idea I've seen from all the 200+ games I've rated. Great execution too. As I was playing, I kept thinking about how I would go about implementing something like this...I checked and you don't have a post-mortem for this entry, care to write one? Not sure I can follow this in any way, maybe drop a comment on my entry's page if you do write a post-mortem? Thanks!

Sunflower says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:44am

I nearly quit because of unresponsive controls and constantly falling to pit at level 1. Good thing I read otters' comments and cheat codes, so I could see what is the fuss about, though I still didn't really progress that far; attempts to jump to some otter platform eventually annoyed me too much. >.<

Great idea, but it seems difficulty could use a bit of tweaking. o.o"

Tosic says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:24am

Um.. nice name but it is confusing to me and has lots of bugs...

RongoMurango says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:57am

Really nice idea, the first time the world changed i was really amazed and the change looks very good. This has a lot of potential.
I agree with some others that the first level wasn't so nice - i guess you have to get people hooked very fast. My problem was mostly the "sliding off" you mentioned.

If you want to advance it, this would be my view on the puzzles. It's difficult. On one hand, you can't grasp the whole puzzle yet - for example in Braid, you saw the whole puzzle and had to think about a way to solve it with the given mechanics. What i do here is mostly just aimlessly following "the change", as it is laid out for me. I don't have to think about how i could use this really good mechanix to pass a certain point, i just do it, kind of. Maybe it could help if you could change back and forth between the levels by paying gold coins? I feel like this would open a lot of possibilities, where the player has to think about what to do with the limited resource.

Anyway, it is really a great accomplishment! And i love the sound when you hit the "changer", reminds me of something from "Zelda II: The Adventure of Link" :)

gladers says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:42am

Great connection between worlds and a lot of fun :)

Artamus says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Nice game, congrats!

Ditto says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Okay. Wow, I really want to love this game, but the platforming really makes me want to break something, the weird momentum and stiff jumping, coupled with strange jumpheight really makes me angry.. :( Apart from that though, WOW, holy fuck it looks so cool when you change between gamemodes! I ALMOST beat level 2 (after dying in pits or some stupid shit about 50 times) and the "figure out what to hit to progress" mechanic is sooo damn sweet! If those platforming controls where better this game would win the compo fo' sho'

egos says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:59pm

very nice concept and well polished gongratz

someone says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Awesome concept and very well implemented.
Three games in one is impressive in the amount of time, and they all feel quite polished, and the switching mechanic is excellent.
The platformer however is really annoying, it feels like the blocks keep throwing you off when you try to do precision jumping and it seems weird that you can jump higher when moving left or right. There also needs to be some kind of hint for running as I nearly gave up on the first level. It requires far too many perfect jumps and precise timing for a game where that is not the main focus.
I think you should introduce the world switching in the first level, perhaps just a fracture or two just to hint at things ahead.
I also managed to fall through bottom of the world and not die once. It switched to the zelda game right at the edge.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Really cool concept, with good execution! I did find it pretty difficult, though. Nice work.

jahmaican says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:02am

Man this is clever, really.

Ventura says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:23am

Best and my favourite game in all the ludum dare almost sure :D good job! sell the game so more people can enjoy it! and improve the platform movement is difficult to control. Good job! I love it!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Amazing concept, the whole game was very well tough, the levels are challenging and very fun. Everything feels very solid and complete and the take on the theme is very original. Great job!

Magewalkr says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Well done, really shouldn't rate until you've played the second level, I was kinda lost but it had an interesting feel to it. Great entry :D

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:00pm

This is the most innovative entry I've seen in Ludum Dare 30. I didn't care much about the graphics or sound after seeing the idea. I think even more games could be added. It's awesome.

Ventura says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 7:18pm

I think it deserves better note :)

Ventura says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 7:23pm

contact with me if you need help. I would love to work in this project.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]