Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Asteroids I Call Home

by Elemental Zeal Games Studios - Jam Entry

(Our game can also be played on Itch.io at http://elementalzealgs.itch.io/the-asteroids-i-call-home)

We have completed our 8th Ludum Dare entry, The Asteroids I Call Home.

Using your super powered cat spacesuit, bash through those that threaten your home.

Mining ships have invading your peaceful asteroid sanctuary. Defend your home the only way you know how: violently bashing through spaceships.

Fly at highspeeds with the help of your jet pack and the gravitational pull of nearby asteroids.

Stop the minors by breaking their chains, ships and defense droids.


Controls:

Keyboard
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
WASD/Arrow Keys - Move
Space Bar - Jump
P - Pause
M - Mute
ESC - Quit Game/Return to previous menu
R - Quick restart from gameover/highscore page
Scroll wheel - Zooming in and out during gameplay

XBOX 360 Controller (Windows)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Left Analog Stick - Move
A - Jump
Start - Pause
Mute - Y
Back - Quit/Return to previous menu
X - Quick restart from gameover/highscore page

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#129Fun(Jam)3.53
#160Innovation(Jam)3.47
#171Humor(Jam)3.00
#235Overall(Jam)3.42
#248Mood(Jam)3.33
#254Theme(Jam)3.44
#378Graphics(Jam)3.40
#426Audio(Jam)2.95

Comments

Chris_E says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:18am

Fun game. I was pretty quickly able to get the top time-trial score. It's a little hard to tell if you're going fast enough to destroy things.

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Very fun game. Love the graphics. Going to be playing this one again :)

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Movement is very fun, but escaping enemy fire is pretty much impossible because of how fast you move. Overall pretty frantic and fun game. I especially like the main menu.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Fun game! It would be cool if there were a sound or distinct graphical change to show a top "chain-breaking" speed. I liked it a lot!

stasss says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Interesting idea, but difficult to understand what to do at the beggining)Nice work!

Reyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Yeah I agree with Chris about the fast enough comment. Maybe have the camera further away. Rope physics ... cats ... space ... weird :)

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Love the concept! Great music and nice graphics. :)

darkshadow says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:07pm

A really enjoyable game! Although being able to take at least a couple of hits before dying would have been appreciated :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:18pm

The multiple options to play the game are nice.

Artamus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Nice game, congrats!

torcado194 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:09am

this was actually a lot of fun! i love how you incorporated the selection screen with the actual game. nice job!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:40am

Cool! I ended up staring at the minimap the entire time, so I could see far enough to head-butt the ships.

samooJAM says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:40am

Played with a xbox controller and I was pleased with the controls. Well used the theme also. However, the one hit kills were too much because I could die from a random laser while flying fast.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Innovative and super fun mechanics. This is a game I want to spend some extra time playing. Great Job.

Shivur says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:56am

Nice idea!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:57am

Fun to control the little space dude. Main menu is interesting but gets a bit old when trying to play again...

Good job!

Crefossus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:04am

I would have liked an ability with a cooldown to boost my velocity high enough to destroy a ship. It would give you something to manage besides your direction and provide a good way to get going again if you get stopped. (Could use space?)

Beautiful particle effect work and character. Maybe use smoothing groups on the planets? That stood out to me.

Good sound work.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Hi there. Fun jetpac. Like the sounds and the music. Opened some alien/robot crates and got zapped. Feels like a physics toy so far, rather than a game. Good job!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:44pm

It's a fun game! It'd be great if it was a wrap around universe.

spotco says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Really impressive graphics, and flying around on the jetpack "felt" nice!

Controls were definitely frustrating, especially needing to hit an arbitrary speed in order to break stuff. Lasers seemed pretty arbitrary insta-death too.

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Solid implementation. Funny idea. The sound is cool, but the music a bit boring. It is pretty random if you are hit by the enemy since it is nearly impossible to dodge the fast shoots with the slow control.
Well done. I enjoyed it.

AlbertoSM says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Nice concept, yet confusing! By constantly switching my focus between the mini map and the main screen, I usually get lost...

liquidminduk says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:16pm

insta death is a little harsh, but great game overall

01101101 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Nice to play. Good job! We were talking about this kind of stuff too, but we changed at last because we thought it was too difficult... Glad to see someone did it!

HeyChinaski says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:11pm

A lot of fun! Great job.

MerlijnVH says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Nice entry, loved the concept!

davisan says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Nice action game. Very fun! More hit points/life would be great!

mcapraro says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:19am

neat concept

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]