Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Trade Empire

by BenW - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Click on planets to see what goods they have.
Click on the red ship to select it.
With the red ship selected click on a planet to travel to it.
When you arrive at the planet there should be buy and sell options on the right.
Click in empty space to close the side panel.

Known issues:
Planet info screen does not auto refresh.
When selecting your ship while it is already orbiting a planet the buy menu doesn't show. Just travel back to the planet to get around this.

Have fun trading, and no you can't win.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2202Coolness0%

Comments

LesInk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:36am

Man, I really like the concept of this game -- fast trading game.

Denisre3 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:11am

This game is really fun.

gregkleindev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:13am

Fun game. I noticed a small bug with the capacity display when I sold a lot of decombobulators.

http://i.imgur.com/GsOWGx9.png

tigerbyte says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:42am

I liked the concept. I couldn't find an objective or anything there. Was there a win/lose condition?

Minor gripe - number formatting in the UI. Restrict to 2 decimal places. Ideally whole dollars make more sense.

burgerdare says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:47am

If I may make a recommendation, it might be a good idea to round off the prices of each commodity. It's a bit of an eyesore to see so many places after each decimal point, especially in a game as visually clean as this one.
The mechanics aren't my personal cup of tea, but they seem competent enough to please somebody who enjoys trading games.

plash says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:12am

The only real way to fly: 100/100 space kittens in the cargo hold.

This could be a thing. Less obscenely long floating-point values and music that isn't so repetitive. And ship upgrades.

Nitpicks:

- The reticle isn't centered on the player ship.
- This music is really annoying!
- I can't have all the space kittens.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07am

nice flocking behaviour on the ships, and I liked the trade feeling; seeing what costs the least at which planet, buying it, travelling to the planet where it costs the most and then selling. This could turn into something cool; add in some missions and dialogue, could have a real cool space merchant game.
Also, the music was not bad ;)

tanjent says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:48am

Good start. A visual indicator of a loss/win on a trade by the sell button would be very cool. Also I think a scrolling news feed alerting about 'deals' on certain locations would be a nice addition :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Hi. Fun concept. I like the constantly trading other ships. Interesting variant of Elite, knowing all the prices before incurring cost of travel is huge advantage. Some sort of way to buy/sell quantities larger than 1 unit at a time would be great. I made loads trading toilet paper but all that clicking was slightly frustrating.

holgk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Nice game. I made a trade game, too. I used unity so graphic is a little bit more shiny. Suggestion: I would round price to 2 digit. Those long nummers were a little bit confusing.

joonamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Who wouldn't want to be a space kitten trader?!

pjimmy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:31am

nice, simple yet engaging

LesInk says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Man, I really like the concept of this game -- fast trading game.

WetDesertRock says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:25pm

This game was kinda lacking. First thing I did was find two world with a great trade route and got tons of money. Didn't know where to go from there. I o like it though, just needed a goal.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]