Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Upside Down

by kewry - Jam Entry

Game idea: Two worlds pretty close to each other enter war. Protect your world buildings from the otherworldly beings as you avoid them!

Controls:
Movement: A / D
Fire: Left Click / space

Update: Changed the game within the jam time limit to be more finished

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#443Audio(Jam)2.89
#566Humor(Jam)1.81
#587Fun(Jam)2.66
#682Mood(Jam)2.27
#682Overall(Jam)2.72
#701Theme(Jam)2.13
#736Innovation(Jam)2.02
#736Graphics(Jam)2.17

Comments

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:51am

Can clearly see what you were going for, shame you didn't finish it!

Piscythe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:52am

Suicided into a wall around 150 kills. Never saw anything as a threat. Liked the weapon setup.

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:48am

I thought I was indestructible until I realized my death count was rising. I killed a lot of bogeys though, a whole lot of them!

Aaants says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:49am

Whoop whoop!

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Looked really promising. Too ad you didn't finish.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:15am

Interesting concept, but it seemed like there were so many enemies that the only way to succeed was to hold the shoot key and hope you didn't get hit. Good job though!

Stepwise says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:15am

Fun game. Was a little hard to read at first due to colors, but got into it pretty quickly.

maxking1234 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:32am

Fun game, well done!

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:57am

Simply fun and challenging :)

n42k says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:05am

Very cool. Amazing soundtrack. Maybe a little too many enemies but still a good job. Congratulations!

kewry says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:50am

Thank you for all the comments! I was aiming for a bullet hell style with lots of dodging, unfortunately that removed all of of the player skill from the equation >.<

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Pretty fun, the music was nice as well, good job! :)

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:37pm

A simple fast paced game. I like the combination of killing stuff while avoiding obstacles- I wasn't really good at it though, but I had fun trying a few times.

DDFranky says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:55pm

nice concept and wonderful soundtrack! Too bad you didn't finish it. I have a question: when you die how can I start all over again? I need to refresh the page or there is something that I'm missing?

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:53pm

the gameplay is cool, my max score was 113 kills and travelled 137.555 m

kewry says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:39am

@DDFranky: there should be a Restart button on the right side of the screen http://i.gyazo.com/5667ddafee40a05515c5c506ca8f98d3.png

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:58am

I like where this going! Movement felt smooth and made it possible for some very close calls. Felt a little helpless without health pickups or shields, but managed to score 124 (after quite a few tries, mind you ;)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:12am

At first it seems to be really fun, but then I'm constantly dying (the bullets can change directions!) and it feels a little bit glichy.

H1S2 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Nice little game, enjoyed playing it. It is hard to know which obstacles are above you (and you can dive through) and which are on your level though

DDFranky says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:34pm

@kewry sorry my bad! XD

fil00dl says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:33pm

152 enemies destroyed. nice music!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Hi there. You got the essentials working. Found it impossible once the maze/wall parts started to get in the way. Needs some playtesting and then to ramp up the difficulty gradually. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]