Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Courier

by rhaasken - Jam Entry

This is a game where you drive around in a car and deliver packages, "connecting worlds" by delivering messages/packages between locations.

The goal is to pick up packages from the green locations and bring them to the blue locations.

Note that you can't turn if you're going too fast, so let up on the gas shortly before you want to turn.

Post your high score in a comment if you are proud of it. Mine's around 16,000.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#318Fun(Jam)3.14
#562Innovation(Jam)2.72
#598Audio(Jam)2.14
#622Overall(Jam)2.83
#651Mood(Jam)2.46
#708Graphics(Jam)2.34
#708Theme(Jam)2.07
#1523Coolness42%

Comments

Artamus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Nice game, congrats!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Hi there. Shades of Runescape Agility training... Good job!

Kortuga says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Gameplay's fun, you weren't lying about having to slow down on those turns.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:17am

Quite fun, I crashed a couple of times due to being a bit careless :) I would say that having to slow down or turn in advance is a unique game feature that makes it a bit more attractive. Would be great to see more cars as you complete deliveries or other worlds in where to work. Great job!

rhaasken says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:26am

Thanks for playing, folks!

jukimv1986, more cars do spawn every 8 successful deliveries, so I guess you'll just have to play longer ;)

tchem says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:27am

Interesting proposes,,, great!!!

Kate Kligman says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:54am

Engaging and fun. Kept trying to backup, even though I knew I couldn't. :-)

Dans17 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:13am

A very simple game, but surprisingly fun!

Xanjos says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Simple but really fun to play. I actually like how you have to literally stop before you turn especially when there are more blue cars coming as one wrong turn could cost you a multiplier or worse, the game. I do think that there should be more blue cars at the start though.

Also I played this on Firefox and it seems to work pretty fine on there as well.

geekygenius says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:45pm

IT would be cool if there were multiple packages at once, and if they had different values, so you would have to prioritize to be the most effective.

01101101 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Simple, but fun. Good job!

dokidoki says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:34am

A car started right in front of me once when a game started, so you might want to check for that, but that's not a huge problem. Good job.

Razoric says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Surprisingly addictive. I played through this one a few times.

bluesky says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:18pm

good job!

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Simple but addictive. Maybe a bit too simple. More mechanics would have been great.

LuisDC says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:31am

Pretty funny game. My best score is about 4000. I was going full speed when a blue car crashed with me (or me with him) :(

PixelFeet says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:44am

Its like Pac Man, with cars.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]