Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

1548 La Rue

by cacciatc - Jam Entry

Tim & Patrick decided to explore the abandoned house down the street. Per usual Tim is making things difficult.

Sorry only a windows build.

Note:

* When downloading with Chrome, Chrome may get angry and claim the zip is a virus. Unless Adventure Game Studio is hiding something from me, to the best of my knowledge I haven't spent the past 2 days creating a virus. So try Firefox if you have problems.

* After you click the "Inspect" button the next mouse click will perform an inspection of your target. After that it goes back to moving you around. I know, I know, sometimes it is annoying.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#72Humor(Jam)3.52
#144Mood(Jam)3.59
#146Graphics(Jam)4.00
#235Overall(Jam)3.42
#358Theme(Jam)3.21
#432Audio(Jam)2.93
#445Fun(Jam)2.93
#618Innovation(Jam)2.57

Comments

wolfmother says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Very nice! Impressive that you managed to pull this off in 48 hours.
Not sure about what the difference between "interacting" and "using" is though.

feather240 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Tim is the worst friend ever. He can't even juggle.

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:06am

I'm getting a malicious file warning from chrome :S

feather240 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03am

The gameplay was easy, and the difference between 'interact' and 'use' wasn't clear, but the story and humor more than made up for that. The graphics and music weren't bad either.

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:55am

Great presentation! Also Tim is a very silly man.

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:56am

Amazing art and music!

kblaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:59am

Cool an AGS game. Short but fairly humorous. Incidentally, this game would be perfect for the common "two button interface" used in the Blackwell series (among others). With left click being "use" and right click being "inspect".

FerrenReve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Tim is a silly billy. Cool graphics.

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:40pm

This worked on so many levels for me. Everything seemed to fit together nicely, the sound, the pixel art, the color palette and the dialogue. A+

tchem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Great graphics and atmosphere,,, i liked it. The theme aspect to is interesting,,,, nice!!!!!!

dunin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:48pm

cool graphics but little static animations...
not really difficult but pleasant...
Nice credits and the end remind me the very end of Monkey Island 2...

LostTrainDude says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Being pretty familiar with AGS (and being an adventure games aficionado) I enjoyed the experience but I think that some sort of visual feedback for the hotspot would be extremely useful to players among with a different choice of words for Interact and Use.

It's really well done and interesting, anyway and I love the use you made of sound and music (what software did you use?)

Great to see an AGS game here, anyway!

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:02am

Really nice, I like the style of old point and click adventure games. Good job on this!

Mali says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:02am

Theres only two buttons in my version, not sure if thats intentional. Would have liked moving to have been WASD based, but the game is really impressive considering the time it took to make. I got stuck pretty early on, I'm sure it extends further and I might give it another crack when I'm more awake. Love the art, music is pretty good too.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:03am

I loved it! The puzzles weren't frustrating or tedious. The aesthetic was great. That was a very clever way to do the credits at the end. And I love the 4th wall breaking conversation that you leave it with. This is one of my favorites :D

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:49pm

The graphics are super nice, cool entry.

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Short, but sweet. I like the art, although the animations were very stiff. Great to see some functional point and click games on here. Great work with everything, man. Oh, and the ending made me smile. Thanks for sharing your work ;)

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:18pm

pretty cool! love the artstyle!

cacciatc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:37pm

@LostTrainDude - I used abundant music.

jahmaican says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:50pm

That's the most stylish entry I played so far. Well, animations are... um, they are animations and that's the only good thing I could say. But other than that graphics are sweet, music is nice and it was pretty amusing to play.

Oh, and really, what's the difference between "use" and "interact"?

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:25am

I got so many good Maniac Mansion memories playing this. Awesome job!

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:12am

Great, I have a strange craving for ham now...

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Short but really charming entry. Cool game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]