Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Unfortunate Potato

by Longarmx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are an unfortunate potato that got sucked into a black hole. As a result, your "spudline" got split into 2, leaving you with a perfect clone in a connected world, that follows your every move...

Controls:
WASD or Arrows Keys - Move
R - Reset level
ESC - Return to Main menu

Techs used: Java with LibGdx; Paint.NET; Bfxr;

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#138Humor3.23
#279Theme3.63
#289Fun3.38
#428Innovation3.32
#471Overall3.29
#582Mood2.96
#825Audio2.17
#850Graphics2.63

Comments

Boodog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:00am

Awesome job! Love the puzzles in it, they got me thinking!

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:01am

Absolutely excellent game. Made it to the end and the puzzles were just right :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:01am

I like the idea, but this game is really hard. :P Maybe it's just because I'm way too tired, but I couldn't pass the third level. Nice work, though. I like the tiny bit of humor in the beginning. :P

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:02am

"In the end, Potato came to a realization..."
Good puzzle, good mood, well made :D

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:07am

Good job :D. I had a lot off fun and I laughed at the end. The puzzles were challenging, but they weren't too hard.

Longarmx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:09am

Wow! Thanks everyone for the nice comments!

@PeculiarCarrot: I am going to make a post-ld version with better progression of levels. Hopefully that will help. Also, make sure to get a good night's sleep tonight :D

CryoGenesis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:52am

Smart game, reminds me of Portal Co-op. Good job!

Snuux says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:50am

"You are an unfortunate potato" - haha!
Love libgdx. And game is very nice! Thanks!

IcyLava says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Haha, nice story. I liked the game too :)

uprightpath says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Got to the third level as well before I crashed and couldn't figure it out!

Sunflower says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Rather nice entry, these puzzles got me thinking a bit. Short, but still pretty cool. ^^"

thedashdude says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Closes when I hit play.

Longarmx says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:19pm

@thedashdude Did you move or delete any of the game files? It's probably not able to find the first level.

whilefun says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Good to see Potato making an appearance. The puzzles were well crafted and very challenging. Nice work :)

slowfrog says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:30pm

I guess you voted for the "Potato Salad" theme :)
Very good puzzle mechanics that fit the actual "connected" theme.
Simple but cute graphics. A bit short, but acceptable for the compo. You could produce many more levels later.
I love it.

Zathnic says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Yep, puzzle mechanics like this are always nice! The level design in this was quite well done, and the game feels relaxing with no music in the background. No real complaints, just a nice short little entry.

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Cool Idea.

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Good job!

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Loved the name and theme of your game really nice. I like harder games too nice work dont change anything games are suppossed to be hard that way you wanna keep playing them. heres a really hard game i made: Holiday nightmare

geekygenius says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:27pm

This is a very interesting idea for a puzzle game. Good job!

Lord bobyness says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:31pm

I like the take on the theme. The puzzles got real hard real fast(that's a plus for me BTW). Overall it was pretty great.

H1S2 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Very funny game with an hilarious ending ;) also a very good level design.

Longarmx says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:30am

Thanks for the nice replies everyone!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]