Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Druidly Heroic Quantum Player Who Fails To Save The Day Yet Aagain!1

by john_conder9 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

HOW TO PLAY:

Click on zombies to kill them. You need 5,000 kills to win (the game ramps up as you play.)

Click on books to collect money, you collect a tiny bit of cash for killing zombies.

Research upgrades to increase cash flow.

Druids will wander around and collect books, you receive bonus cash if the druid collects the book instead of you clicking on it. (You get 2x books worth for each druid collection)

Fighters will wander around and try to kill zombies (they fight back.) You receive bonus cash if fighters kill zombies, instead of you clicking on it. (You get 1x books worth for each fighter zombie kill)

Events will happen sporadically throughout the game to spice it up a bit.

Kills can be tracked in both the stats window and how close you are to 5000 kills is tracked by the slider in the lower right.

Good luck, have fun, thanks for playing!


REGARDING THE THEME:

Okay, so, I planned out a cool game where you were vs a computer player vying for resources in this ethereal place where the undead realm and the living realms were merged, and the goal was to repair the "rift" and win. ... Long story short: I started programming and made this instead. I DON'T KNOW HOW ELSE TO JUSTIFY IT. :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1015Fun2.47
#1044Graphics2.28
#1044Mood2.24
#1119Innovation2.18
#1133Overall2.44
#1187Theme1.63
#1872Coolness26%

Comments

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:51pm

very addictive gameplay, i like this kind of games, but visuals are bad, sorry.

SnoutUp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Could be a pretty fun time waster after adding some effects on zombie kills (and increasing hitbox a bit) and balancing it out. The speed upgrades are crazy expensive and, without them, druids & fighters are practically useless. Overall, I had a bit fun :)

aeveis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:58am

clicking was fun, I think if fighters or druids walked faster in the beginning it'll be more interesting to watch and click.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:59am

Good effort, I like the upgrades.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:00am

Unique idea, but I was never really sure if I was doing well or not. Didn't seem like there was any way to lose, so I just kind of lost interest after a while. I like the Player vs. AI resource management concept -- I hope you get a chance to build it sometime :)

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:03am

Whew! I got to 1,000 but that's too much clicking, and all the druids, fighters, and books are immediately killed by zombies. I think a lot could be gained just by tweaking things: make the druids move a lot faster, for example. And maybe if you could pay for druids and fighters instead of paying for spawn rate. Those kind of tweaks.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:13am

DUDE OMG you fucking said 5000 to win. I stopped a little at 4999, smiled, chose a zombie, AND I KILLD THE FUCKER! Nothing happened. Then i killed 300 more, nothing. Where is my reward, i just wanted a nice ending screen OMG. My finger hurt, the fighters were depoping like crazy. Your graphics were great.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:07pm

This takes too long.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Hi there. Shame touch not support. Mouse finger worn out... Would be a bit of an epic time commitment to get to 5000ZK. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]