Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Five Floors, Two Worlds

by Ryusui - Jam Entry

Elite Agents B and C are no strangers to the unusual, the uncanny, and the not-of-this-world, but when they're captured by the rogue Agent FF and trapped within a research lab gone haywire, even these two might be in over their heads!

The lab was working on harvesting power from dimensional rifts, but something's gone wrong - it's been split up between two parallel dimensions, and Agents B and C along with it. The good news is that the various devices and security mechanisms still active can only exist in one world or the other: through careful use of the dimensional switches, which are immune to their own effects, you might be able to lead the Agents through the lab and out the exit portals back into reality...or to their swift and sudden doom.

Five floors. Two worlds. Can you escape?

Supports keyboard and gamepad controls. Arrow keys/D-Pad to move, Space/A button to switch worlds.

Created in Love2D (love2d.org) with copious assistance from the hump library (vrld.github.io/hump). Graphics created in ASEPRITE v0.9.5 (www.aseprite.org) Sound effects created with Bfxr (www.bfxr.net).

Character designs inspired by this piece of fanart: naoren.tumblr.com/post/95350256230/waitress-bodyguard-and-informant

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#66Theme(Jam)3.85
#95Overall(Jam)3.72
#135Fun(Jam)3.52
#236Graphics(Jam)3.74
#266Humor(Jam)2.69
#274Mood(Jam)3.30
#427Innovation(Jam)2.96
#449Audio(Jam)2.88

Comments

firstbass says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:38am

I love it, but man that last level is absolutely brutal compared to the previous ones. Great thininking on your part.

oakus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:59am

Awesome game. Pretty tought but fair.

Oana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:27am

I love the idea, and I can see this turning into a pretty nice commercial game in the future. I'm not sure I like the level design though. I finished level 2 mostly by guesswork rather than fully understanding what each button did, and level 3 didn't even give me a chance to think about things. Also, being able to hold to move in a direction would be lovely.

Rothens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:43am

The last level was pretty hard, but I loved the game. It's very addictive ^^ Will you make more levels? :)

burgerdare says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:57pm

not bad, but also not terribly creative. I do like, however, that the finishing point is always the same tile in both worlds. It lends a sense of continuity to the whole thing.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:20am

The last level was my favorite level by far, because it was the most challenging :D

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:32am

Feels polished and solid. The graphics are simple but fit together nicely. The idea is not super original, but it is executed well. I am not very good at puzzle games so I started having issues on level 2 already, but overall a good entry!

Nananas says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Sweet puzzle game.
(The colors hurt my eyes though :p)

Ryusui says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Thanks for the feedback, all. I've got a 1.1 build in the works which addresses some issues: you can now hold a direction to move, and analog stick support is now implemented. (Also one embarrassing glitch has been fixed: the game didn't reset properly after it returned to the title screen, so hitting "start" after a clear would put you back on the ending screen.)

Thanks to love-android-sdl2 (with a fix from the latest nightly Love2D code hacked in), 1.1 will also be available on Android/Ouya. I just need to hammer out some final polish for Ouya support; right now only the Moga Pro controller works 100% on Android (analog stick works on Ouya, but not the D-Pad).

rojo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:53am

I thought the mechanic was great! Some music would have added a lot.

sorle says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:22am

well done game. not very original but it's fun to play and that what games are for, right?

Shivur says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:30am

Good puzzles!

jprogman says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:38am

There's a little learning curve for how the switches work: bed locks in or out, green can only hold when you're on it.
Otherwise, very nice puzzler!

Katamori says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Another solid and great LÖVE game! Little bit ahrd for me though, but hey, that's just me.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]