Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Systeme

by Terrabyte - Jam Entry

A small game about making a musical planet and then exploring other planets. All the planets are stored on a online database (thanks Michcioperz!) which allows you to explore every planet that has ever been created. You can also create your own planet by arranging items from your small inventory on your planet! Each item also has a sound, so you can construct your soundtrack as you go! Enjoy! :D

Credits:
> Finnbar Keating: Code, music, tree art.
> Kenney & Jimp: Other art assets.
> Michal Sidor: Online code.
> Tim Bumpus: The original idea, base code.

EDIT (25/8/2014, 8:15pm GMT+1(BST)) The bug is fixed - please redownload the non-StackMachine version above. Sorry that there is no Mac build - for some reason the one we created was not launching so we left it out for now. Please download the .love file instead!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2027Coolness17%

Comments

psydack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:39pm

can not run on Mac Os. =/
networking.lua1: module 'moon' not found. no file 'moon.lua' in LOVE game dir.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Sorry mate cannot run it. networking.lua:1:module 'moon' not found as psydack said. Looks like it's looking for and missing a lot of files in the lua\ and \moon folders as well. Packaging problem?

uprightpath says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Couldn't execute on Win8, engine's crashing.

Terrabyte says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Sorry everyone for the bug! I'm currently uploading a fix, hopefully it'll be up soon!

Tim Bumpus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:38pm

DEAR EVERYONE ATTEMPTING TO PLAY THIS GAME:
Check back later. We know it's broken.

Terrabyte says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:20pm

To completely contradict the above comment, it is now fixed and should work! Sorry for the inconvenience.

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:07pm

wow, cool idea and nice using of theme.

invader says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Nice game - really sets up the explorational mood :)

BTW, worked perfectly on MacOS X, despite the fact, that I have previous version of LOVE (0.9)

Kojan says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:51am

Interesting game, really liked the music and the concept.

AtkinsSJ says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:54am

Cool idea! I'm not that sure which thing makes which sound, but it was cool exploring the other worlds, and they did all sound different. One suggestion I'd make is to make the random-planet-choosing pay attention to the worlds you've already visited and make them less likely - I visited the planet Banana 3 times in a row!

Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Nice entry! I liked the exploration of the theme, very well done.I liked the sounds too! (although some are very creepy O-O)

frogcheese says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Helmet firmly clasped on, I set out from the glorious world of Waffletron to explore the wondrous universe around me. Trusting my ship to take me wherever its navigation systems decided, I visited many places; peculiar planets like "place" and "potato"; astounding areas such as "apple", "a" and "AdequateIV"; and as my travels took me further and further out into our grandiose solar system, I finally came to a conclusion.

Yes, I'd probably give this entry 5 stars for Theme. (here you go)

StMatn says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Very interesting concept!
For some reason I couldn't ust the ship sometimes and hab to restart.
Maybe some explanation on planetcreation would have helped. The selection of items also hindered personalization. I think it would be nice, if you could somewhat "identify" with your own planet.
Besides that, the exploration aspect was great.
Nice work!

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 4:10am

Would've been cool to be able to do...something other than just show up on random other planets, but otherwise it was interesting.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]