Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Elemental

by jerombd - Jam Entry

Basic platformer.

Not really inspired by the theme :/
And at the end, I had more fun messing with Construct2 features I didn't knew, than level-design a proper level with more elaborate elements... (so, yeah, you should spend only 1-2 minutes to finish this game^^).
I wanted to switch more often between the 4 guys, but well... maybe I'll submit a post-gamejam version, I'll see.

[Arrows] move

Made with Photoshop + Construct 2 + Beepola.

EDIT: the v2 fixed some problems (easier respawn, etc.).
Consider this WIP version if you want to play to a better game^^
EDIT 2: video of the gameplay (5mn34) http://youtu.be/8fJJjCMZkts

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#183Graphics(Jam)3.88
#195Humor(Jam)2.94
#248Mood(Jam)3.33
#391Fun(Jam)3.00
#437Audio(Jam)2.91
#441Theme(Jam)3.04
#453Overall(Jam)3.12
#638Innovation(Jam)2.50
#1523Coolness42%

Comments

juakob says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:09am

I really enjoy the part that I could play, for some reason after a reach the blue guy to the destination, it goes back to green. Nice graphics. Congratulation!

jerombd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:06am

Thanks ,juakob! You should had played at my game before I really "finished" the level-design. Now, it has a real ending.

Mase says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:17am

It's too hard for me... I was not raised on the difficult Spectrum games. Starting over at the beginning each time I die is too hardcore.

Bullets from the cyan elemental's level can kill the green elemental just as it's stage begins; i.e, the bullets appear to continue their path after a stage transition.

Your art is appealing as usual. I love the big portraits this time, though I think the stages themselves could use more embellishment.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:55am

Tough as nails, but very well done! An "easy" mode where you start from the beginning of a section instead of the start would be cool. Love the art - those portraits are awesome!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Hi there. Good to see Construct2 again! Like the design. Unfortunately I have really bad reactions, but looks great!

Eniimal says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:27pm

A very cool and hard platformer.
Nice Graphics as always. The Game was very hard, but very addictive to, So i made it to the end !
Congratulation !

zillix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:41am

very cool sound and art style! pretty brutally difficult :)

yodamaster says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:09am

I love the speccy-style graphics!

GFM says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:17am

As soon as I saw the image I remembered "Charon", from LD#28. :)

Nice graphics.
The idea is kinda nice (and loosely based on the theme), but I found the game to be too unfair, instead of being hard. Seems like you've played too much of your own game and wasn't able to tune its difficulty for other people.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:00am

The graphics are amazing, but this game is way too hard, in a bad way : I coulnd't get past the first yellow block in the green area. I couldn't figure anyway to pass this.
Also, bullets from the blue level often continue in the green level...which makes the green guy die instantanely. It could be your interpretation of connected worlds ^^ but it feels really unfair.

jerombd says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:10am

@GFM & Pierrec: yeah the LD is way too hard :/ The post-LD version which is easier.

Mase says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:50pm

In the post-LD version I couldn't jump over the second cannon in the ice level.

jerombd says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:10pm

It was possible but I increased the jump height of the player (and added a second level): it should be (a bit) easier now.
Thank you for the feedback.

metalchouchen says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Nice graphics really. I'm not skilled enough to finish the green level but It's a good "NES" like game !

jomomomo says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Nice, but wish I restarted at the last color I got to rather than all the way over...

klianc09 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:53pm

This game is simply unfair, I wish I had a larger viewport to actually see what is ahead of me, instead of guessing and dying again, and having to try everything again just to get 20 pixels further...
And version 2 has one point in the green level where you will always die from jumping into the spikes on the ceiling, because you can't control your jump height.
But I liked the pixelart and the sound effects fit the art, but the music at the beginning is just not good for my ears.

jerombd says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:27pm

"And version 2 has one point in the green level where you will always die from jumping into the spikes on the ceiling..." It's fixed now!

Jedi says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:45am

Those elementals have some serious attitude! Love these graphics! :D

I got a lot of fun out of this one, but it's too hard! Even the post-compo, which I beat, is way too hard still! The compo relies on some of the worst parts of NES games: One-hit deaths and going back to the beginning. One thing I liked was that in the first two levels, you could find shortcuts to do them quickly. Making the player have to press z in the post-compo seemed like a step in the wrong direction but that's just my opinion. The sounds were very harsh and I'm not sure they weren't worse in the post-compo; I know that I didn't like the walking sound.

I'm giving your game a lot of criticism but I actually enjoyed it for 3 hours or more. Good job!

jerombd says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:24am

Thanks Jedi: harsh review, but I appreciate that you describe all the flaws of my game.
For the next time, I really have to beta-test my submission XD
About the sound: yeah, you're right, I should have used a better Beeper engine from Beepola (it emulates the sound of the ZX Spectrum), one with a smoother sound.

hoyt hoy says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Really good!!!
I discover to easy way to pass the 2 first stages... but de 3 stage is to difficult!!! I died every time :/
BUT GREAT GAME!!! Contratz!
GG

Tosic says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Not bad at all, it is not easy and I like the retro graphics, good job!

Tommislav says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 10:46am

That's some awesome looking retro graphics =D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]