Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Intergalacticnet

by divillysausages - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're the latest chump hired to fly through the galaxy connecting up the very first inter-galactic internet! Soon every planet will be connected in glorious 56kbps.

Use the mouse to control your ship and SPACE when requested.

Each planet you pass has a connecting ring, designed to hold the (invisible) cable you're towing. Like a bleeding fast, space travelling needle, thread your cable through the connecting ring to make the connection.

Don't miss too many though, and your robot overloads tend to frown upon that. They're so smart that they can frown upon each one of your atoms and they rapidly separate from your body in a distressingly short period of time.

Obviously don't crash into the planets either; you're here to connect them to the internet, not kill billions in an extinction-level crash. Your company doesn't have insurance for that.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#12Humor4.15
#33Fun3.94
#73Overall3.83
#86Theme3.94
#118Mood3.62
#133Graphics3.91
#195Audio3.37
#274Innovation3.53
#1542Coolness41%

Comments

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:50pm

This was a pretty nice work. Original gameplay too and also nice-looking graphics and controls.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:15am

Ha! This is great, I had a blast. The art style fits perfectly and the dialogue made me lol

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Really like it! Graphics are cool and the 3d effect very nice. Congrats!

polyboxgames says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:16pm

This game is hilarious! I started purposely missing the targets just so I could hear the robot's sarcastic dialogue. Graphics and audio really add to it, too.

FurtherForm says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Great music, quite funny, graphics work, occasionally frustrating but solid as whole.

Gaeel says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:40pm

I've never wanted to smack a robot so hard...

Good fun, interesting choice of colour, and I love the idea of massive hoops being built on planets, to then fly a spaceship at near lightspeed through them while threading an ethernet cable...

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Haha, glad to see someone else took the theme down this road. I was pretty terrible at this game, but I still enjoyed playing it. It would've been nice if there was some way to control my speed a little better.

elemel says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Cool. I liked it. Funny background story. Frantic gameplay. The cable should have been visible, though.

miwuc says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Simple fun gameplay, great graphics, fitting music and hilarious dialogue. Overall very solid entry, great job! But god I'm terrible at this game :]

ponk says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:42pm

That's a lovely game!
Nice speed effect.
Great work!

dook says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:01pm

This is really good! Impressive little game. The minimalistic graphics look awesome, lots of neat little details like the rotating planets and the vhs effect on the robot screen in the corner.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:18am

Haha, this rules.

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Good entry, stylish and funny!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Hi there. Nice flight control, really funny comments from Robot Overlords. Very enjoyable. Particularly liked the balancing of the approach-the-hoop physics, well done on that! Good job!

Agecaf says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Although a bit hard at first, the controls feel very nice, especially when you manage to combo a couple of planets! Also, this is great visually, and very funny in the dialogues.

glbs says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:50pm

That is an pretty interesting way of navigating space, I'm so used to top down flat space control that I was quite surprised to crash on the first planet!

The difficulty of control offers challenge, but the experience is a bit repetitive though. (different planets, or patterns in their appearance would make it more captivating!)

Nice atmosphere (graphs, dialogues etc..), well done

BinaryPie says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Nice game. Gets a bit repetitive, but the music was cool and the robot's dialog was funny.

panurge says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:51am

Great dialogue and mood. The music choice was spot on too. I was terrible at the actual gameplay but I thoroughly enjoyed it nonetheless. A very funny, entertaining entry!

lotusgame says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Really nice game ! I liked the mood, the story and this funny robot :)

WetDesertRock says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 1:46am

Really enjoyed this game. Looked forward to the new comments from the robot.

Good job :)

MerlijnVH says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Quite liked the mechanic and "3D effect" of planets coming up and flying through the rings, didn't expect that. Nice work!

mcapraro says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:41pm

nice to see another flash game. simple but challenging!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]