Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dreamshift

by AgentParsec - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Dreamshift, you must guide our exhausted hero to the doorway across the level. (Arrow keys to move, Shift to jump, Z to toggle switches or use the exit.) His energy drops quickly and he is unable to jump when his energy is low. His stress also builds, but very slowly.

When his energy runs out, he falls asleep. In the dream world, he can fly and recover his stress and energy. If his energy completely refills, he wakes up again. Taking damage in the dream world, however, wakes him up immediately and causes extra stress.

You can force him to fall asleep (or force him to wake up, if he's near his 'body') by pressing 'x', but it will cause extra stress doing it this way.

The higher your stress gets, the more miasma will appear in the dream world and the more shades they will spawn. If your stress level gets too high, they will manifest in the real world, and are deadly to you!

(There are only two levels in the game currently; I may take the time to make more and add extra elements to the game if the rest of you think it's worth pursuing.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#131Theme3.84
#223Audio3.31
#266Innovation3.54
#286Humor2.82
#292Mood3.31
#536Overall3.23
#623Fun2.97
#676Graphics2.92

Comments

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:42am

Cool concept, however it's 21mB in size D:

lucidsheep says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:46am

Great idea! Just some glitches in the dream world (sometimes you wake up as soon as you fall asleep). I love how the worlds merge when the stress bar fills up!

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:47am

I really liked the interplay between the awake and dream worlds, and the ways each of them affected the sleep and stress meters. The dynamic music was good, too.

Jaloko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:47am

I Like the usage of parallax and great theme incorporation.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49am

As designed, this game involves a lot of waiting. Get to ledge, wait to fall asleep, flip switch, wait, wake up etc etc. Then I died...didn't want to wait again.

Nice music, good production values.

AgentParsec says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:50am

@lucidsheep - It's not a glitch; you wake up as soon as your energy recharges, so if you force yourself to go to sleep while your energy is almost full, it will wake you up immediately. Jump around a bit to burn off some energy first and you'll be fine.

geekygenius says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:51am

Wow, I don't ever want to sleep too stressed out irl now. That shit is creepy.

someone9999 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:57am

Good game! It took me a second to figure out how to get past the second jump and that I needed to use the dream world, but once I got a hang of the mechanics, it was pretty cool.

The audio in the game is awesome. I like how it changes based on stress level and whether or not you are in the dream world.

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:59am

Woo. parallax scrolling :D nice idea of switching between two worlds and solving puzzles.

AgentParsec says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:00am

@nintendoeats - If you press 'x', it makes you fall asleep immediately, at the cost of some additional stress.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:55am

11/10 needs more parallaxes -IGN

tbamberg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:35am

nice background ;)

jprogman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:22am

Lots of ominousness, specially when stressed. Definitely adds points to mood. Although, with the game's slight difficulty, there should be a checkpoint at round 2. I get stressed to restart the entire game again. :(
Also, SHIFT key for jump isn't friendly on a Windows computer due to the "Sticky Key" feature. Just to let you know. Very nice game overall! Now, I must sleep...zzz

Resonious says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:37am

Pretty cool game. The idea definitely has potential.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:31am

A little slow to download for me, but overall nice and clean level design, parallax works well to add depth. Great game overall

Mekuri says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Nice idea- A bit buggy at times, it even crashed once for me- But worked fine after that. I like how the dreamworld and realworld merges when stress is high. I could've been without the yawn animation everytime I switched back and forth, but that is being a bit nit picky :P

samooJAM says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:01pm

The controls felt a bit stiff. Transition between worlds could be faster too. Good points from innovation and theme :)

Tanser says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:32am

Lovely idea, lovely executed! Only flaw was that the character was so slow when in the normal world...
Incredible for a compo, good job!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:20am

The way the dream world "leaks" is amazing, I love it. However, it is very frustrating to fail on level 2 and get booted back to level 1, especially if I just did something stupid like miss the first jump!

Logan says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:22am

It's a pretty neat concept. I got a little freaked out just from reading your gameplay description, heh... I really liked how different the dream world felt once the stress level started rising. You pulled off a very nice transition between a happy, ethereal rest and... something very wrong, and very dire. The music for it was most excellently done.

Unfortunately the platforming itself was a tad buggy. I stopped after missing the same jump a second time because for some reason it didn't register the key press (or something). I really liked what I played of it, though.

Tosic says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Amazing sounds and I like the idea, pursue it, of course, I want to see some more! :D

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:02pm

awww, this looks really cool - but I don't have Unity. I wish you had of exported it to the web player!

AgentParsec says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:00pm

@mrspeaker - Just the source requires Unity, the Windows export doesn't need it to run. Also, I didn't do the web player export because it was buggy.

Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Cool concept! I included it in part 28 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/Hmt93jxkWGQ

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]