Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Oculus Souls

by OrangeeZ - Jam Entry

Paper boy, armed with katana, must slay his enemies, take their sweets and feed them to mysterious wells.

To reveal the ultimate mystery, one must feed 2700 sweets to the Well of VR. But the truth might be too dangerous to be ever discovered...

WASD + Mouse for movement and attack;
Space for dodge move;
E for interaction with wells;

Some of the wells lead to another world, and are crucial to uncovering the secrets of the VR Well.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#125Audio(Jam)3.63
#163Humor(Jam)3.05
#171Graphics(Jam)3.93
#228Mood(Jam)3.37
#248Overall(Jam)3.41
#254Fun(Jam)3.26
#579Innovation(Jam)2.69
#655Theme(Jam)2.31

Comments

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:19am

I'm not sure I really understood the game, but it was still fun to run around and slash things! Nice graphics by the way!

LTPATS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:14am

Fun game, the art style was really cool, reminded me of Tearaway a bit. I didn't really enjoy stopping every time I slashed. The combat in general felt a bit clunky to me. Also I could essentially just walk out to the outskirts of the game world when I was in the portal area. All that aside it was a fun experience! Loved the environment and overall feel of the game. The random facial features was a huge plus for me too! I could see this being a neat action / adventure kind of game if it's just fleshed out a bit more. Great work!

Lyszie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:18pm

The graphics are fantastic and the idea is very fun! Sweets are worth adventuring for lol

anserran says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Nice graphics. The music really helps to keep playing.

jayhof says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Cool art style and cool music. The combat feels a bit static, it's still fun though. Great job!

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Really awesome artstyle, like mentioned earlier, very reminiscent of Tearaway. Controls are a bit chunky, I feel like it's near impossible to kill an enemy without being hit at least once. Sometimes you can sneak up behind them, but it doesn't always work. Oh well. Great work, anyways! :)

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:25pm

The game is basically to kill with swords and fighting with swords are very dull, moreover, has a great design and music is spectacular

tschmitz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Nice hack'n'slash game. Good job on the 3D graphics, and the music and sounds are nice too.

My best guess at the Connected Worlds theme is: the outer "real world" is connected to the inner "virtual world" via the VR goggles.

I can't say I understood what the Well of Light and Well of Greed were for. That being said, I only deposited once.

Combat and moving around was a little clunky, though I did eventually master it. Initially I didn't understand that the red blobs were Sweets; I thought they were just bloody decorations.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:46pm

nice music :D

villhest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Great job! I love the environment, and the random face was a nice touch.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:51pm

I enjoy slashing things to death so I thought this game was great! Cute graphics too btw

psychonull says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:03pm

nice graphics and music. I think it needs a lateral dodge move to avoid being hit or a block or something like that. I felt like I was going to a certain dead if I attack haha. great game!

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:13pm

I'm glad you liked it! We spent a lot of time modeling and animating, so we had only a few hours left to polish the gameplay.
Btw, Well of Light lights lanterns and also increases character's attack, and Well of Greed spawns new "enhanced" packs of enemies with better drop.
And your main goal is to spend 2.7k bloody sweets at the well at the temple and you'll see how it fits to theme. C:

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:15pm

psychonull, try to use space — it sort of dash/dodge.

Polona says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:32pm

It's pretty funny. The scenery is really good and the music is great.
I got stuck in the well of lights a couple times but I had a lot of fun with it. (by Alvar)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Pretty fun! Awesome environment!

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Fun to slash up the enemys and quite challenging to dodge their attacks. The music is great.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Nice customization system, I don't know if it was intention but the weapons had no shader. Also the mood of the game were really nice.

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:45pm

> I don't know if it was intention but the weapons had no shader
Yep, our artist's blender started crashing randomly, so we decided to abandon any hopes to fix it and instead spent more time designing the gameplay. "SO BE IT. Anyways, purple katanas make boxy badasses easier to spot in darker environment."

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Really enjoyed the artstyle... the combat felt underdeveloped though :(

Warboys says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:38am

Love the music and the art. The combat is a little clunky and it's really difficult. I kept dying before I could find out what donating the sweets could do ;(

(PS: My game; Outdoor, is fixed! It shouldn't bug out anymore, if you fancy seeing what can happen at the end)

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:03am

You've just got an achievement
"Welcome to Oculus Souls"

Warboys, thank you so much! I'm uploading it.

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Cool game, the controls are a little awkward and combat feels clunky, but it has a nice art style and the music fits with it. A few bugs here and there but with refinement and extra polishing this could be something worth expanding on.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Great music! I played longer just so I could hear more of it :)

leafarz says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:14pm

woah nice visuals but more awesome music!
pretty neat game you have here. a bit hard on the movement but a great game still!
good job! :D

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Hi there. Good looking game, nice appropriate sound, good combat and death effects. Good job!

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:55am

Thanks a lot, guys!
http://images.sodahead.com/polls/003833241/269401665_Yay_answer_1_xlarge.jpeg

Tanser says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:41am

The art is incredible!

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:29am

Ohh damn this looks good.
And 3d.
Good mix..

tbam says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Solid entry. Ran a little slow for me at times, but the artstyle was great.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:05pm

A strong game. I enjoyed trying to master the combat, which felt a bit clunky at first, but I discovered that it was fun to hit an enemy and then dash through them to avoid a response. Very weird and cool graphics and great music. Nice job!

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Thank you for your comments! And we're really glad that we found a brave warriors, who mastered our weird combat system.~
Regarding the music - we spent hours on searching for a suitable tune that would be close to Japanese traditional music and we stumbled upon this awesome band called "Yoshida Brothers". If you like the in-game tune we wholeheartedly recommend that you check out their other works.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Cool graphics and nice character design! The combat was a little bit wonky, but I won't hold that against you considering you actually turned in a 3D action game to Ludum Dare. I totally forgot about the 2700 sweets for the final well though, so I spent my sweets on the other two wells (for which I have no idea what they did) and ended up unable to complete the game. A good effort, nonetheless and something I didn't expect to come across. : )

lotusgame says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Fantastic ! Controls or some collisions aren't perfect but what a game !! Special mention to music ;)

mystakin says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Really dug the art direction and graphics, although it seems like the weapons maybe didn't have time to get textured. Also loved the music. Really cool game that could be fantastic with some polish and extra time. :)

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Oh, great thanks for your comments! Our artist smiling every time when reading it.

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:26pm

I liked the graphics and music. Wish the combat was a bit more polished and fleshed out. Nice job!

Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Nice graphics! I included it in part 28 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/Hmt93jxkWGQ

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]