Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Taxi Copter

by Aaron San Filippo - Jam Entry

You are the sole taxi helicopter service on these busy islands. Connect the citizens to their destinations on neighboring islands for sweet, sweet cash.

Inspired by games like Choplifter, Sim Copter, etc. Simple, silly, physics-y fun.

Controls WASD to move, Left Mouse Button for lift, and mouse to steer.

Created by:
Aaron San Filippo (@aeornflippout)

Music from Forest San Filippo (@ForestSanFilipp)
AKA: Flippfly

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Fun(Jam)4.11
#84Overall(Jam)3.75
#114Humor(Jam)3.27
#176Mood(Jam)3.50
#189Innovation(Jam)3.43
#315Audio(Jam)3.21
#354Graphics(Jam)3.46
#372Theme(Jam)3.18
#1598Coolness39%

Comments

Lokiman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:12am

I see that you changed the original "transport for free" service to paid one :D

Definitely needs a sandbox mode where you will be scored based on your "tricks" with the heli....like skateboarders in the air :)

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:12am

Really fun! I'm really impressed by how well the copter controls, seems like it'd be tricky thing to get right over a weekend. I played the game for a bit, but also had fun just cruising around, too.

LuisDC says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:15am

Well done! Great physics and funny idea. The time I had to chase a boat for 50$ was really memorable. The only thing I miss is that I couldn't die no matter how hard I crashed. Good controls BTW.

Maxium says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:19am

A fantastic little game. I really like the target points mechanic, and the music and visuals really add to the mood of the piece. I have a real hard time landing on the boats. Madison Indies represent!

bazld says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:08am

Fantastic - great controls, graphics and sound. Lots of nice little details, like how the people run to the chopper :)

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Good controls, had fun!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06pm

That was really good. Great work. Especially on the controls.

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:19pm

I had a lot of fun with this! Landing on the boat was super challenging, not sure if it was even worth the money!

EnigmAraigne says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:25pm

AWESOME!

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:46pm

You had me at the title: LET'S MAKE SOME CRAZY MONEY! But seriously, you have no idea how relieved I was and how relaxed I became when I realized you can't crash into buildings. This was a real blast to play, and it's one of this round of LD games I'll come back to play again. Awesome work!

nesis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:38am

Nice game, really smooth and fun controls. It was actually kinda fun watching the helicopter spin wildly through the air. Good music too, I like how it sped up as time counted down. Nice take on the graphics, very minimalist but stylish.

nesis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:39am

Oh, and if you'd like to rate my game, please do! Here's a link - http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=2726

Hairein says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:13pm

This was great fun and a good execution of this type of game. The controls were suitably hard and the way through and required actions were easy to read and then do. Definately one of the most fun games out of this compo for me!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:07am

Really liked the art style and music here. Ended up with something like $120. I wish there'd been a little more clarity when someone was dropped off vs just a sound? Fun to fly around, though, and crazy taxi people :) I landed on the boat :)

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Choplifter!!!! That was fun!

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Sweet music (even in last minute :), clear goal, nice gameplay. It reminded me of crazy taxi and the taxi mission on GTA. It made me laugh too when I could go from one island to the other flying in reverse hahaha. The one thing I could not understand is why some of the people did not get off the copter on the destination... I guess they liked how I fly! Great game!!

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:58am

Great! I found my self dive bombing the landings once I found out it was timed. Great controls, and excellent twist on this theme.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:44am

Excellent work with the physics and controls! Having the rotor be on mouse-1 feels great

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Hi there. Great Crazy Taxi-a-like. Glad you have no damaging collisions! Very enjoyable, good job!

H1S2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:53pm

very funny game. simple, but nice graphics. i loved that the heli dosent crash regardless of the landing style :D

sandbaydev says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:08pm

nice entry! good chopper controls.

i would have liked the chopper shadow to be perhaps bit more "under the chopper" (like angle should have been so that sun is higher), to help landing on smaller boats.

i would have liked to see damage & crashing. now I could hit anything.

very well done, good job.

Pavel says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Cool game, simple and funny.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Now that's how to do a helicopter game! This plays very well indeed. The copter is very responsive and flies just about right. The game had a feel similar to the flying game in Wii Sports Resort, which is no bad thing. I hope that you do more with this as it has the making of a very good game.

sephyka says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:07am

Well done. Good playability of the helicopter. I'm not bad at it because I played a lot at GTAV. :p Fun music, good mood, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]