Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Nebula

by franklyn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A mysterious Nebula appeared at the edge of our solar system and appears to be a portal leading to a distant world.

Controls:
WASD or Arrow Keys
Shoot with Space

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#367Audio3.03
#460Graphics3.22
#630Humor2.22
#765Fun2.81
#788Mood2.73
#788Overall2.97
#885Theme2.72
#1099Innovation2.26

Comments

diamondgfx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:02am

I couldn't get this game to do anything other than play music and display a ship :(

FacticiusVir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03am

The game starts, I get the intro then see the ship, but it freezes there with the music playing.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:04am

It takes a while but it starts up. Then I see your ship and I hear piano music but I can't play. I'm on os x and I am using chrome.

franklyn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:06am

Fixed it ;)

jomomomo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:09am

Took a minute, but it did load up. Is there a way to upgrade weapons?

kenrickrilee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16am

Is the music in the background your own composition? It's pretty cool :D

franklyn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18am

@jomomomo After every wave you'll get to the upgrad menu where u can upgrade things like damage, attack speed, and the amount of guns your ship carries

@kenrickrilee played around with a random music generator :P

haveric says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:22am

Pretty fun game. Could really use some damage indicators though on your ship and/or the enemy ships.

I like the music and the gameplay, but I don't really feel the music goes well with this style of game.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:26am

This game took about a minute to display anything other than a black screen. When I started playing, I immediately became frustrated by the enemy bullets that were coming from BEHIND me without any explanation. Even adding a sentence into the story like 'Often the enemy sneaks behind you when you're not looking' would've made it at least bearable. Also, it doesn't seem like you really brought anything new to the table. It seems like a typical space shooter with upgrades.

Skills641 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:45am

doesn't work

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:07am

Nice twist on a classic, and the theme fits. A health bar would have been nice, but otherwise a fairly solid showing. Nice work.

gillenew says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:08am

I could not play :(

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:08am

The graphics are really good. I really like the gameplay. The lack of a loading screen almost made me close it before it loaded.

TowelKing says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:10am

An addictive upgrade system mixed with solid shmup gameplay. I enjoyed the game and the backstory is intriguing for how little there is.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:23am

Neat game! Love it! :D

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:12am

Nice shmup, solid gameplay. However a two things that would go a long way in making the gameplay more visceral.
1. Increased player bullet size, bigger feels meater.
2. Objects zooming past in the back to give a sense of speed.
Otherwise good job!

stimpact says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:27am

I liked being able to upgrade my ship, gave me a better connection to the game, and sense of lost when it was eventually gameover. Nice work!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Hi there. Nice side-scrolling shooter.

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Nothing starting for me

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Awesome! I love shoot 'em ups. Good game!

rjhunter says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Am I just really bad at shmups? I see in the comments and screenshots there's an upgrade system, but I never got that far :-(

arhpositive says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Classical shoot'em up. The music is awesome. Maybe the gameplay is not original but it's a good implementation of a well known formula. Found it too easy after upgrading the guns of the ship first.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]