Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Twinkle

by ReddogStone - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Behold: Twinkle - a game about connecting worlds, erm, stars.

This is my second LD. Having not finished the last one I decided to go for a really small projet this time. Luckily it worked out quite well. Though, I had to drop some more ambitions goals, like multiple level packs with different rules and increasing difficulty. I hope that's something for the future.

The task is very simple: connect as many stars as possible without making a star-triangle. Sounds easier than it is. It is even connected to a quite young field of mathematics, namely the Ramsey theory.

Have fun!

I used:

Programming:
- HTML5/JavaScript
- seedrandom.js from here: https://github.com/davidbau/seedrandom

Graphics:
- Entirely generated in code

Audio:
- Generated with BFXR

Music:
- Guitar
- Audacity for recording and de-noising

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#375Audio3.00
#495Innovation3.25
#581Theme3.22
#668Fun2.91
#738Overall3.03
#766Mood2.75
#839Graphics2.66
#897Humor1.73

Comments

Haighstrom says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:41pm

This is an excellent little graph theory puzzle.

Probably you shouldn't let the player progress to the next level until a certain score is achieved?

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:59am

I agree. I thought about not letting the player progress until he finds the actual maximum amount of connections. But decided to drop this rule to allow one to finish the game anyway. This was probably not a very good decission, since now the game seems too easy.
To be honest, I have a concept for at least five more rule-set extensions, like arrows instead of lines. Unfortunately, even for this first extension I couldn't prove the maximum amount yet xD So, one way would be to find it brute force :)

sanojian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:28am

Nice brain teaser. I wish you could reset without the stars moving.

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:35am

Actually, at first, I made it so that you would restart without the stars moving. But decided it was nice to have some variety when you restart. Maybe this was wrong...

nikki93 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Cute game! We did some Ramsey Theory in college last year so this was interesting. I agree that it'd be nice to restart without moving the starts, because I tend to remember what I did before with the positions, but now that they've moved I can't apply what I remember. Good stuff, neat idea for the theme!

dadman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:59pm

I really liked the music.

gnx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:03pm

After the grueling final hours of my own LD push, this was quite possibly the best thing I could have played. A nice relaxing game about connecting stars.

The audio is really soothing.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:26am

Nice guitar :). At first this was deceptively easy but then I realized it got deeper!

jshaffer94247 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:38am

Nice puzzle game; I enjoyed it. Would be nice to know what level I was on and how many there are. I agree that I want to restart a level that I failed to do it right.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Really nice, really minimalist game. It's fun to sit back and relax sometimes!

micahcowan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Really great. Simple, fun gameplay, soothing music, appropriate sound effects, challenging math puzzle. Awesome!

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Fun game! As you say, I think this is a good base for something more. Relaxing but still challenging. I did try to get the best score before moving onwards. The stars changing position each reset was a little annoying, and some placements were hard to see. Overall, I enjoyed it!

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:28pm

This is a great unique concept! Well done!

snooze82 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:43pm

nice little puzzle :)

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:27am

I appreciated the time I spent playing Twinkle, it's challenging and relaxing.
I liked the living graphics, especially the breathing clouds.
I really enjoyed your music composition, I found the volume a bit too low, but better a low good music than a high annoying one.
I went until the 9 stars level. Maybe for a future version, an highlighting of existing links when the mouse is over a specific star could help to think (or maybe it makes it too easy???).

It's a nice game, I think the size of the project is perfect for a gamejam, you did very well.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Hi there. Interesting puzzle. Played with it for a while, fun to develop a strategy then have it ruined... Would be nice to retry same map instead of new one each time fail. Good job!

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Thank you everyone for your kind words and valuable critiques. I plan to develop this prototype into a full game with a lot more levels and some puzzle-rule diversity. I will definitely listen to your suggestions. Once again, LD proved to be tons of fun and a great motivator, too.

MaesK says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Nice puzzle game! Reminds me of some graph theory classes. Music is very relaxing, and I like the randomly generation of stages.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:32pm

The game seems a little easy, but it is nice to see an original puzzle.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]