Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sideline

by Vandash - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Sideline is a dual stick shooter in which your ship's direction directly affects the game rules. Xbox usb controller is strongly recommanded!

*Note: If you've never played or are not used to dual stick shooter you should play ~15mins to get used to the controls :)

Tips & Game rules :
- Move using the left stick or keyboard arrows.
- By going UP you enter the red world, and you can shoot by using the right stick or the mouse. But enemies become more hostile as well.
- By going DOWN you enter the green world in which your ship gets upgraded, but you can't shoot.
- By going LEFT you enter the blue world where time slows down.
- And RIGHT is the yellow speedy world.
- At the start of the game, go down to upgrade your ship!
- Try to exit the arena to teleport to the opposite side.
- Make sure to grab the score multipliers!
- When going throught the right arena wall you spawn a multiplier.
- Make sure to kill the spawners as soon as possible.
- Challenge your friends, my personnal best score is 45000.

Thanks a lot to Ludum Dare Paris for organisation, as always :)

Inspirations : Geometry Wars 2 Retro Evolved, Superhot, Legend of Zelda, Braid.

Also the first time I'm doing music on my own, and I really enjoyed it! I hope you like the game :) Let me know your score!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#50Innovation4.03
#72Fun3.81
#93Audio3.64
#93Overall3.79
#133Graphics3.91
#296Mood3.30
#696Theme3.06
#776Humor2.00

Comments

Altourus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:04am

Was very difficult to figure out the game, but once I did I loved it

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:05am

Ridiculously fun but difficult at the same time. One of my favorites so far.

Snuux says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:35am

Very hardcore! But I like This! Thanks!

John Drury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:39am

I love the minimalist style. Took 3 tries to figure out how to play. Interesting concept and was fun discovering techniques to win. Hard to see enemies and had a tendency to run into the circle enemies.

Akurn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:39am

Amazing.
Really hard, but looks stunning and plays brilliantly.

Perjoka says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:40am

Very difficult but also a lot of fun to play :)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:41am

This game is incredible! I really loved the mechanics! I even don't know what to criticize ;D

acidave says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:41am

This is fun. Very hard at the beginning, but when you get the idea... Great!

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:45am

Cool idea - the direction in which you move actually changes the rules. Found it to be very challenging!

Joshua_S says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:48am

I love this game, music is great and the speed effects are really cool. Only two nitpicks I have are having to use the arrow keys and mouse wasd for movment would have been nice, and bullets not wrapping like the ship seems odd.

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:51am

Beautiful graphics. Fantastic use of lighting.
Clever mechanics. Reminded me a little of Braid.
Well-developed gameplay with a variety of elements and mechanics.
Perfectly appropriate sound and music.
A+, no criticisms.

bazld says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:51am

I was slightly confused about the abilities, but I think I got it now. Very clever, really good use of the theme. Excellent gfx and audio.

IgIzzy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:55am

Overall I really enjoyed the game, was just difficult to get a feel of at first. I also was not fully sure how this fit the connected world theme as your always in the same space.

brian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:59am

I thought shooting is automatic when going up. haha! :p
Maybe this is clearer:
1. Move up to enable guns
2. Left click to shoot

Nice game! :)

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:59am

Like the art style and the concept but very hard :D

cmayhem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:14am

Difficult but fun. Very good use of effects.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:17am

Well polished with great art, but only being able to shoot while moving upwards is a bit frustrating.

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:17am

Really good, all aspects of it.
Great fun.

The only thing i felt could have benefitted it was some extra lives on the ship, so you can take some bullets before dying. But maybe thats just because i am bad at it.

Hoothoot says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:27am

Cool idea! I really enjoyed it!

Bronaldplo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:24am

Wow what a great game! I think it's so cool that you have to find this balance between upgrading and attacking! also the music an how it responds to your actions... GREAT!

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:28am

At first I wasn't sure about the game. I am really bad when rules get too complex all of a sudden and not ease me into the game.

Yet, this game did a pretty good job of explaining through the gameplay (and the instructions) I went in knowing exactly what I should do and how (albeit it was a bit vague that upgrading is done overtime over how long you press down).

While I don' have a score that would award me a gold medal (highest is about 86 I think), it made me feel good as it got better with time (as mentioned you'd need about 15 minutes to get used to the controls. I started with a score of 7 then went to 86 finally).

All in all, great game. I liked the music and definitely liked the sound effects.
Very well done.

Vandash says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:36am

Hey guys thanks for all the feedback really appreciate it :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:43am

Great game, great idea. Very nicely done!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:59am

Is fun, only I die very soon. Maybe the game could be easier with lives or something like that. Or upgrading ship would also upgrade defense. But apart from that, good job!

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:01pm

That music is so good! Graphics are neat too!

grifdail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:50pm

So great ! Very polished ! You rock !

Julien ! Du meet up parisien !

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:27pm

really fun. gj. love the fact that the gameplay goes with the music

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Very interesting concept. A bit hard to control, if you don't have the dual sticks. I like the asteroids-style vector graphics.

silentlamb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:31pm

My favorite game from this LD so far. It's very hard but that's why I enjoy it! Great audio & visuals. I love it.

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Once you figure it all out it's a genuinely good.
Loved the theme implementation.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:26am

Love the music and concept. It took me a while to figure out.

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Beautiful and very difficult :) Nice game !

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Great idea! This is lovely :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Hi there. Looks gorgeous, sounds great. Love the colour change on direction and the different effects for directions. Only seeing enemies while moving also clever. Found it impossible to play though. Good job - but needs to be easier for humans... ;)

moi93101 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Beatiful and fun, I like it !

Simon says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Pretty crazy idea! I love it.

brookman says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:02pm

I'm a big fan of geometry wars. Your game rocks!

sephyka says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:08pm

It is very difficult to control the ship at the first time. It needs some time to be good. Nice idea and challenging game. Graphics and audio are really immersive. Great art direction.

tbam says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:34am

Would have loved just a touch more space, but great overall

Yword says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:12am

Very unique and innovative! But I think the control is quite hard if the player want to shoot and avoid enemies at the same time. Well done!

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:12pm

A bit hard to figure out but fun

Moosefly says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Damn that was hard, I have no idea how you managed that 45k score. My best run ended with a score of 546 or so :(. I would've probably liked it a bit more if I didn't always die so soon. Maybe have each hit take off one upgrade or so, so that you could effectively keep regenerating. That might make it too easy, but some variation of the idea would maybe work.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Took me a while to figure out how things worked, but once I realized what was going on, I exclaimed to myself: "Oh, that's genius!". Really liked the concept, although I was a bit disheartened after seeing your personal best...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]