Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Sphere

by mess110 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

wasd to move
space to jump
r to restart

jump next to objects to interact

meet the little sphere. it strives to survive.

ps: please enable sound

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#48Audio3.79
#66Humor3.52
#272Mood3.33
#458Innovation3.29
#596Overall3.17
#850Fun2.70
#878Graphics2.58
#991Theme2.50

Comments

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:38am

Does the Prize mean I win?
I loved the opening poem, that's a great idea.
The faces on the cube made me care about him =(

John Drury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:40am

So lost, Made me lol though ahah

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:59am

Confusing, but narration in neat :)

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:28am

Haha, nice narration :)

bogdan.tana says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:51am

Great voice acting and lines!

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:46am

Hahaha, that is definitely one of the most hilarious games I have tried in this LD.

Definitely gives an air of Portal here with the narration -- it was excellent and the poems are really cool. I liked them very much.

The concept was really easy to grasp on and the clues were spot on. Except at the jumping point I believe you are meant to fail? Not sure but haven't figured out anything else.

Definitely would be cool to see this as a complete game outside of LD. :D

Well done!

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:48am

Nice adaptation of the theme :) But the "no-wall" thing made me crazy haha !
Good job

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:56am

What a great storytelling! Fresh rhymes greatly combinated with the game! Also like the lightbeam very much!

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:02pm

What a great storytelling! Fresh rhymes greatly combinated with the game!

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:15pm

This storytelling is A GLOROIUS idea <3!

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:26pm

I am glad you enjoyed it and you picked up on what I was aiming for. Would love to improve on the voice acting. Lesson learned: voice acting before 48 hours of coding :)

panurge says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:33pm

A really cool experience. The voiceover worked beautifully with the simplicity of the visuals. This would definitely bear expanding into something longer.

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:48pm

the cake is a lie :(

TD5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Wow. What a beautiful game! The narration is excellent :)

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Best voice acting so far.

clofresh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Pretty cool Alice in Wonderland vibe. Couldn't figure out the timer level

snooze82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:32pm

uh, a new portal test chamber? :)

smbe19 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Great voice acting and interesting gameplay!
I just wasn't able to get past the timer ;(

dhargan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:39pm

weird game. I like the riddle-like narrative tho :D good job!

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Nice voice!

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Nice idea !
I get a warning (chrome/mac) :
gl.getProgramInfoLog() WARNING: Could not find vertex shader attribute 'position' to match BindAttributeLocation request.

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Nice narration, but the game is confusing... (maybe some bug?)

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Weird, psycho. Especially the van. (that's meant as a compliment)

Anshzinc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:47pm

One of the best games I've played this LD.

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Unfortunately it doesn't work on Chromium :(

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:26pm

This was super weird :P I liked the poem, I've never seen another game do something like that. The rest of it was...not very original, but the concept itself kept me going.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Bravo! That narration is incredible ;D

Andre Blyth says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Very clever, love the dissonance (that's not a sphere!). My only quip is how starkly different the narrator says 'restart' compared to the rest of the lines.

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:44pm

I didn't get the timer part but this was surely a unique and interestingly narrated entry! The space for selecting door was a little unintuitive (why not just collision?). That aside, this is the most inspiring game I've played so far.

dadman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Good fun, very stanley parrable-esque. I'm not sure if it was just short or there was a route I didn't find, but if you have to take the time to think up the rhyme I could guess what would bless your time!
... Did that make sense? Rhyming's hard, yo.

Posva says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Good voice. Very original game!

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Haha nice work :D Love this narration.

SenorDiablo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Really nice! for me I feel like this is very unique and the exact reason that ludum dare is awesome. Fantastic work:)

cstudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:21pm

I like the voices :D

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:36am

Poem poem ? he did a poem. I knew LD is a crossroad in order to find artists. Well done ++

monsterkillu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Good narration .. wish there were more levels :)

JaJ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Couldn't figure the timer out. I liked the poems, but after having to restart 5+ times, they got kind of old :p
Always good to see something different!

Nylonica says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Love the narrative!

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Neat idea. I like your narration.

psychonull says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Good stuff. Good voice acting and the game looks very good aesthetically.
The feeling it leaves reminded me a bit of stanley parable.

JoJoyX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Very original game and nice concept ! Made me think about Portal.

hogtrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Gameplay is confuse. Narration was nice.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:43pm

I did not understand the game xD

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Could you upload the windows version please, the source's is too high, and the web doesn't load in, as i have limited 12 kb/s net
Please, it looks so nice and i wanna try it so much :)

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Quiet a cool game, funny and enjoyable, a bit confusing though.

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:15pm

@MyougaHiroshi unfortunately, there is no windows version. One option to try it, would be to download the source from github and open it with a modern browser

pjimmy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:43pm

very cool concept

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:09am

But... But... It said to exit stage right! I exited stage right and I lost!

Confusing theatre theory aside, that was a pretty neat idea, and good execution.

LaFleur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Very cute!

goerp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Quite original this. The third level had me stumped though. I can't complain about teh game being to hard though, my game is virtually unifinishable.
Very good narration, good rhymes.
I also like the way it looks.
The interaction is a bit unintuitive. And it would be nice that falling to tour death would end the level.

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Really enjoyed this. Great narration. Reminded me very much of the Stanley Parable. Couldn't get past the jumping level (3), and couldn't figure out if that was me or if the game ends there?

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:06pm

I smell Portal inspiration :D
I liked the game. Are there more than 2 endings?

Yoni says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:28pm

I didn't understand how to solve the game :(
The narration is great, but could use subtitles.

klianc09 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Great story-telling, impressive job on doing all the rhymes.
The visuals did not really appeal to me, but besides that it's a shame it's so short.

Just one thing about the audio though, with Audacity you can cut away your mouse-click at the end and do some noise reduction. But that's really some minor nit-picking.

And it's not a sphere. (But I guess you just said that to annoy people like me, so it's okay.)

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:47am

Great audio!! The puzzles reminded me somehow of stanley parable, though there is no visual connection. Very amusing and curious. Great job!!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Hi there. Love the black box theatrical presentation. Got the prize. More of an art exhibit than a game. Good job on that!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Good idea, is the black screen after the timer level where the light goes red the last?

erdnuss says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 5:37pm

I don't think I 'got' the game, but it was interesting nevertheless! I also liked the poems.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]