Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

So few polys!

by villhest - Jam Entry

This is a game about exploration, AKA the LD where I taught myself a little low poly.

Yes, there are portals.

Controls:
Movement - WASD + Space
Others - R/L Mouse to pick up / throw.

Thanks to Oliver Getz for the awesome soundtrack!

Tools used:
- Unity <3
- Blender <3
- Photoshop <3
- Audacity <3

P.s. If you want me to build for another platform, please let me know!

Edit - Fixed the following:
- anti alias is now on
- added a music track I forgot
- enabled cursor lock (thanks Psoeter)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#70Graphics(Jam)4.28
#71Mood(Jam)3.83
#128Theme(Jam)3.70
#149Audio(Jam)3.56
#235Overall(Jam)3.42
#532Humor(Jam)2.00
#577Fun(Jam)2.68
#643Innovation(Jam)2.48

Comments

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Absolutely beautiful

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Really enjoyed this. Love the graphics and overall atmosphere.

Psoeter says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:52pm

The game looked visually stunning, the audio track got slightly annoying.

The character controller moved a little bit sluggish but did the job, you also need to lock the mouse to the center of the screen with Screen.lockCursor

Still a very pretty game

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:54pm

mouse sensitivity is way too high but otherwise a beautiful exploration game, love the art style and level design. I fell into a tomb and got stuck lol

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Too nice! Great low poly work dude. Some nice wandering and spelunking in here : D

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Nice low-poly-world - well done!
But I don't find the "meaning of the game"... Just exploring without any deeper mechanics?

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:56pm

I enjoyed the low poly look, and the music gives it a nice relaxing mood. i wish the webplayer would take full control of the cursor though, i kept clicking stuff outside of the game because my mouse would move to the task bar/etc.

Oxeren says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Very nice exploration experience! The world beneath reminded me of Skyrim's Blackreach.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Really creative and huge game world you've created. I'm really impressed!

ExtreLime says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:59pm

The soundtrack reminded me old Disney cartoons :D
I liked the most the cave - these tunnels are something mysterious. Great low poly art!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:02pm

A very nice atmospheric wander through worlds. I went low poly too this time. Yours looks better though you managed to make so many different models I don't know how you found the time.

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:08pm

A very relaxing experience. Love the artwork, distinct and beautiful. The music is just as good, these are the best aspects of the game. As the description reads, it's about exploration, so there's not that much to do other than explore the beautiful environments, but sometimes that's all it takes. Dødschill!

pirate-rob says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:21pm

So pretty~
The best part was when I dropped down into the cavern <3

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:38pm

I love atmospheric games so much. That part where you drop from the mineshaft into the cavern with the crystals and flower-type tree things? Amazing. Played the whole thing with my mouth open. Really nice work!!

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Beautiful world and music!

Lissar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:38am

Lovely style and exploration!

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:39am

Very special atmosphere. Love it.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Nice visuals, I feel it needs some kind of ending, some kind of interaction with the environment that makes the game a bit diferent in the end, something that shows that you changed those worlds yu've explored just a little bit.

villhest says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:09pm

@Lokarunith: Thanks! Great feedback. I really wanted to do something like that, but I chose (perhaps unwisely) to spend almost all my time modelling. Thanks for playing my game!

Otrora says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:41pm

The size of the worlds is impresive for the límites time. Cool exploration game.

dook says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Very pretty and atmospheric little adventure! Reminded me of Myst, and the music in the beginning made me think of Little Big Adventure for some reason :) Not much game in it, but that's alright.

Eli says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Really huge. I got lost. Two times in the same way!
And I don't know what to do so I just jumped of the island :)

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:52pm

What a beautiful poly world. The pit where you fall into the purple forest was just... <3 <3 <3 Well done indeed.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Hi there. Love the look and feel, didn't get anywhere with the puzzle though ran around a couple of the worlds, really nice models and lighting. Sound effects very appropriate as is the background sound track. Good job!

EnigmAraigne says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Simply Awesome!

alhvi says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:00am

Nice low poly environments :D

goosetickler says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Great visuals and mood, had a fun time exploring and searching for the different portals! Would have have preferred a more subtle footstep sound FX, as the one now stomps on the great music you have. Also the mouse look speed was a little high.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]