Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Amazed Rogue

by UntitledQ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Another case of ambition over reason. This was going to be a simple roguelike set in a dungeon consisting of multiple overlapping planes. It turned out to be a quite passable maze simulator as most items and enemies didn't get implemented.

Move around with WASD or arrow keys, shoot lasers with space, and use the number keys to switch to a certain plane once you have collected the appropriate plane switcher item.

Navigate the randomly generated rooms and corridors, gain access to deeper planes, find each stage's exit (circle on the ground) and finally reach the boss plane (plane #5) to claim the rather vacant dungeon!

Avoid bumping into the spiky lethargic mobs (shoot them if they're in your way).

Known problems:
- The key to the left of the '1' key does not register on some keyboard layouts and configurations. You can use the 'Q' key as an alternative.


Assembled in Visual Studio, paint.net and Genetica using C++, OpenGL, SFML 2.1 and Box2D.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#430Theme3.42
#446Overall3.31
#456Fun3.15
#458Innovation3.29
#480Humor2.44
#508Mood3.05
#545Graphics3.12
#843Audio2.13
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:51pm

I couldn't manage to switch back after going to plane 1, (sadface), but I was suitably impressed by the scale of the maps.

UntitledQ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Ow, right! It seems that key left of the '1' key is named differently in SFML depending on your keyboard layout...
Fixed it by adding the name on the US keyboard, but that means people using other layouts may still experience difficulty.

doos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:21pm

' tick key on the far right of the keyboard worked for me to go back to plane 1.. Easy change would be to activate on Q. Made it to the end.. I can imagine it being very interesting phasing into rooms full of homing enemies, or phasing out straight away to avoid them, or adding timers for the speedrun community.. Loved the speed I could go, found that aiming in isometric was hard.. As well as the colour of the tile to the boss room.. So many maps!

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:12pm

I can see what you was trying to do and it could be really interesting if you got to implement everything you wanted.

UntitledQ says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:09pm

doos: Thanks for the heads-up, I added the Q key now; that should finally settle it. Aiming is indeed a bit too hard at the moment, especially in tight corridors where you can't avoid bouncing off the walls. Anyways, glad to hear somebody made it through! :-)
I'm not sure how interested the speedrun community would be since there's a good chunk of randomness to the map generation...

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:34pm

There was a lot of maps! you really put some time and effort in! GJ!

dancingmad says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:45pm

The sliding in plane 2 was great! =D

Sunflower says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:47pm

I'm not really amazed, since these sort of games aren't particularly challenging or anything; it's just walking around. That said, I'm aware you intended to add more, but you didn't have time. Things I didn't like, though: having to switch planes with numbers, while pressing something like Space bar or similar should suffice (it's not like there is other plane you can switch to); having the maze entirely based on diagonal directions; having to *move* in a given direction to shoot mah lazorz there. Also, the planes after 2 were rather disappointing, considering how fun the floor in 2 was. ^^"

borgi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:50pm

I had to push the key on the right of 9 to turn back to world 0. Nice puzzles!

gaarlicbread says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:00pm

This feels like a super-early version of a potentially awesome game. It feels not-quite-finished, but I like the fundamental idea and mechanics. I like the idea of a roguelike with the multiple planes that you can constantly switch between.

I have one suggestion, which is to choose the floor colors to more clearly distinguish between can-switch-planes versus cannot-switch. I realize different colors already aim to do this, but I easily forgot which color meant what. I suggest, for example, making cannot-switch-planes floors be something simple like a matte black, and then can-switch floors all be something more interesting and colorful.

It would be cool to see what happens if you keep working on this!

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Loved it, especially the number and size of the levels. Very good graphics too!

Zathnic says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:23pm

I like games in which you play as a ball! This was quite nice, reminded me a bit of the game iRoll (which I'm the only person on the entire planet to know). Would be more challenging of course if the enemies moved in some way, but it was a fun maze nonetheless.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Very nice game, I like how the maps are generated.

Tifu says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:10pm

I got pretty far I think, but I tabbed out, came back, and had lost the ability to fire lasers, or do you run out? Couldn't progress after that.

The mechanic is really cool, and somehow despite the complexity of the maze with multiple planes, I always seemed to find my way to the goal, which is yay.

Tosic says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Wait... a 3d game made in 2d tools, that is, ser, impressive!
I really like it, just maybe some AI, but not an obligation!
Oh yeah and sounds are needed, but it is an awesome game! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]