Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Tale of Two Megacities

by GAFBlizzard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is a story about two space-age cities -- one on a planet, and the other on an artificial moon.

You play the role of a government official on the planetbound city.

As usual, I thought of an idea that was about 3 times too large for me to make. I had hoped to have more gameplay mechanics (such as trading between the planet and moon in the second half of the game), along with a lot more events to handle, and more political maneuvering to change your rank.

I also hoped to make an entire second mirror half of the game, perhap featuring an estranged brother, who is trying to work their way up in the moon government.

What I ended up making is silly and simple, but winnable and self-contained. Thanks in advance to anyone who pokes around at it!

*edit* I made one change to the upload at 12:49 a.m. EST, 08/25/2014, to fix a typo on the victory screen. I messed up alignment by 2 characters in the same fix, but that's life and I decided to leave it that way. :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#142Audio3.49
#471Humor2.46
#613Mood2.92
#788Overall2.97
#806Graphics2.71
#903Innovation2.68
#943Fun2.59
#1035Theme2.39

Comments

alvarop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:47am

I had hard time understanding what I was supposed to do and there didn't seem to be much of an objective.

I still lost, somehow!

superjoe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:17am

I didn't get past the part where it asked me a bunch of multiple choice questions. I wasn't sure what the goal was or why I was doing it.

cardboard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:55am

The character sprite is super blocky compared to the other artwork, so he sticks out too much, but this could be symbolic of his being a simple man who just wants to live in the country in a complicated society. The music was very nice, albeit a bit short, although it didn't get annoying during my 8 or so minute playthrough. There weren't enough scenarios during the second part of the game, but you mentioned this in the description. The pixel art for the first part is solid and blends well together, and the UI is clear. Nice job. :)

ClownAround says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:55am

This was actually kinda cool. It was confusing at first, but after another play through, I got it. Would have liked to see more variety, but it was still interesting.

Gunn3rboi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:31am

good game i understood what to do at the beginning but then at the multiple choice questions i wasn't to sure of the goal but overall i liked it.

Ervin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Nice atmosphere - cool music.

duncankeller says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:02am

Voiceover was great, I enjoyed that part a lot. Not a lot was explained in-game (unless it was in the cutscene I couldn't figure out how to play) so general goals, and the drawbacks of certain buildings was unclear to me. I liked the vibe of it, though. I liked the music a lot, too.

Cad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:02am

Not bad, but I had a hard time identifying the objective

Pheonise says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:18am

Some more information about how each structure affects the numbers would be nice, and revisiting that mechanic would have been nice.
Overall, the game was pretty good; the theme would have connected better if you managed to get that mirrored moon-life done, but such is the way of the Dare~

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:47am

That was quite relaxing. :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:48am

That was quite relaxing. Simple but fun, and with nice music. :)

C_Walden says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:52am

Once I noticed the Help button in the city planning phase, everything fell together, and I enjoyed the short 6 minutes I spent with this game from start to finish. Quite amusing. Lovely music.

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:23am

Interesting idea. It is simple with good atmosphere.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:29am

Nice game, I'm impressed at the amount of detail you were able to get in. Liked the building aspect at the start with the objectives of growth and the voiceover and music worked really well with the context of the government.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Thank you for the vote! I wish you had more time to get more features in, this game was really enjoyable.

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Interesting take on the theme! Also, very relaxing.

HellBlazer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Very nice little game, and even with voice acting! I was pretty confused at first, but then noticed the help button and that made things clear. Obviously it could use more depth and diversity, but of course this is Ludum Dare so it's expected. Very good effort for the limited dev time.

WetDesertRock says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:14pm

The music matched the mood, I liked it.

Overall I like the game, but you could've used more time to flesh it out and make it easier to play. I enjoyed the voice acting. Perhaps your help screen should be the first thing the player sees?

robbiehunt says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:50am

I had this game queued up to play but I wasn't happy about it. I think I was just grumpy last night. Anyway I got around to playing it today and it's a charming little game! I really liked it!

I liked the guitar. It doesn't necessarily 'match' the game ... but the longer I played the more it grew on me. Nice work!

lekochen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:30am

I now retire to the countryside and feel so relaxing. Good game.

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:06am

Really interesting game and the one mission thing is quite difficult but if you go by rows that can help a lot. Good job! :D

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:53am

The objective wasn't clear and it seemed pretty simple. But everything else was pretty solid and could definitely be expanded in a fun way.

Crefossus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:30am

I had fun trying to figure out how to reach the goals once I read the help. There is a lot going on here between the citybuilder, music, story, voice acting... I'm definitely impressed.

Strangely what bugged me the most is the presentation of the game in the browser window. It could be spaced a bit more, as there is no padding above the flash object.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:33am

@Crefossus thanks, that's actually a good point about spacing above the game. Next time around I'll try to put a little spacing so it isn't jammed against the top.

Oxeren says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:11am

Good game with it's own atmosphere. Liked the music, though wish the loop was a bit longer.

ceosol says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:40am

I don't know if you meant to do a batman voice, but that was awesome. I had no idea what I was doing at first. After looking at the help menu, it almost became too easy. Nice work on this. You have two separate games going on to complete the story.

jprogman says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:12am

Playing the two parts concerns me. If you lose at the second part, will you restart the entire game? Granted I have finished the game, but I would have been devastated if I were to go back to part 1 after playing one part for a while. Just a word of caution.
Interesting Sim City parody with extras.

ripter says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:39am

Im guessing the game logic is based on the relations of neighboring tiles, but the main data points update independently of tile placement actions so it's hard to discern what the effect is. Otherwise its a nice challenge.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:49am

@jprogman, I think I actually ran out of time before I made a way to lose in the second part. So once you get there, you won't go back to the first part.

@ripter, I think I originally considered neighboring tiles, but that would have been more logic so I went with the simple global method. I tried to give an idea of what the tiles do in the help screen, but there's room for improvement.

shashwat says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:25am

I wasn't really sure of the objective of the game. I went down from Mayor to Associate Chef? That's not someone who should be making decisions about money anyway. And I still won :-\

havana24 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:08am

Cool music, I liked the acting!

SelfishGenome says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:04am

Same as alvarop, I didnt quite understand what was going on. I filled every tile and was on my way to 100 billion but got a little tedious waiting for it.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:43am

nice, very interesting

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Hi,.. Game would not start Chrome/W8.1

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Found it a little confusing but could be the start of something more interesting.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:46pm

@mrexcessive, sorry to hear it -- I only have Firefox/IE on Windows 7 to test with. It should just be normal Flash.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:04pm

This is a solid entry for the short amount of development time. The objectives of the game were a bit unclear, the graphics and audio were ok additions to the game but the voice over was a nice touch.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Cool, I beat both worlds! The music was pretty good for being written within the time frame. I liked that you voice acted the characters too - you don't see that often with Ludum Dare. Only problem is that it's too easy to win right now... Otherwise, Nice work!

Tanser says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Amazing, i love it! :)

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:52pm

I liked it until the discussions with the mayor...

ming_tea says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:09pm

I thought this was pretty neat. The inclusion of a help screen was much appreciated.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]