Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

30 World

by dokidoki - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Movement keys affect guys and tiles in both "worlds" at the same time. I didn't have time to put in menus, so you have to reload after winning. There's also a link to a harder version underneath the game canvas. Just "view source" for code. Playable on mobile due to movement buttons at bottom.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#153Innovation3.75
#189Theme3.75
#430Fun3.19
#523Overall3.24
#840Audio2.14
#1007Mood2.35
#1130Graphics2.07
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:05am

The graphics and audio put me off at the very beginning with their simplicity, but in truth the gameplay is very interesting. I've never even thought of combining sliding tile puzzles with getting to a destination AND moving the same way in two different spaces. Nice work.

7Soul says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:44am

It's a good game, but the randomly generated levels don't work in favor of it.
The first two times I could just walk in the direction of the exit with one of the guys and get the second one there with a couple movements.
The third time the level actually generated in a way that took some thinking to find a way to get there

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Really nice concept! I included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/_ZcQE6pTBcc

Artamus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Nice game, congrats!

SnoutUp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Nicely done! My brain hurts, but I made it to the exit :)

DJWizardCop says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Fascinating concept.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:18am

I was bad and got stuck -_- . But it was a refreshing take on a common slide-puzzle style. Solid implementation of the theme.

RodRoy1 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:55am

Cool concept, having to solve two slider puzzle mazes at the same time with the same keys.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:03am

I won! Clever mechanics, I really liked your approach to the theme. Great job!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Hi there. Nice clean design, interesting mix of two genres. Horribly difficult puzzle - which is a good thing! Good job!

hbocao says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:44am

Wow! Cool mechanics man! Really fun! Very good puzzles! =D

OinkIguana says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:21am

Played it on mobile - I like how there was support for that :P
Idea is good and the game was interesting. Its not super challenging though since there is no penalty for doing things wrong or walking into walls/holes.

rhaasken says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:04am

Cool idea, nice job! I am wondering if the harder version is necessarily even beatable. I struggled with it for quite a while.

dokidoki says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:28am

Thanks for the comments everyone. :)
7Soul: Did you try the hard mode?
OinkIguana: I put in mobile controls since I've been doing mobile games lately. I'm glad someone else found it useful. :) I like puzzle games so I didn't add action-y punishing elements.
rhaasken: It's hard, of course, but I just did it in 910/46 moves. I got the purple guy up, was able to block him in, then do the yellow guy.

AlexFili says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:20am

Really clever use of the theme and I like the fact you have to move both characters at once. The sounds could use a bit of work and an improvement in the graphics wouldn't go amiss. Brilliant effort!

hectormorlet says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 11:22am

Pretty cool idea and, although it was short, it was fun. The audio was a bit annoying and the graphics are striking.

pjimmy says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:09pm

nice

Stan Sypek says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Really liked this. A little easy, but counting the tiles was a good touch, because it gives you the opportunity to enjoy again by trying to beat your last score. Liked, but would have been better with audio.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]