Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Trader

by TravisChen - Jam Entry

The Trader connects the world.
The Trader sails with arrows.
The Trader eats to survive.
The Trader trades.
The Trader is driven by riches.
Lighthouses recharge his lonely ship.

Follow me on Twitter: @travischen

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#36Audio(Jam)4.03
#46Mood(Jam)3.96
#111Graphics(Jam)4.14
#168Overall(Jam)3.55
#233Innovation(Jam)3.31
#284Theme(Jam)3.38
#390Fun(Jam)3.01
#442Humor(Jam)2.28

Comments

Follett says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:00am

The lighting on this was amazing, the music as well was really great. My main complaint would be the sound when the lighthouse shines on you is just a little to loud.

ob6160 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:03am

The atmosphere was superb! The graphics also work very will; giving the game a clean and minimalistic theme. Great game.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:03am

Really cool. Love the art, sound, and mood. Maybe make the goal of the game more clear though.

FakeHair says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:04am

Really like the feel of this. Takes a few deaths before you realize that you need to click the tab to eat and sit by lighthouses to get your meter back up. Feels good to find a place to buy your beans for 3x what you paid. Nice work

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:07am

Lovely audio and graphics. Bit annoying that eating your precious cargo gives so little energy. I spent most of my time near those magic light houses to save on energy. Well done.

Cad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:08am

I believe this is my favorite entry so far. You did everything in the right way and it turned out great, nice job.

H1S2 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:09am

I really liked your game. Great Mood because of great Audio and Graphics!
Good Job!

laremere says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:14am

Utterly fantastic graphics and polish. Unfortunately the gameplay doesn't have quite enough depth. I found two ports close with a lighthouse and enough price difference that sailing back and forth was more profitable than exploring, which I did anyways after I had more money than there was use for.

Maxium says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:42am

The art style and the audio really bring the mood together. However, the gameplay seemed a little too much like going grocery shopping in a ship.

ehtd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:45am

Art and music are great

uvwar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:54am

Was confused as to why I kept dying until a lighthouse hit me. Then I realized I could just scoot back and forth between the starting ports and wrack up tons of money indefinitely until I died of old age. If things ran out of stock and forced me to move you could get around this. Otherwise really cool aesthetic and atmosphere!

TravisChen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:16am

Thanks for all the great feedback! Made a last minute change where the ports now have inventories of goods. So you have to explore once you've expended all the resources. Cheers!

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:26am

I like the sailing and art. Cool prototype!

buckslice says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:30am

Great game, the music fit perfectly. I died pretty quick though hah. I didn't get if the bar on the right was the hunger bar or not? Because it only got refilled by the lighthouses, but when it ran out it says I starved. Twas still an wondrous adventure on the open seas!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:31am

Wow, this game is absolutely gorgeous! I loved the bobbing of the boat, the slow movement, the sound of other people as you pull into port... it's really sad that with all that festivity, you still have the goal to trade and rack up money until you die.

More than anything I'd like to see a gameplay boost, because I don't feel like the chosen elements--though each beautiful in its own way--really meshed together. You forsake company for money, but then the things you buy don't really need to be eaten, thanks to the lighthouses. The feel of simultaneous isolation, through the lighthouses, and company at the markets... well, simply put, it seems to be a bit slow and contemplative to really match with the goal, if you know what I mean.

That said, this was *extremely* graphically impressive. Great job!

jesterswilde says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:35am

Great game you guys! I could really feel the mood in this from moment one. The audio design especially makes me feel right in the world.

I feel like the camera could be looking a little more out to the horizon, but if it's placed the way it is to help add mysteriousness I think it ends up being a good choice.

I'd love to see this turn into something bigger!

JordanFitz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:36am

The goal of the game was a little confusing.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:39am

Great visually, and the audio was great too. Gameplay wise, it would be great to have a visual indicator of which ports recharge, and which are just for trading (or maybe I missed something) Great overall

jas7229 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:49am

Nice graphics, I really like the lighting effect!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:27am

I liked the concept, but it definitely took a few tries before I finally knew what was going on with the Lighthouse and food. Really great atmosphere though.

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:31am

Really great atmosphere, I can't really explain it but it feels good to sail the boat. Also the simplistic art style really complimented the game!

gnuwind says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:45am

That funny but difficult to decide with eat and sell. Awsome game.

Greg Klein says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:32am

Great style and sound. The objective of the game is a bit confusing.

ivanhlb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:56am

Wow very impressive graphics and sound!
The handling is very stiff and un-helpful though...

eastes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:03am

Great theme idea and gorgeous visuals. Unfortunately I wasn't very skilled as I often died of starvation.

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:01am

Very nice, though the cam is too low imho. Sounds and visual are badass.

w84death says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:14am

Nice graphics and animations.

sephyka says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:28am

Interesting concept. I really like to travel into the ship with this kind of atmosphere. Not really dynamic but peaceful gameplay. Good work.

skiddings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:31pm

The sailing was a little awkward but everything else was great! The use of light worked well.

jdavidson091 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:23am

Was surprisingly fun; I love "stock market"-lite games like this. Would love to see it expanded to have the ports dynamically change prices, and to have it be a little harder to "die" out in the ocean. Cool concept though, very fun

zillix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:27am

very cool, and very immersive. I loved the simple graphics and gameplay.

Otrora says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Cool concept and really nice graphics. 5 stars on Mood

43iscoding says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:27am

Very beautiful game. Music/Graphics are extremely well done!

John Drury says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:39am

Great graphics! Great music! Great Mood! Being young and eager was great :D

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Is a masterpiece of resource management. we have tried to do something very similar. congratulations, good job

Artamus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:20am

Nice game, congrats!

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:08pm

This felt like art. Really beautiful entry.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:11am

And I died of starvation :( Great art, audio and mood, but I couldn't do much in there. Anyway the game was quite polished. Good work!

lotusgame says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:39pm

A great gameplay idea, very well executed ! I really like the graphics style. It makes me want to explore more lands and to buy stuff for upgrading the ship. It's a very good start :)

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Love the graphics and the sudden escalation of action. Cool idea!

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Great art and sound! The waves and music really set the mood. Gameplay is not super interesting but it's fun to sail around. Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]