Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

ENTANGLEMENT

by mtrc - Jam Entry

A game about quantum connections.

It's another uneventful day at The Factory, sorting crates into order and making sure not to open a hole in reality. Nothing makes crate-sorting easier than the ability to connect two objects together on other planes of reality!

Solve a series of Sokoban-like puzzles with a twist, and entangle your way through your working day.

CONTROLS

At the menu screen, press M to enable the music (disabled by default in case it annoys anyone!)

WASD + Arrow Keys - Move around
R - Restart Level
Mouse Click - Entangle an object (some levels)

DEVELOPMENT

Made in 48 hours but missed the first day of the compo.
HaxeFlixel + Pixen + Bosca Ceoil. All art and sound assets
made during the jam. Hope you enjoy it!

Some fun mechanics but I didn't quite have enough time to extend them
into a longer level set. I hope you enjoy what's there.

MORE FROM ME!

Online - www.cutgar.net & cutgarnetgames.itch.io
Twitter - @mtrc & @cutgarnetgames

UPDATE - Fixed a couple of crucial bugs that caused levels to be unsolvable in rare situations. Flash version fixed currently, desktop versions incoming.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#61Innovation(Jam)3.80
#91Overall(Jam)3.73
#99Fun(Jam)3.59
#182Theme(Jam)3.58
#255Humor(Jam)2.73
#259Mood(Jam)3.32
#392Graphics(Jam)3.37
#476Audio(Jam)2.81

Comments

Razoric says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Really enjoyed the entangle mechanic!

mlabarca says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:56am

This was amazing!! I really loved those puzzles and the entangle mechanic. It would have been nice if it was introduced earlier.

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:47am

Good game! Simple and fun!

ncannasse says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:07am

Was quite nice, although I found there are too many possibilities for movement. BTW I also made a puzzle game, you might want to try it ;)

sprawl says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:05pm

I really enjoyed the entangle, it's a simple mechanic with great possibilities for puzzling. The art and sound were good and fit together well.

Great job !

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Pretty good idea with the mechanic, im not a fan of puzzle games but i enjoyed this.

Stepwise says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Fun game! I also got absolutely stumped in the level with the three switches in series with so many possibilities. I guess perhaps for a full-release you might consider implementing restrictions on when entanglement can happen and for which blocks? Great feel and game otherwise.

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Awesome mechanics, I've seen a handful of really great takes on the classic box moving mechanic and they've all been really ingenious!

NuSan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Nice puzzle, I like that you introduce new elements along the levels. It's not too hard, but you still have to discover and learn the rules. A music could give you an even better mood !

LaFleur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Fantastic! Very well put together puzzles! Great job!

FlashRocks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Very nice! Would have liked to have seen more audio, but good for 48 hours :P

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Really cool puzzle game with clever mechanics, good job! :)

stvr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Interesting mechanic! Things get pretty tricky, fast.

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Nice twist, and good difficulty curve (which is rare here). Good job

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Fantastic!! It's really addictive.

Draknek says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:56am

6 & 7 hours since accident seem a lot less focused/elegant than they could be. 8 is good.

9 has an extra crate and a really basic solution? It works to introduce the new mechanic but it's not as focused as the earlier introductory levels.

I kinda want you to be unable to entangle a crate while it's under a laser wall. (Mechanics interacting in interesting ways and all that)

10 it's really weird how pushing an entangled crate off a conveyor belt, it moves due to the push and then moves due to the conveyor belt (which it's no longer on). Should be the other way round or the conveyor belt shouldn't apply.

0 Weird how I can get the crate on the button and then rush to the door

8 hours since last accident was the most interesting puzzle. More like that!

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:10am

Neat concept, great art and audio! Very challenging puzzles though :P

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:29am

Fantastic game and very neat.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Awesome game! Great mechanic, cool art style and fun level design.

Mase says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:05am

The puzzle designs are very pleasant. The "accident" was amusing.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Hi there. Nice idea, like the user selected entanglement/disentangle, particularly clever idea. Nice minimal use of sound. Bookmarked for a relook later. Good job!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:56pm

nice :)

grayhaze says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:22pm

I really enjoyed this, even though I got completely stuck after a few levels. That says more about my ability to solve these puzzles than your ability to make them though! Really well designed and executed. I could see this being made into a full game. :)

Pavel says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Funny and interesting logical game. Well done

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:11pm

That's a really cool puzzle mechanic. Would've loved to see more, but it was still a good length (particularly considering this is LD).

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:52am

I loved how you managed to make block-pushing puzzles feel new with a simple mechanic. Difficulty seemed to spike after a few puzzles, but overall I liked the level design. Great job!

Yword says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Interesting puzzles and challenging levels! Well done!

Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Very nice idea, the entanglement felt like something quite innovative for a box puzzler game

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]