Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Titania

by Incredible Ape - Jam Entry

PL̡E̴AS͞E ͢H̢ELP̴
.
̛S͝HE ̶WO̴N'̡T ́ST̵OP

UN̵TIL I̧ ̢A͘M GON͝E̸

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#34Audio(Jam)4.04
#44Mood(Jam)3.98
#74Overall(Jam)3.78
#123Graphics(Jam)4.10
#143Humor(Jam)3.17
#202Innovation(Jam)3.38
#230Fun(Jam)3.30
#429Theme(Jam)3.06
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

H1S2 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:25am

Very Cool graphics. unfortunately a little buggy. the game died several times.

creative630 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:39am

Looks and sounds great!

YAYitsAndrew says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:00am

I saw the credits but thought it was just another trick, and as far as I can tell there's no more story? I have some theories but the point probably went over my head.

Great engine, graphics, sound, and theme. With more time I think you can achieve your goals with this game so please keep working on it!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:31am

Not bad. Concept looking interesting.
But in my opinion "worlds" should have more differences.

Aleph0 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:44am

Really nice concept, graphics and sounds. Probably one of the best ideas related to the theme.

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:57pm

I loved that game ! (a bit scary at one time xD) game look like an endless day but there is no real difference between worlds.

TinyHat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:50pm

I really enjoyed what I could play! The graphics are simply yet really appealing to a retrogaming fan such as myself! Please consider fixing the bugs in the near future, I'd like to give it another go :)

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Excellent. Definitely wanted there to be more.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:55pm

WOW! this is amazing! the music, the graphics, EVERYTHING just spot on! great work guys :)

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Wow! Incredible work! I hope you flesh it out a little more because I was definitely hungry for more content at the end :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Very interesting innovation but dangerous! Almost all the people think that the game keeps crashing again and again, you have to be patient to understand the real reason of "glitches"

Aske says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Really cool little game :) but it crashed on me a bit times :(

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Weird but nice :)

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Dang, that's seriously intense, weird, and fantastic! You almost got me to quit a few times early on but I hung in there, hah. Excellent work!

coleott says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:33pm

[SPOILERS] High-concept! I *loved* the music in the final run. From a gameplay perspective I would've appreciated a little more variation between "loops." Things start to heighten nicely at the end, but IMO you could afford to tighten up the progression by getting rid of a loop or two. I also think that, while the subtlety's admirable, the game could use a "hint" that the glitching's intentional after the first crash (which is the most important to register, since it's the one that'll probably turn people away), like the title/logo screen things you introduce later. Anyways, I dug it, and I really like the use of the theme. Most other games have taken it very literally or shown two worlds, whereas this one simply hints at another "world" and implies that the weirdness in the one the player experiences in the physical world is all tied to a conflict and cover-up in the digital one.

tbamberg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Bugged out on me a few times, but otherwise a solid effort :)

stvr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:28am

Really neat, love the creepiness, a bit anti-climactic though.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:00am

This game was great. It reminded me of The Stanley Parable because of how many times you have to replay it.

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:35am

Really good game. The graphics are superb and everything is really polished up. I also enjoyed the music and the way the game flows.

Slowly increasing creepiness in space it's always a win by my book :D

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Hi there. Nice character design/animation. Nice tutorial/simple approach. Crashed out after going through 3rd or 4th door to right (on Chrome/W8.1) Nice sounds well integrated. Good job!

Managore says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:44am

When the glitching was so well done that people legitimately think the game has crashed, that's when you know you've done a good job.

Oh and very nice art, very nice music, very nice storytelling!

AlbertoSM says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Very nice platformer, loved the on-going story, the glitch effect and the music! I don't see any connection to the theme though, nor do I see some sort of resolution. Hopefully you'll do a postmortem!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:49am

Fantastic!

Dohan says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:43am

Really nice entry! It's weird a lot of people seems to think the glitch is a real thing, lol.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Great mood, nice graphics and audio. Pretty meager though with content.. I really wanted to see that next room!

klianc09 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Ok, I'm not really sure what the game is trying to tell me, but I like the idea. For a short time I was afraid that you would try to do a jump-scare... So, really great atmosphere without a doubt.
Besides that I liked the artstyle and the controls were really fluid, I just wished I could influence the 'story' with my actions (except if that's the case, and I just did not realize it)

DrCicero says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 12:04am

BUG: the game crashes, when you want to enter the fifth room - at least it restarted immediately...

nice game ;)

Draknek says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:28am

The credits are very abrupt, I can't tell if that's actually the end of the game or if I missed something.

sephyka says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:57am

Perfect graphics, as good as a good Megaman game.
Very good audio. The gameplay is pretty simple but good.
What a pity the game crashed all the time... I wasn't able to go away. :'(

Yword says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Wow, the idea is very unique and interesting! And it is very polished! Well done!

Sep 13, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Wow. Very polished, very cool narrative, the glitchy things were creative. I'm not really sure what to think about the story besides that it was good, but I think knowing that the theme is "connected worlds" helps me understand a little more of what happened. The music was awesome, the controls and gameplay were very smooth, and you had enough of the game each play through to do interesting things with but not enough to get annoying to replay over and over.

One of my favorites, easily.

skiddings says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Cool concept! I want to know more

alpha_rat says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 2:41pm

I really like the way this game answers to the theme!
The graphics and music are grat, the narrative is original and very well conveyed.
The first crashes are interesting, they left me wondering about if it was a real bug or not, and after multiple restarts I didn't felt annoyed, but curious to get to the end of it.

Great job !

iluvalar says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 5:38am

Spoiler Alert. If you didn't fund the good ending yet, consider to stop reading now.

I'm not the creator so there might be another ending I'm missing but I played the whole game 3 times and I think I finally figured out the goal of this game. If you see the credit screen. This mean the maintenance is finished and the sentient bug trapped inside the computer was deleted and since you are in a world that can be rebooted, that might be you actualy...

Imo, to get the "good" ending, you must start the game when the music is changed the last time, but you must never cross the ledge outside your room where the AI tell you it fixed the bug. You can enjoy your room and jump all around. Hey ! it's better then getting deleted and the sound track is nice.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]