Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A (dis)connected world...

by royvanrijn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This Ludum Dare (#30) I've created another point-n-click adventure. I've been drawing like a maniac but still managed to find time to include sound effects and music.

Good luck with the adventure/puzzles, if you need advice go back to the desk to get a hint.

p.s. The baby stayed where it was during the competition (in the womb). Hopefully I've got some time to play other LD games before my wife goes into labour. This LD was horrible with two pending deadlines!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#22Humor4.00
#86Mood3.70
#96Audio3.63
#107Graphics3.98
#115Fun3.68
#116Overall3.75
#323Theme3.56
#855Innovation2.77

Comments

WesleyJohnson says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:35am

Loved it!

Morosaurus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:24am

That was nice and easy, the Mythbusters were random and funny, good job being able to do something like this given the circumstances

DJWizardCop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:00am

Impressive scope for a 48 hour game.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:02am

That was very entertaining! I really wanted to kill that fly... maybe the flyswatter can be released as DLC. Loved the art and music.

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:02am

Very good presentation! Loved the wacky humor and puzzles - reminded me of old adventure games.

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:07am

I've stored and uploaded all the original hand drawings, they are in the source directory:
https://github.com/royvanrijn/royvanrijn.github.io/tree/master/images/photos
(some stuff wasn't used)

The most surprising thing was making the lion's 'roar' with the microphone and some Audacity effects, turned out much better than I suspected.

Mr.Cassels says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:08am

wow! loved it!
got stuck eventually, but I am going to revisit it again and again until I figure it out!

Perjoka says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:25am

i like it!

bladderbloat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:12am

A point and click that's awesome in 48 hours? You, sir, rock all night long!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:44am

amazing

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:22am

This is beyond good work!
Like the style, looks like 12 oz Mouse!

Amazingly good!

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Interesting story :)

OmegaVesko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Ooh, I remember seeing this in #ludumdare. Looks nice.

gardenhead says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Really good! I love the details!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Pretty cool adventure game, nice to see a point and click game. Cool art style and this was pretty funny entry.

Artamus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Nice game, congrats!

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Very funny, beautifull and nicely done, ROAAAAR!!! XD One of the best :)

Steve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Great!
Nice art style.

Music and sound could've been a little more quiet.

Many of the puzzles are a little too straight forward but..

Given the time frame, it's very nice.

luismb55 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Making a complete point-and-click adventure is great accomplishment. Congratulations!

The only thing I'd ask for is being able to "fast travel" double-clicking on an arrow of a location already visited.

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Steve: Easy puzzles

I've had complains last time people couldn't find stuff, that is was too hard. This is a very hard thing to balance. I'd rather have it a bit too easy so people can finish, like and rate it ;-)

luismb55: Fast travel, nice, I'll add that to the engine for another compo!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Very short, but quite enjoyable and very funny. Especially the butcher.

dylanigan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Really good, well done

TranceTip says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Great game. Love the music!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:07am

Very funny, was fun to play the sneak previews as you developed it too!

Really came together in the end and feels polished and complete. Its easy to underestimate the effort and code and artwork behind it all.

Super :D

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Wow, a pointNclick in 48hours, it's quite rare.
The whole hand drawing style is great, and I found the puzzles well designed.
Maybe some more visual enhancement for clickable objects in order to avoid the "move the mouse everywhere to find what to click", but it's just a comfort issue.

Appocket says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Haha really fun game!!!

uberscientist says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Great! loved it. With enough oxidizer anything can be rocket fuel I guess lol

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Yeah! A salami rocket! Did they add too much preservatives?

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Really impressive! Really thankful for the hints at the desk, don't think I would have finished without them

wombatica says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:53pm

fantastic! loved it. Great art and humor, 10/10

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:16pm

About the salami rocket; that was an actual confirmed Mythbusters myth

arhpositive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Finished it! Wonderful drawings, I loved the style. Overall it's a wonderful entry in such a short time frame. :)

Eli says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Awesome game and music. Planning to finish it right now :)

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:50am

About the salami rocket; that was an actual confirmed Mythbusters myth

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:15am

Whoa! Really love this old-school hand drawn style game! Nice!

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Very impressive adventure with espeacial mood! Love all aspect of the game.

rnlf says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Of course! Salami! What else would provide a similar thrust per weight ratio!

Nice drawing, cute story!

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:28pm

hahaha EPIC SALAMI! nice short wrapped-up adventure, well done!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:17pm

That was a lot of fun, and really well done

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:19pm

I loved this game, the music, and SALAMI!!! (Even though it would have been more obvious to steal fuel from the car).

5T4MP5 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Enjoyed the art and general mood of the game. Got stuck after a bit, but I'll probably come back to check on what I am missing. Well done.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Hi there. Love the artwork and the music. Solved some of the puzzles - not the fuel. Nice pacing. Good job!

Oxeren says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:11am

Loved the music :)

Jhelle says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Nice graphics and very impressive to be able to create this in 48 hours. Great job!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Really nice graphics and story! I included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ljAqElzAd_Q

Sep 12, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Yeah, a point & click ! I must say this is a very...unique entry XD.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]