Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Treasure Transferral

by frogalicious - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Aaaarrrr!! You need protect your treasure chest from other invading pirates by putting it into a safe on a nearby island. However you'd drown if you tried to swim across holding your treasure chest. Build bridges to across to other islands whilst dodging cannon fire in order to get your treasure safe!

Controls

Movement - Arrow Keys

Add Block - Space

Destroy Block - Mouse Click

Pick Up/ Drop Chest - Space

Collect Wood - Move near to tree



Made in HTML5 using Phaser.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#354Humor2.67
#734Innovation2.92
#859Audio2.09
#929Mood2.53
#934Fun2.60
#979Theme2.54
#1055Graphics2.24
#1128Overall2.46
#1542Coolness41%

Comments

matthewj234 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:15am

Good concept, but I couldnt pick up the chest on the web version.

Njord says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:16am

I like the idea but was unable to pick up the chest :(. +1 for pirates though !

frogalicious says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:30am

Hmm it works on my local server. I've reuploaded the same files and I think it's okay now. Thank you for you for your feedback!!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:32am

Looks really cool but I couldn't controls stopped working,:/

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:38am

Ohh this was fun.
Island fun!

technocf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:25pm

There is a good game idea here but the creation of the game could have been executed better.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:26pm

I can collect wood but I can not build the bridge. I could pick up the treasure chest though.

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:28pm

cool main character

exoticorn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Great idea. The add block controls felt a bit unresponsive. I couldn't really figure out how to build anything but a straight bridge. (Your screenshot hint at building more interesting structures...)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Nice idea, I could imagine such a game to be very fun indeed. Unfortunately it doesn't work that well as the controls seem very unresponsive. Often the character just doesn't build blocks, although I collected wood. And once the crate was bombed into the ground and I couldn't pick it up anymore.
However, certainly a nice concept.

About the graphics: You don't even need to spend much time and effort, but I believe the visuals could be improved greatly within just 30 or so minutes. Things such as a color transition on the background, a simple layer of clouds, even slightly more interesting textures. You know, that stupid 80/20 rule - 20% of the effort suffice to get 80% of the desired effect. Not always true, but in this case certainly! :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Hi there. Unfortunately does not work on Chrome/W8.1 Not rated

Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Indeed, nice concept, but the controls were a bit funny. Sometimes I could pick up the chest, sometimes not.

Retr0spectrum says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Good concept, but very buggy. I couldn't pick up the chest on the second level.

Retr0spectrum says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:53pm

The collision detection seems off, I kept going through solid blocks. Nice terrain destruction mechanic though.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Cool and unique concept. Great job!

Larzan says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:35pm

I couldn't pick up the chest either, but nice idea :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]