Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Break-Vaders

by NukeTheBunnys - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Breakout + Space Invaders.

Killing an Invader spawns a block on the breakout filed. Killing a block on the breakout field spawns and Invader. Getting hit by a bullet or letting the ball hit the back plate makes the score multiplayer drop. If it goes lower then 0.0 you lose (there is no lose screen so it just exits)

WASD to move and space to fire for space inviaders. Left and right arrows to control breakout

Windows only for now (xp will not work either)

I cheated in that the font is downloaded. Other then that its strict compo rules. Box2D + SFML + Some random c++ code I had lying around

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#232Humor2.93
#436Innovation3.31
#475Theme3.36
#731Overall3.04
#806Mood2.71
#830Fun2.72
#878Graphics2.58
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

SpringPowered says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:23pm

I really liked the idea! Connecting the worlds of two different games together is pretty clever.
It would be cool if:
1) The space invader ship could only move horizontally (and generally have that area behave like space invaders)
2) The breakout pad and the ship would be in the middle
That way you can keep an eye on both games more easily.

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Neat idea! I remember playing a similar game with breakout and tetris. A bit difficult to play; your eyes have to be constantly looking at the other half of the screen. Might have been easier if the paddle and ship have the same movement keys.

Maek says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:02pm

LOL. For 1 player is it really hard, but maybe fine for 2 players. Window is a little bit to big for my Laptop. No Bugs, well done!

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Atari and taito connected.... almost as fun as shakira and myself! !! Seriously, not very original but well done.

Capitals says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:17pm

This really fits the theme well, It is surprisingly hard to easily to do well. It would be nice if it had a failure screen.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:56pm

A little too difficult to control, but otherwise good. With SpringPowered's suggestions this game would be even better! Maybe you should think about doing an Android port, perhaps using the accelerometer for one of the games.

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:19am

I got a "Computer missing OpenAL32.dll error when trying to run it. All other games have ran fine though, so who knows.

sorle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:22am

The game always shouts down after a while. does it mean i lost?

DJWizardCop says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:12am

Haha, you and I had very similar ideas! Similar game names as well.

I really like the way you've combined the two games.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:21am

Clever gameplay! Tetris is one of my favorite old school games! Solid entry! Good luck!

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:02am

I couldn't get it to work on my windows VM... but the concept is awesome.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Yeah, it's kinda hard to control. At least I can't focus on them both at once when theyre this far apart. Interesting use of the theme though.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Razoric says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Great idea and clever take on the theme.

arhpositive says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Decent game but really tough to keep eyes on both screens. Had fun playing it. It can be improved in so many ways, including visuals and audio.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]