Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Summoner

by someone - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Very incomplete, I should really give myself more than twelve hours for these things.

Concept: You are an apprentice summoner who just cant control your summoned creatures. You can travel to various worlds by means of a handy portal spell to try to gain experience and explore the vastness of the multiverse.

Arrow keys to move, click to summon creature, space to teleport to a different world.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#875Innovation2.75
#891Theme2.71
#925Humor1.58
#965Graphics2.43
#1008Audio1.19
#1090Mood2.00
#1101Fun2.25
#1184Overall2.27

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Hi. I like the combat model - running around leaving a trail of monster (and me) hating creatures. That's one tiny character sprite! Good job overall!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:04am

Thanks for putting up even in the state its in.

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:16am

Not bad at all for 12 hours :)

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:27pm

The spawning is a fun concept

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Good start for 12 hours!
Try to finish it... :-)

Glaydur says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Nice. I really like the concept of this.

ambi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Cool idea. I had fun with the game. If it was developed further, it could be like cross dimensional Pokemon.

Xanjos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:49pm

It's a shame that this is incomplete because based on what I've played so far, this already has a lot of potential. Also I find it slightly amusing that sometimes your summoned creature will turn on you (unless that's actually a bug of some sort).

oranebeast says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:36am

The controls are quite awkward, but the graphics go nicely together, Well done. Its also quite fun to have the monsters battle them selves. Could make some good PvP monster arena game.

Rehacked says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:38am

good game and idea

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:41am

Buen trabajo! Not that bad for 12 hours, actually the opposite! You have a working gameplay, several worlds, different enemies and you can summon monsters to fight for you. And as a bonus, you can exit the map too! Well done, keep it up and next ludum dare take more time!

Sunflower says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:35am

Cool concept, you really should have given yourself more than 12 hours to execute that. ^^"
It's particularly interesting how the creatures can attack the player, the opponent, or each other, and I'm pretty sure that's intentional.

I'd really like to know how the connected worlds mechanic would be exploited here, though; sure there are different monsters in different worlds, but I'd like that mechanic to be used in a more creative way, where world switching opens other possibilities than just exploration of other worlds, or something...

Wevel says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:10pm

So far so good.

bytegrove says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Interesting gameplay idea, I think it could be very interesting should you choose to pursuit it further.
Nice work for 12 hours, especially for what you actually coded but never used, heh. :P

AtkinsSJ says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Even without much of a goal, spawning little creatures is fun. :)

local minimum says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:23pm

It is a good start. I really like the idea of having a weapon that will also hurt you. That could definitely be explored with some more hours of devtime. Death didn't reset the game for me, but I suppose that might not be news. The graphics were nice, though I would have favored a more zoomed in view.

skiddings says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:45am

Could become a fun game.

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Crazy game %)

JonathanG says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:01pm

It is odd that the creatures that you spawn attack the player too, but oh well :) The character sprite reminds me of C&C

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]