Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Nodes of Jucia

by pirate-rob - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game where you jump between worlds, fighting enemies along the way. Endless Fighting sorta. Made for Local co-op

Controls can be mapped. In case it isn't obvious, to switch weapons/passives, use interact key.

You can also rebind keys by clicking on "Player #"

If you can't figure out what all the passives do, read the readme ^^ Weapons are fairly obvious in what they do.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#237Graphics3.64
#354Humor2.67
#375Audio3.00
#402Overall3.35
#588Mood2.95
#633Fun2.96
#708Theme3.04
#713Innovation2.96
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:12am

The pixel art is comfortably polished, I like it :) Only the menu could be a bit improved.

kadybat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:15am

Instead of linking to your download as "Web," you should link to it as Windows, as it links to an .exe download and I went to the link thinking it'd be a browser based game (as Web implies). Hope to see a Mac port, I'd love to try your game it looks fun!

64Mega says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:50am

Nicely done! Had a good bit of fun with this one. Died a few times, got pretty far.
Hope you continue to polish it after this!

pirate-rob says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:58am

@Kabybat
Oh gosh, sorry, That completely slipped my mind. I thought the first download option thingy was default windows *derp*
@ViliX
Yeah, the menu was kinda rushed.
@Mega
Thanks ^^

Jvdo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:05am

Great graphics and enjoyable gameplay. Not as innovative as some of the other games, but enjoyable non the less.

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:06am

Wow! This game is amazing :) I love the art and gameplay! Keep it up :D

x1212 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:04pm

nice game but complicated to control with a german keyboard (z is were the y on a normal keyboards is)

dunin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:05pm

fun game. I like the diversity of ennemies. Some explanations about the objects when we take it will be great.

pirate-rob says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:26pm

@x1212 You can rebind keys by clicking on "Player 1" in the menu
@Dunin There's some explanations in the readme of passives, I didn't have time to make in-game ones :/

defacid says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Very solid 8/10 for the jam from this one! The gameplay was varied enough to be fun, though I wish there was some way to tell what some of the items were or what their function was... I still don't know what a couple of the items did or how some of the weapons differed from each other besides the sprites.

I think the music and the title screen were the lowest points of the game, but they still did their jobs successfully!

Great job, man! I played a few times, and I almost quit on the first stage because I kept dying, but I stuck through and got to the 3rd (I think) Ice Stage.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:43am

You put a lot of energy into 48 hrs! Wow! So many different monsters. Good game :)

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:44am

This game has a delightful visual style.

granut100 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:54am

Fun game and nice art! It was local co-op which is cool my friends could play it with me ;)

Sunflower says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Decent entry, though a bit too difficult for me; I reached the third world at most, and then got slaughtered by various boomerangs and other shooty things. >.<

Endurion says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:25am

Nice! Not too innovative, but interesting. Although all the items are rather confusing without known what is what. I'll chalk that down to 48 hours though.

pirate-rob says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:05pm

@Endurion
Yeah, I left passive descriptions in the readme, no time to implement item descriptors.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]