Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dreams or Reality: The Adventure

by GibTreaty - Jam Entry

A slime that lives to dream and dreams to live. He seeks out things in reality to aid him in his dreams, which will cost him his courage (literally). How will this slime get his courage back? Find out in

Dreams or Reality: The Adventure
...


Controls:
Movement - WASD/Arrow keys
Attack - Left Mouse Button or Left Control (Unity defaults.. yea I know...)

Contains mild amounts of looting (wanted to add more but there wasn't enough time).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#224Humor(Jam)2.82
#341Graphics(Jam)3.48
#443Audio(Jam)2.89
#452Theme(Jam)3.03
#496Mood(Jam)2.88
#560Fun(Jam)2.72
#594Overall(Jam)2.90
#608Innovation(Jam)2.59
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

TeamOnBack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Love the slim animation , music is good a well. nice work overall. You can change the input for unity by going to Edit->Preferences->Input

MidgeS says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:26pm

A well made little Prototype :)
Would have got more points in mood and graphics if you had visualy distinguished the real and dream worlds more.
The really short playtime worked in favour for the fun. If it was going to be longer there must be to the gameplay.

Overall a decent game :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Wow I loved your take on the theme! Wish I had thought of that...

GibTreaty says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:49am

-Added fog in the Dream levels
-Added a stat panel for each weapon in the weapon selection area
-Added enemies in Real Level 2
-Adjusted how enemies attack

ajopart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:40am

Cuuuuute !
Nice graphics and sound.
You should maybe add an animation to tell when the player hurts the enemies.

torcado194 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:17am

nice little game! very small but its pretty charming

Squidtank says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:58pm

The slimes are so cute! I love the concept! My suggestion would be to add an enemy attack animation or visual.

esayitch says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Was there music here O.o? Some of the other people are saying yes but I didn't hear anything. Maybe problem with my laptop? I left audio unrated.

I liked the duality of the worlds and how what you in one affects the other. I wish it would have expressed itself more in the actual mechanics too, but this is pretty ok.

Grahpics were pretty cute and stylish :)

GibTreaty says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:46am

Thanks for your comments!

@esayitch Yes there's music. I've made its volume lower than that of the slime's moving sound so you can actually hear it over the music. You may need to turn up the volume.

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Nice models and texture work!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Hi there. Nice idea with option selection as levels using same mechanics. Needs more levels. Like the graphics and sound. Good job!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:12am

A nice concept but it really needs more levels.

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:24pm

I like the idea of going to a dream world for gathering up courage points to then tackle real-world challenges. Wish there were more content! :)

ra4king says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:34pm

The cutest little things! Impressive game, but I wish there were more levels!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Pretty decent, if a bit short...

GibTreaty says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 1:29am

Sorry about the lack of content, the ideas all started coming together a bit late. I got the main idea nearly right off the bat but it was going to be an FPS at first. FPS games tend to require bigger levels so I scrapped that. I chose a smaller type of game but with the same game mechanics. The problem was that happened probably 10-12 hours into the jam so I didn't have near as much time as I needed to put everything together AND make levels.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]