Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

SUMMER SURFER

by pnkthrepwood - 48 Hour Compo Entry

All the surfers on the world connected!

Be the surfest surfer on the world in this summer surfing game.

__Controls:
* STEER UP: W, UpArrow
* STEER DOWN: S, DownArrow
* SURF: Space


__Special Controls:
* YEAH: Surf in front of a rock
* FLIP CLOCK: DOWN - UP - DOWN - SURF
* FLIP CCLOCK: UP - DOWN - UP - SURF


__Connected Hi-Score of the World:
http://vgafib.upc.es:3101/summsurf/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#460Graphics3.22
#585Fun3.00
#709Overall3.06
#775Audio2.25
#1156Innovation2.00
#1199Theme1.41
#1948Coolness22%

Comments

Fonserbc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Nice graphics

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:08pm

That is nice... cool summer game. Like the artwork. We have very simmilar gameplay in our game... maybe you should have a look to my game too... Goood Job!

SgtGorm says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Like the game, nice pixel graphics however don't see how this fits in with the theme

Maek says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Cool game, but I dont know how it has to do something with the theme...

crazyrems says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Simple to play, hard to master. Maybe a bit too simplistic.

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Nice game, pretty cute and happy take on a rather common game mechanic. Well polished and great work on the highscores! Not a good take on the theme though, very far fetched I think.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Nice pixel art, but I don't see any use of the theme here.

pnkthrepwood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:58pm

It seems that it doesn't fit with the theme very well, but thanks for playing and all the comments guys!

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:13am

That was pretty fun! It'd feel better if the hitbox was a little more forgiving so you crash when your board hits something instead of anywhere on your character.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:05am

Neat game for 48 hours. Like the surf theme.

hypp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Nice game, and fun, but I don't understand who it connects to the theme?

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Hi there. Like the idea, especially the online highscores, good to get that done! Graphics good. Found death a bit easy to come by... a slightly slow scroll speed to start would be good! Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]