Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Omnis

by bytegrove - Jam Entry

Destroy the evil deity by hindering its worshippers to pray to it. Only by severing their connection to it may you succeed.
-------------------------------------------------------------
Playable with keyboard or gamepad.
The camera system is sadly not intuitive yet: Center camera when standing still by holding space (Y on gamepad).
-------------------------------------------------------------
The gameplay became a little too challenging, but it is beatable. Your "reward" at the end is a short little cutscene(walk up to the deity when it has no mana). ;)
-------------------------------------------------------------
Source: https://github.com/jarllarsson/ld30

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#72Graphics(Jam)4.27
#147Overall(Jam)3.58
#171Mood(Jam)3.52
#210Humor(Jam)2.89
#282Fun(Jam)3.21
#330Innovation(Jam)3.13
#345Audio(Jam)3.16
#496Theme(Jam)2.90

Comments

Follett says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:13am

Incredible art style! I do kinda feel like the worshippers take a little to long to kill, which essentially makes the game into a bit of a grind.

But that art style is so exceptional. Cant believe this was made in 72 hours.

kblaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:15am

Wow! Hard to believe this was made in 72hrs.

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:56am

I can't believe how incredible this looks. Best-looking game so far.
The only thing I felt kinda off is that the enemies take too much time to kill and that there are stairs where you literally can't walk through without getting hit by the boss's beams.

iSamurai says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:44am

It looks great! But could you export it to mac or web version too? I really want to play it but I don't have access to windows machine. Thanks!

Robinerd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:05am

First game I actually give a rating in the Humor category! 5* there as well as the graphics!

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:46am

Pretty interesting game, I really like the retro gfx ;D.
(works under Wine)

bytegrove says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:33am

Hi, thanks for all the nice feedback! :)
I've added additional builds. Please note(!) that I made a small update for the main menu: I fixed a GUI scaling bug in the main menu that messed up the info text and buttons, in the web build especially. Hope that's ok.

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:28pm

I really love the mix of retro graphics and 3D. Great job!

Erkberg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Cool game, I really liked the retro graphics. Gameplay was fun too, but a little too hard for me. Maybe add checkpoints or health drops, so more players might see the end?

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:06pm

I didn't get very far. :P

I think the enemies are hard at the moment because it's pretty impossible to dodge them successfully and without any way to get your health back up. Maybe the enemies' attack could take a bit of time before it hits you so you have time to dodge? right now the best strategy I could find was to just spam them with sword swings which is kind of uninteresting.

One thing I thought of also is maybe make the energy orbs (?) the eye shoots only fire when worshipers are bowing in the current area. So that you have some direct incentive to get them away from the obelisk. Right now if I hadn't read the instructions I wouldn't know that I'm supposed to attack them.

Anyways, cool game as always! :D

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:40pm

niice, I didn't make it far but I'll try to finish it later. I loved the mood and the graphics and the interpretation of the theme is very intresting as well

iSamurai says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:22am

I like the arts and settings in the game. The game is interesting to play too. Nice job!

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Really liked the art style, and the ability to cut grass. ;P
Good job. :)

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:42pm

I like the art style and the general concept. I feel like something's off with the sword, it feels as if I'm missing a lot of my swings when they can clearly hit. Either something's off with the hitbox, or the enemies have a long invincibility period. There also seems to be a gap between when I hit with the sword and when they react. Because of that, it made it hard to close in, deal damage, and escape safely. I haven't beaten the game yet, and the wall of difficulty right at the start makes it prohibitive to keep trying.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:15pm

awesome mood all around, the characters actually worked great!

Oli says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Wow excellent graphics! The game was too difficult because we can't dodge or regain health.

lightsoda says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:09pm

I like the look.

The character seems to default to left when not pointing in a direction, i.e. I couldn't spam the sword to the right without holding right.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Thanks for all the feedback! For post-compo version I was thinking of implementing the potion mechanic which I never got around to in the jam submission. I was thinking of letting the player find potions which can be used to replenish hearts, OR to bribe the worshippers to quit worshipping. ^^
I'll also look into some of the combat issues mentioned.
Thanks for playing! :)

Simplexcity says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:57pm

WOW AWESOME!
loved the music and graphics, the 3D worked pretty well with the pixel graphics too and the controller also worked well.
One of my favorites

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Hi there. Interesting looking setting. Like the attack animation. The golden fire from on high - or whatever it was - is also a great effect. This could develop into a really cool RPG-like. Good job!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:33pm

My god it looks good ! I really dig this art style.

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Incredible art direction on this one. I really like the praying ones animation and the look on the evil deity, looming ll over you at all times. Superb work!

LandoSystems says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:49am

Great game, very nice aesthetic!

SoulGame says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Nice! My turn to wonder how you managed to make that 3D world happens in such a few days :) Smart implementation of the theme also. I like the way the camera is set, it gives a fresh look for an adventure/platform/action, but it doesn't help the clarity of combats and it's not super convenient when there is a hole behind the corner! Do you plan to work long term on this game?

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:46pm

I love the aesthetics here. I actually only played this because I recognized the little blue guys from a post I saw. That said, do I have to kill all the little blue dudes? Cause I really like them. I was hoping to only slay the wrong-doers.

pikkpoiss says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Very atmospheric! Like others have said it could use some tuning with the amount of hits needed to kill each enemy, but really nice for 72 hours.

bytegrove says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:24pm

@SoulGame:
Haha, thanks! ;) I'm not sure I'm going to work long term on it, but I'm going to at least make a post compo version based on the feedback I'm getting now as well as to implement what I didn't have time for during the jam! :)

@Nooner Bear:
My goal was to have a no-kill way of completing the game(read my previous post on the bribing system). But I didn't manage to implement it on time. My goal is to implement it in a post compo version.

:)

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:44pm

I really liked the idea of the game. I feel that the game was a little bit hard though. At first I tried a hit and run strategy on the worshippers but it took too long and I often got hit. Eventually my strategy was just to continuously hit without moving behind a pillar which seemed to do the trick. There is also one ramp where no matter what you do, you will get hit by those giant ball thingies. Anyways, I beat the game and time went by really fast. Good job!

pusheax says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Cool game. I love aesthetics. Can you include game sources?

PixlWalkr says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Nice 2d and 3d graphics mix. fun game!

Aomeas says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:59pm

The graphics are wonderful but the audio gave me nuts after a while.
Maybe too hard, when I finally managed to have only two dudes left, I fell off a cliff, and that was it for me. ^_^"

bytegrove says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:58pm

@pusheax: Added src to description now! :)

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Except strange looking graphics, I think this is a great entry. Wish you would add more variety to gameplay, it might get boring to kill worshippers after a while. Still, it made me feel the tension.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:57pm

I adore the weirdness of the world and I think it's great. Controls might do well with a tad bit of refining but other then that, really great.

DragonInstall says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Looks great. Kinda hard though.

skiddings says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Argh its so frustrating that I kept getting killed by the fire balls while moving slowly up the ramp!
But it does have that 'Just one more play' factor.

tbam says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:09am

Great game. Looks awesome, sounds are gratifying. Only complaint is the difficulty is a little high.

Jaloko says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:24am

Amazing game! Nice.

egos says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:24am

i love the art style , original but the gameplay isnt polished at all unfortunetly because its a good entry

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:29am

I'ts got a fantastic look, the sound is great, and it's got a lot of "pull" to its style. However, it is a bit too hard to make it anywhere, and the camera angles make it worse. I'm also not exactly sure what I want to do to win: do I kill the worshipers, or do I disrupt their prayers somehow?

I once pressed "space" at the beginning and the camera turned to the left, I had to walk off a cliff and try again.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:39am

Is this 2.5D? Looks cool. I like it.

radmars says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:00am

Cool concept but really hard, it's like it gets a lot harder when you're not doing well which is rough. Having the offscreen/further away enemies move more slowly to the statues might help in that regard. Also I wish I could get hearts from chopping the grass :P

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:02am

+overall +graphics

Damn blighters are damn hard to kill! I always got whacked by fireballs in the end anyway.

I found the mouse to fight and keys to move a bit hard going; would be nice if there was an action key on the keyboard, but I couldn't find one.

A simple third-person camera would be cool.

Fantastic graphics :)

ndebruyn says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:17am

Very good game.
Love it.

AkirAssasin says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:43am

It seems like the worshippers are wearing some tough armor...

ClownAround says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:11am

This game is awesome! The graphics are superb. Great style. I love how you can cut the grass zelda-style! Great game.

sephyka says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:20am

Awesome entry, one of my favorite.
I love the mood, the graphics (very original), the world you have created... perfect!

AlbertoSM says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Really nice art direction! Game is hard, since you have to avoid a lot of things, enemies, bombs, etc. The audio can get a little overwhelming too, specially the "explosion" sound when the enemies die.

Clavus says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Very well designed! Very polished look and nice art style.

SaintHeiser says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:27am

Very laggy game. Stuck in the stone and was killed...
But idea has potential, I think.

spotco says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:08am

Really really love the look!

Manou says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 2:54pm

A bit hard, but good work nonetheless, reminds me of Sacrifice by Shiny.

bytegrove says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Thanks for all the feedback! I feel a little bad for giving you all such a hard time though.. :I
Has anyone else experienced lag, and if so was it the framerate that was choppy or the pacing of the game?

Macocco says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:06am

Looks great! Way too hard for me! Enemies should take fewerhits and drop health sometimes. Interesting use of the theme. Audio is acceptable.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:54am

Great aesthetics! Really like what you did there, you kinda went into the same direction as we did xD

jahmaican says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:50am

I love the 2.5D-ish art style, graphics-wise I think it's one of the best out there. Nice concept too! A bit too difficult though, but still fun to play!

hb3p8 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Cool game, but a bit difficult. Great Job!

plash says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:41am

Cool style. Not enough rupees.

Few criticisms:

- This is frustratingly difficult, even with a controller. Apart from staying away from worshiper attack, I feel that the player attack is what makes it most frustrating. It's hard to direct the attack, especially while trying to stay away from aggro.

- Camera angle on the left path is too occluded; it's easy to fall off of the path.

(P.S. The .tar.gz repackage for us Linux people is much appreciated.)

pythong says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:27am

i like killing religious fanatics!

Sep 12, 2014 @ 1:54pm

The camera isn't always optimal but it's fun and the game looks pretty =).

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Good game! I loved the graphics and animations! I wished the player could move faster though.

Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:57am

what an amazing graphical style!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]