Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shards

by eolhing - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi !

Shards is a platformer with synchronized controls over multiple connected worlds !

I made this game using :
- Haxe : http://www.haxe.org
- H3D (Rendering and Input) : https://github.com/ncannasse/h3d
- Box2D (Physics) : http://box2d.org
- Howler (Sound) : http://goldfirestudios.com/blog/10
I created the assets using Photoshop, Photofiltre Studio, Imitone, Ableton Live, Blender, 3DS Max.

Please play, comment and rate the game ! ;)

Controls :
Arrows : Move and Jump
[R] : Restart level

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#353Audio3.05
#562Theme3.25
#641Innovation3.05
#642Fun2.95
#642Mood2.88
#688Graphics2.90
#724Overall3.05
#2075Coolness14%

Comments

kidando says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:54am

Not a bad concept you got there

Snuux says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:34am

Haxe is awesome! And game is super! Art is good. Gameplay not untique, but I like this type. Thanks!

malf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:06pm

The game is funny but I somehow find the jump "short" :D

Well done!

juakob says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Greate game! the gameplay idea is not new but you manage to add a new twist by grabing diferent peaces in order.

Saphyre1306 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:20am

Nice game, man !

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Clever concept. I like how the crystals move between worlds as you reach them. The backgrounds look nice too.

tanjent says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:06pm

I really dig the 3D look and the cooperation that is sequenced ... solid entry!

zillix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:49am

great work! I liked the art style you went with. I wish that I respawned more quickly after dying... I died a lot!

ncannasse says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Quite good overall. Some things that could be improved:
- controls are not perfect, the jump is too fast making it hard to control
- the levels are a bit long so you need a lot of retries before finishing one, while having several smaller levels would work better
- sometimes one of the two "shards" get stuck on the ground, not sure why

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Hi there. Like the idea, some of the implementation is a bit unpolished, the physics on the jumping/moving needs a bit of attention. I think the collecting parts from one half then the other is clever. Good job!

damrem says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:20am

Good job!

PapyGaragos says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:34pm

The controls feel a bit off, and sometime one (or both) character would just stop moving and I had to mash my keys to unstuck it...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]