Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

BlastAR!

by mr.possoms - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Reveal the unseen baddies of a hidden world using your trusty iOS device, then blast them into smithereens!

BlastAR is a simple augmented reality shooting game where enemies spawn all around you. To play, simply start the app and hold the device in front of you. Tap on the screen to begin, and to fire. If you are killed, tap the screen again to restart.

Since this is an iOS app, you will need to clone the repository below and build it from source. You will need a copy of Xcode 5.1.1 to build it correctly. Then, simply deploy to your device.

I've only tested this on an iPad air, so please let me know if you have issues with other iOS devices running iOS 7.1.

Tools used:
Programming: Objective-c
Graphics: OpenGL ES
Sound: OpenAL

Cheers!
@mrpossoms

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#638Overall3.13
#1836Coolness28%

Comments

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:00am

The web link points to a youtube video.

mr.possoms says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Sorry, I relabeled it appropriately.

Skills641 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:56pm

not a game.

mr.possoms says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:05pm

You need to download the source and run it on an iOS device. Apple doesn't allow you to build an app and share it freely :(

MacGeekPro says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Cool concept and excellent use of existing technology!

mr.possoms says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Thanks man! :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Lookin' good! To bad about the distribution difficulties.

FXCesinha says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Awesome, i think augmented reality propose exactly the connected world. I really wanted to play it, but i don't have a IOS device (yet) :(

mr.possoms says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:37am

Thanks guys! Yeah the limited access part of it kind of sucks. Anyway, thanks for taking a look at it!

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:41am

Very cool implementation of the theme :D

mr.possoms says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Thanks dude :D

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:30pm

I see what you did there. Very interesting idea to use augmented reality as theme interpretation, unfortunately I'm unable to play unless you port to android

mr.possoms says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:18pm

I would like to port it at some point. But since I wrote it from scratch in objective-c, very little, if any of this code would be transferable to android. It would essentially be a full rewrite. :(

jomomomo says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Neat!

whalebot says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:52pm

First augmented reality game I've seen for a ludum dare entry. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]