Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 30

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Salt Pleeease - ponk - Jam Entry

The Salt Pleeease is a puzzle game about exchanging condiments.

Explanations post : http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/08/26/explanations-post/

May have bugs, project needs further developpment and polishing.

Made it in Html5 with Pixi.js

[if you resize window -> refresh page]

<3 Ludum Dare

View ponk's journal. | View all entries by ponk

Ratings

Coolness100%
#4Innovation(Jam)4.49
#36Graphics(Jam)4.46
#43Fun(Jam)3.81
#47Humor(Jam)3.76
#47Overall(Jam)3.94
#113Mood(Jam)3.68
#514Theme(Jam)2.85
#648Audio(Jam)1.55

Comments

Nylonica says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:25am

Love the art style.

ClownAround says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:34am

The idea behind is is fantastic. Great art. Levels were fun. Didn't notice any bugs. Great concept. Bravo!

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:40am

This is the most innovative/interesting game I've seen this Ludum Dare! And I really like the art.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:41am

Really awesome. The art was (obviously) incredible, but the puzzle was creative and a more subtle take on the theme. The only thing I would suggest is more user feedback for progressing through levels. The first level felt long, and it was hard to keep track of who already got their salt so I wasn't sure how many more I had to do. Other than that this was really awesome!

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:49am

Interesting mechanic, cool art style! Feels like it could be a bit faster paced somehow, though

scottyb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:04am

this is super cute and addicting!!!! but I'm not sure I get the theme.

Hexadecima1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:07am

I wrote a poem about this for Poems About Games! http://poemsaboutgames.tumblr.com/post/95791067297/the-salt-pleeease

Mase says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:11am

The gameplay is appealing but it could use some variety after a couple of minutes. Some penalties for reckless grabbing might make it more contemplative and challenging. I do like the apparent lack of a time limit however.

The drawings are charming and very nicely integrated.

Marjie62 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:12am

Awesome! Couldn't pick up a salt shaker at one point, though.

Kuupu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:13am

I think I can play for hours!! Art is clean and charming!! I found no bug for now!! Really fantastic!
CONGRATULATIONS!

(I want to draw that well one day!)
- Kaol (Carolina Porfirio)

NRathbone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:41am

You have provided valuable insight into how my family eats dinner. 4.5/5

Simon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:26am

Even though it's a bit light on the theme it's a very fresh experience, I loved it! And the art is a perfect fit as well as a beautiful style.

Kinta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Great idea and execution, enjoyed this a lot!

ponk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:23pm

:) ! ... :) !!

Thhaankkk yyooOOoouuu for the lovable comments...!

@Hexadecima1 : HhhhhhHHhhhhhh..hhHHh....!!! Awesome ! That's very nice.

After I finish my breakfast, I'll made a post about the interpretation of theme and futur updates (including your remarks about game speed, feedbacks and challenges)

Thank you again for the compliments ! :)

Sheepolution says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:46pm

This makes me feel uneasy. The smiles, the long arms, really creepy. The game is funny, innovative and is tougher than it looks. Good job!

cudabear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:28pm

This is a really well designed puzzle game! It's intriguing and allows for many different kinds of puzzles, but is a little easy. I think some sort of time limit would make it much more tense!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Super creative game, Innovation 5 starts!

brookman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:37pm

This is art, well done!

graebor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Really clever puzzle game, nice artwork too. I enjoy how simple the controls are (basically takes 2 seconds to learn how to play) but there's still a lot you can do, especially with a complicated table. A little weak on the theme, perhaps, but super creative nonetheless.

Kyoutashan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Strange game, I got surprised in a good way by the concept.
The art style is special but it shows great skills.
Congratulations

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Omg this is awesome !

hypp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Excellent, great idea. Well done!

Frankus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Fun game! Would play this to pass the time. Simple yet addicting game. Amazing job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Unique art style married to interesting (if not very puzzly) game play. Definitely cool. My only gripe is it's not particularly on-theme, but that could be fixed easily enough. (Ethnic diversity between the people would make the theme more obvious, I think.)

Doubstract says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:18pm

It's brilliant!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Hey there. That is one WEIRD game you made... First with mechanics that made me laugh. Very Monty Python/Terry Gilliamesq. Great job!

Xanjos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Sadly lacking some sound but this was a very fun puzzle game and I absolutely loved the hand-drawn art style.

slumber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:27pm

great art style, funny and creepy at the same time and really fit the gameplay. great job!

Simplexcity says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:03am

really wanted to play this one but it wouldnt load for me. it looks awesoome from the screenshots

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:59am

Thank you all ! :) ! I will play your games as soon as I can.

@Simplexcity : Oh-ho! What browser do you have ? I've tested the game on firefox 31.0 and chrome 36.0

ChrisGaudino says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Very cool and original. Awesome art style.

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:29pm

The art style is definitely unique, and I like how the simple inputs lead to very complex movements across the level.

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Amazing concept and setting.
Art style is very fitting and the whole thing works very well. This entry really has character to it. Great job.

egos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:20pm

really nice concept and well polished.
I like specialy the art style

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:12am

That's so clever!

gnerkus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:13am

The art style is beautiful. This is the most innovative game I've tested (in LD30).

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:00am

Love art, this game should be evil in multiplayer I think :) Congrats!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Such a beautiful looking game, the hand drawn style works so well. The puzzle aspect is also a nice interpretation of the theme.

nosfer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Nice art style and original concept!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:47pm

I really enjoyed playing this game! Artwork style is very original and interesting! Great job!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:21pm

that's an awesome concpet :D
the idea is simply excellent and the puzzles are very nice, great work!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:19pm

HAHAHA, great idea, nice execution, awesome job :)

spolsh says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:39pm

I've never saw such puzzle game before. Nice graphics. Like how table gets cluttered after some time!

deepnight says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:11pm

That's one of the most original entry I've seen in this LD :) It takes a few minutes to get used to the controls, but once you get it, it's incredbly fun to play, well done!

The graphics are great too: the only disturbing thing was that lady with the long hairs and the looong hairy arms. Creepy.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Nice hand-drawn graphics and quite cool mechanics. Getting chaotic quite quickly.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Really innovative, and with lovely graphics. Reminded me a bit of Tetra in a way, but the gameplay is way different and probably funnier.

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Only one I give 5 star on innovation. This is something else. Congrats!

ponk says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Thank you very much!!

@deepnight Oh-ho! I guess it's the consequence of too much random generation. (But hairy girls exist!)
I'm working on new characters more unique.

I will post something soon :) !

ruerob says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Now I never ask for salt anymore, because if I do so everything will be thrown from the desk. Thank you for your game.

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Original game. Like the art style. Very interesting game. GG!!!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:47am

HAhahahah!
This game makes my day =)
Really fuuny and humourus one. Also liked the game mechanic.
Good job!

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:33am

Oh that really nice! 5 of 5 , very original game.
I like art and conception.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:59am

Love the art and the concept was both original and really well executed. Great entry!

wallmasterr says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:13pm

like the art, and the idea is realy unique , Realy lied when u had to cooperate to get the salt to the right people. and the rediculusly long arms were funny

skiddings says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Great idea for a puzzle game!

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:33am

Really cool style and concept! Plus, they are all left-handed! What could I ask more?
(it just doesn't fit the theme really well but it doesn't matter too much.)

goerp says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:07pm

What a lovely game!
Charming graphics and a original game concept.

Some more sound would have been nice, but this is better than bad sound.
I would have liked a bit more visual feedback when someone's got what he/she wants. Maybe a bit speedier.
Other than that great!

Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Art is great. Gameplay is nice but does not involve a lot of challenge. How about a timed mode?

Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Very nice art and interesting mecanics, too bad it's really not connected to the theme.

jerombd says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Not very difficult one time you understand how it works, but it's a very fun interpretation of the theme! And the graphics are great too!
You can add challenge if you forbid to move the plates (all of them, or only few ones maybe).

Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:18pm

This game really steps out. Great job.

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:00am

Really clever gameplay : I loved it :) !

RawboSaurX says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 11:38am

Really original concept for puzzle game. Never seen anything quite like it before. Thought the difficulty was a little low in the beginning, but it actually got pretty challenging after a few levels. Not sure how it connects with the theme, tough. Anyways, great work, man!

lucashoward says ...
Sep 23, 2014 @ 10:23am

asddddddddddddddd

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]