Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Willy The Triangle

by coolo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The evil rectangles have seperated the world into three
parallel dimensions. The only one who can save the world
is Willy The Triangle.

BUT! The evil rectangles have captured him in order to
prevent Willy The Triangle to undo their actions.

Help him to escape the secret hideout of the evil rectangles!

Move Willy with the arrow keys (Left/Right, Up). Avoid
the evil rectangles (they are evil!).
Switching dimensions is done with the W and S keys. Reach
the end in every dimension in order to save Willy!

Try to collect the perks (Freeze, Invincibility, High Jump).
They either freeze time, make Willy invincible or allow
Willy to jump higher - AWESOME!

Features
- 3 Parallel dimensions
- Awesome jump'n run engine
- Evil rectangles!
- Nice triangles.
- No multiplayer
- Most beautiful 3D graphics the world has ever seen
- Three different perks: High jump, Invincibility, time freeze

Tools used:
- Programming: GLBasic
- 2D Graphics: Paint.NET / PS
- 3D Graphics: Milkshape 3D
- Maps: Notepad++
- Calc.exe

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#173Humor3.10
#295Theme3.60
#428Innovation3.32
#524Fun3.08
#554Audio2.72
#598Graphics3.04
#618Overall3.15
#642Mood2.88
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Wow what a nice perspective. Nice platformer... the collision is a little bit weired but it runs good on my old computer. Very challenging game

keddelzz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:39am

Cool game, Sounds fit great!

ponk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Pretty cool concept!

howkj1 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:10pm

The music got to me after about 30 seconds. It was neat to switch between the planes/worlds, but was kinda hard to see at such a tilted view.

banana4life says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Crashes during time freeze :/ Mac OS/X

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Good job!

rhaasken says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Pretty fun game. The 3rd dimension was so hard though. I liked the music at first, but then it got pretty repetitive and distracting, so I muted it. Cool take on the theme. I appreciate that you put the instructions in the game itself.

Ramiel says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Cool idea. But the third dimension was too hard for me. ;)

Sep 11, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Nice drawings! :P

Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Very nice game! Good job.

Kojan says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Really nice game, the graphics were really great, maybe a little bit too challenging.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 9:09pm

I like the idea of this game. The third dimension is very difficult. Controls were pretty smooth for me. Good job!

DarkCart says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Good job, interesting perspective.

Posva says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Having different dimensions like that is cool, the only problem is that you cannot control very well what you're doing :P

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]