Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Switchboard Connection

by Scott Baker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Connecting peoples worlds, the old-fashioned way. Play as a telephone switchboard operator, connecting calls as they come in. Listen to the calls and connect them to their desired number. But don't forget to disconnect them when they turn red, or you will run out of available connectors.

Incoming calls will flash yellow. When they do, pick up a red connector peg and plug it into the yellow flashing call. Then pick up the second red connector peg and plug it into their desired call location.

The first level is easy, but it gets a little crazy after that. I also added a little humor to the calls, try to find them all. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#60Innovation4.00
#122Humor3.27
#189Theme3.75
#514Overall3.25
#530Mood3.02
#633Fun2.96
#706Audio2.41
#757Graphics2.79

Comments

Elforama says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:54am

A little tricky but fun. Nice job.

breadstix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:06am

I love the idea. Very challenging and I enjoyed playing. Great job!

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:27pm

I noticed that the Windows download doesn't include the asset files. Whoopsies! The web and OSX versions work just fine. Can anyone comment if I update the file, does that void the compo rules?

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Very creative!
It's difficult and boring, but I guess that this work is difficult and boring so Great Mood!
I really impressive with the use of theme

dhargan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:38pm

very good idea! controls are kind of confusing tho, you can see which slots you need to put but you can mess up which cord was going to match.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:44pm

@hoyt hoy, Never before have I had a compliment of one of my games that included "difficult and boring". That's hilarious. Thanks for the comments guys.

donut345 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:17pm

good concept, i think it would be pretty addicting on mobile...though seems the controls are a bit unresponsive and sometimes pegs disappear.. also i had to play the game then read the rules to understand. an interactive tutorial would be useful here and i normally hate those

tbamberg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Cool idea, it gets a little hectic without getting a ton more fun after the first few levels. Maybe giving the wires different colors would help?

cstudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:19pm

This is a good idea, but the controls ruined it. Make it run on tablets, improve graphics, make some basic story (like papers please) and you got a sure hit.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:33pm

@cstudios, that's funny, Papers Please was an inspiration here. Definitely more could be added, but not inside 48 hours.

Ellian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Well that was a nice and original idea. Kudos!

danidre14 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:49am

Kinda tricky, but fun, and of course, I is winner! :3

mclewis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:12am

Seems like a great idea, but it was pretty confusing figuring out what to do.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:15am

Fun and very hectic! Nice work!

Raphy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Nice concept, and funny. Kindda too hard for me though

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Can't play it..I click on start and nothing happen..I litterally also tried every single button on my keyboard to make the game start but nothing

ShivaFang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Scott Baker - at the bottom of the screen there's a "PORTS" heading. Since the Windows version was not the first version uploaded I think it's considered a port of the original. I'm pretty sure it'd be allowed for you to re-upload it with the missing files.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:35pm

@ShivaFang, thanks, I will check that out.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:38pm

@elkiwydev, I verified that the game is still working on all of my test browsers. Can you let me know what browser and what operating system you are using?

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:15pm

A nice simple mechanic, well done! Surprisingly more challenging than I expected.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Incredible.. it's the game more.. strange...that I ever played.. but it works!! good job!

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:13am

I actually find it quite fun and I played it for a little while. It reminded me of papers please because the stories of people behind it. It gets really hard in the third level though. The clicking slightly not responsive, would be nice to fix that up. Otherwise, nice job!

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:46am

Great idea, would have been interesting to have random events like broken pegs or the like.

GreaseMonkey says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:08am

@Scott Baker: From what I gather it's completely fine to upload the Windows build.

Please, fix the Windows build. Us Wine users rely on a standalone .exe that actually works, as the Web Player is the biggest pain in the arse to actually get working.

GreaseMonkey says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:08am

Gah, I mean update, not upload.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:24am

@GreaseMonkey, OK I will update. But the OSX version works fine if you want to use something other than Wine.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Needs more consistent controls and also what moomoo112 said and it would be great. I'm not sure if I beat it or not but it seemed to go back to the first level after level 3(?). Funny idea and decent execution, too bad I didn't have time to read all they had to say, I just picked the numbers and ignored the rest. A "busy office" sort of background "music" would've added a lot!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

smizmeal says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:14am

Good use of the theme. It would be fun if you could connect the wrong people or eavesdrop on their conversations :)

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:58am

Good way to use the theme. Nice and simple game. Kinda hard at first. GG!

micahcowan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:47am

Fun and challenging! And I love your interpretation of the theme, very original.

At some point it would let me pick up pegs, but not connect them anymore. Not sure what happened. I lost obviously.

esayitch says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:28am

Pretty cool concept, I liked it even though I messed up my first try badly. I would suggest to maybe make the incoming calls flash clearer, I am in a high-lighting area now and it was very difficult to see the yellow flashes.

Aside from that, good entry :D

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:25am

Clever choice, I don't think I've seen this done before.

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:50am

I quite liked the concept and the graphics. If you were to improve it, I'd suggest showing the user more feedback about the UI actions that are possible. Sometimes the controls were in a weird state and I couldn't figure out how to get back on track. Great work, especially for a Compo entry!

Oli says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Very original!
It would be a great game on mobile if you make better controls (why not a drag'n'drop to connect wires?)

Good use of the theme.

Chris says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Kinda blown away that there are a few other switchboard games on here! Great job injecting humour through the actual calls, also helps to solidify the theme. I think a dragging mechanic rather than clicking fits the theme better, although it's certainly easier to play as it is. Not that it would be possible for LD48 anyway, but I'd love to see this with some good voice acting- some of the calls they get on the old AT&T archives (check youtube) are priceless.

Boberro says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:13am

I had to try few times, sometimes I couldn't connect free cord to the caller.

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:25am

Nice idea. Very stressful but fun! I liked all the funny dialogue.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:26pm

It was an interesting experiment to be the person behind the calls. I think graphics and sound could be better to support the good mechanic. You may consider adding a drag and drop rather than click and click again. Also I couldn't get that pegs were in couples at the beginning. They could be in different colors.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Hi guys, thanks for all the feedback. Definitely I wanted the game to support both click once and drag and drop. Best for mobile devices and it it intuitive. But 48 hours is not a lot of time. As for the colors, I think an attractive element of the game is the stress and confusion, and all the same colors adds to that.

SketchyGalore says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:06am

I really liked this! It's a clever, simple idea, well-presented, great sound effects, and the dialogue adds a bit more personality to everything!
I had some trouble clicking reliably (seems to be a problem I'm having with all Unity games in Chrome on multiple systems; not sure what that's about), but I downloaded the windows version and everything seemed fine!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Hi there. More fun that it looks at first sight, but tricky to keep concentration up. Good job!

bluesky says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:44pm

This is actually very entertaining, well done.

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Interesting game. I have no idea how I didn't fail the first level since I obviously had no clue what I was doing lol. After a bit I got the hang of it though.

tiff says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:04am

I really liked this, what a clever idea for the theme, well done!

Agecaf says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:19am

A very unique idea, really fit for the theme! It's also executed well enough; with dialogues giving enough variety.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]