Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Chaos Heart

by Matt Thorson - Jam Entry

If the game will not run, you need to install the XNA redistributable from here:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/download/details.aspx?id=27598

Works with XBox 360 controllers, or keyboard + mouse

By
Noel Berry
Amora Bettany
Ashly Burch
Pedro Medeiros
Matt Thorson

With sounds from freesfx.co.uk

Using
XNA Game Studio
Visual Studio
Reason
Audacity
Photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Audio(Jam)4.52
Fun(Jam)4.30
#7Overall(Jam)4.31
#10Graphics(Jam)4.67
#12Mood(Jam)4.24
#12Humor(Jam)4.23
#109Innovation(Jam)3.61
#272Theme(Jam)3.41
#2202Coolness0%

Comments

graebor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:08am

Really fun, cute aesthetic. Great job guys! :)

3CGames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:09am

Awesome game, I love it! The crazy ray from consuming a planet feels so good.

YAYitsAndrew says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:37am

Great theme and character.

Gameplay I think you could focus on making the basic attack more exciting when it connects with an enemy. The theme and animation are really fun on the basic attack. Maybe the game has some ricochet physics and batting an enemy splits him up and starts a chain reaction. Something like that to make each swing the start of something good.

The dash is disorienting because it drags the camera with it and the game wants me to stay focused on a fixed object. It feels good when jetting from planet to planet, though.

As already mentioned the crazy beam attack is a good reward. You keep playing for that moment.

Good job everyone!

rosa89n20 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:02am

This game is soooo crazy! but cute!! and that laughing lol~ I like it <3

Sestren says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:08am

The thing that made me laugh the most was how many digits there are for the score when each planet is worth only 1. Great music, sounds, and graphics, although the controls do feel a bit loose.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:39am

I loved everything about this game. The animations are gorgeous, the insane over the top beams of death are super satisfying, and the audio is very fitting and entertaining. The style reminds me of Adventure Time, which I also love. It was a bit difficult to get very far though, I wish you regained a bit of health from absorbing the energy of a planet.

Vidsneeze says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:41am

Fun game, gets really hard after the second world. he he

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:55am

damn, I love that art! Everything about this game felt clean, smooth, and overall extremely enjoyable to play. Great Job! :)

SirNightLord says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:30am

I'm receiving this message when I try to extract.
C:\Users\user\Downloads\ChaosHeart(1).zip: The archive is either in unknown format or damaged

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:03am

Absolutely love the animations and music! Best score was 5 :(

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:29am

You guys know what you are doing :)

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:19am

Really fun game! amazing sound and graphics! does not really fit the theme that much but man, this was good

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:06pm

I love this! It works with the theme, it looks and sounds amazing, and it is a lot of fun to play, too. Great entry!

rafaelfe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:07pm

God damn Windows-only games :(

runvs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Great graphics and sound!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Great game.

neipo13 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Game is dripping with charm. The main character is great, but I really enjoy the little touches even more. Some slowdown right before the laser. The final score counting down from millions to your score which (in my case) has been single digit. The portrait in the bottom corner's emotions and eventual change into a skeleton. Honestly the gameplay mechanic was simple and straightforward but the game was so charming I couldn't help but enjoy myself.

Aumni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:26pm

The game is simple but addicting and humorous. The art is amaaaazing. Well done!!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Graphics are great but I think the audio is what won me over. So many games forget how important sound is.

A team this talented is kind of cheating though.

YMM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Thanks for all the nice comments everyone :D we had a lot of fun making it

TautNerve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Great graphics and design! Awesome job on the
character especially! I love it that when the
timer reaches zero you go berserk with full
on laser destruction :) Controls were tight as well,
great job everybody

Lissar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:23am

Absolutely adored the main character and her facial expressions! Her voice was cute too.

Jupitron says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:53am

Amazing graphics! Very simple gameplay. Incredible sounds effects!

thiaguera says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Well done!

Kuupu says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:44pm

AWESOME GAME!
the way every feedback is given to the players is really good
the first sectiction is really great too, the way you make a tutorial without being a tutorial, is a kind of progression that even some commercial game don't have
someday we'll reach this level =D

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:37pm

I thought it was fantastically funny, and good looking, and joyous to play. I'm not particularly good at it, and I had to wonder whether the planets exploding was my mistake or my intention. Either way I'm having a great ride.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:11am

Wow this was a really awesome game. Would be nice to get some power-ups and health. I loved the huge score table at the end, and then I scored a 3 on the countdown. Nice touch. Awesome job.

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:17pm

I laughed so hard at the score screen. Very well designed all around; I can do nothing but echo the positive comments from above.

That moment you realize that *maybe* you aren't protecting these planets... D:

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Amazing art style and music. Really fun game. The voice of the character is hilarious. Well done guys!!!

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Game has his own style and climate. I would only add more puzzle to gameplay, after 4th planet I get bored. Highscore 4. Very good entry.

alvivar says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:20am

Very polish. Lovely sounds, awesome music. Superb.

mechabit says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:51pm

nice graphics, very cartoon network

Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Psstt... you are featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C4uYyKDjxG8

Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Super solid entry. Really polished, great art and fun to play. Satisfying to crack a planet and death ray everything in sight. Never gets old.

Jedi says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:06am

Damn, this is awesome! It's impossible not to have fun when you're character is destroying planets and laughing maniacally! This game taps into that zen kind of gameplay and always makes me when to play just once more ;)

My only two complaints are that it doesn't capture the mouse and the slow-motion effect kicks in just a smidge too soon.

Excellent everything!

Great job!

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:35am

Well, I don't know what to say really. That was just stunning... :) Everything about it was great. Amazing job guys.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:34pm

I was also reminded of Adventure Time while playing this, which is definitely a nice thing. I think YAYitsAndrew's comment about the basic attacking being made more satisfying is pretty spot on too.

Even though the gameplay is quite simple, I really liked playing it because of the overall mood. My best score was a grand total of... FIVE planets / points!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:42am

AHAHAHAH WELL DONE!
I laughed a lot! Love this crazy girl!
Also I like graphics, animations and all else!
10 of 5, really.

Kyatric says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:00pm

I must admit, the game's assets are very polished, but on the other hand, I really don't understand what is the point/goal of that game.

The WASD keyboard control is painful as usual on my AZERTY keyboard, so that always makes the games far less enjoyable than they should be.

There's indeed a lot of chaos going on, and I don't really understand what is the point. I also don't really see the connection to the theme.

There's a great production value on this jam entry, but the actual heart/core of the design appears as quite mysterious to me.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]