Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Annihilation

by TideS - Jam Entry

Our uncompleted game - feel free to give some advices about gameplay.
Controls: Mouse, right button to send units, left to select, middle mouse button to scroll

Programmers: TideS, ZeronSix
Music: TideS
Models: ZeronSix
Textures: Berg
Logo: Alexis63

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#270Audio(Jam)3.32
#284Graphics(Jam)3.60
#460Innovation(Jam)2.90
#494Mood(Jam)2.89
#611Overall(Jam)2.86
#611Theme(Jam)2.53
#670Fun(Jam)2.45
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

villhest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:30pm

I liked what I saw, but I was unable to move the ships. Cool graphics style though.

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Very enjoyable Game. It's a bit difficult to select and move units because the cursor detection seems to have issues.

holgk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Selecting units is sometimes difficult, especially on left bottom side.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Fun little game! Controls during battle can be a little fiddly though, sometimes part of the map won't highlight, indicators above each unit for how many moves they have left in a given turn would be really useful and it's hard to tell where planet tiles actually are due to the angle of the camera. Music is awesome, attack animations are awesome, background is really awesome :P

TideS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Thanks for your comments, yeah, there are some tile detection issues, i'm working on it now.

ZeronSix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Thanks for your comments! We didn't saw the problem with ships selection because we changed camera angle almost before the release and something went wrong.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Well, there are some technical issues I know you're awere of,but in terms of gameplay it's very intresting, I didn't have the chance to go further into it because of the problems with the camera, and some planets not being reachable, but I think you have potential for a good strategy game.

TideS says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Thanks but this build is fully playable, if you cant select unit just move camera closer to it and it should work. I remind: hold middle mouse button to move camera, left mouse click for selecting units and right for attack/move.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:00pm

ah, sorry
the wheel of my mouse is broken, so I didn't notice,
I'll try again with another mouse

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:25am

Its dificult make movements, but when you play any time its really funny!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Selecting ships was clunky, but once I got the hang of it, it was quite easy to get in to. Strategy was quite simplistic but it's a good foundation for building upon.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Hi there. Looks great, the unit selection and command didn't seem to work. Bottom left corner unit not selectable at all.

TideS says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:32pm

It fully works people

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Great game, cool graphics, nice music. Good job!

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Once you get the controls working it's fine ! But i didn't finished it because there was a bug i couldn't start the last planetary system...

Eela11 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:19am

The Web version is totally broken for some reason... In the web version you win at the first turn. But then I downloaded the windows version, and that one is actually pretty fun! awesome work!

TideS says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:08am

It seems that i'm and idiot and use ld30 folder for my webbuilds. Sorry.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:30pm

For some reason I can win all contested planets in just one move. And scan all the planets from the beginning. I am not sure I should be suposed to do that. Please fix this in a post-compo web version and add some constraints to make this game more challenging. The potential is there though, and I like the graphics and audio. Keep it up!

hbocao says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:57am

I missed instructions how the game was supposed to work. Nice 3D graphics and audio.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]