Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Crowded Street

by PTSnoop - 48 Hour Compo Entry

When walking through a crowded street, it's often easy to get the impression that each person lives in a world of their own. In this game, your aim is to bring some of these people together.

At the bottom of the screen, you'll see two people, that probably don't know each other at all. Your aim is to find a chain of links between them.

Mouse over a person to see people they know. Click on a person in a chain, then one of their friends, to link the friend onto the chain. Once you've got someone on one side that knows someone on the other, you can join them together, completing the chain - and earning you points. Shorter chains mean more points.

Try to complete as many chains within the two minute time limit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#205Innovation3.64
#215Theme3.72
#419Humor2.53
#534Graphics3.13
#619Mood2.90
#628Overall3.14
#749Fun2.83
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:46pm

The graphics are nice, I like the mechanics. Fun game

clofresh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Cute graphics. I like the concept of modeling peoples relationships too. I was actually trying to work that into another game I'm doing, where an RPG town's NPCs have dynamic relationships and change depending on what the player does in the game.

Norgg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:18pm

From the look of the screenshot and what I can see, I think the two people I'm meant to link together are actually off the bottom of the screen, is there a minimum resolution?

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Norgg: I've reuploaded the Windows version, with a second exe (CrowdedStreet_lowres.exe) that runs in 1024x600. Hopefully this'll fit on your screen!

ZirconCode says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:12am

Really cool idea, love the detail in the relationships, was fun to read. Fun gameplay =)

MalphasWats says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:26am

I really liked this one - I did struggle the first few times because I wasn't sure how to 'complete' the chain - I did it accidentally a few times until I finally worked it out. I think having some kind of visual representation of the link would help with that.

I didn't tend to read the descriptions much, which was a shame - perhaps the names could be coloured and the bubble around the person they refer to could match the colour or something like that. I ended up just using the bubbles and keeping my eyes on the dude that came up twice...

It was a cool idea though, different and looked nice.

Norgg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:03am

That worked, thanks! Nice mechanic and I like the interpretation of the theme, although the time limit means that you don't get much chance to stop and read the descriptions.

Yoni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:36am

Nice and original idea, though I didn't make it very far.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Good idea. When you select or connect, a little response from the game (like sound or animation) would be nice. However I liked innovative approach.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Cute game! Very original thinking on the concept. Good luck!

Dans17 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:57am

I love the idea! I would be interested in playing a more complex post-compo version.

bluemaroo3 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Fun game - I love the concept. I agree that the time limit means you don't get much chance to read the descriptions which is a shame.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:09pm

I got a score of 48, somehow! It is a good concept, but because of the time limit it feels more like a game of matching the people who get highlighted, rather than trying to work out their relationships.

Also sometimes the two people who walked to the bottom would already know each other, giving instant success.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]