Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

APOLLO

by graebor - Jam Entry

// Controls //
-- Click to interact with things.
-- Click and drag space to pan the camera.
-- Scroll or use the +/- keys to zoom.

// Objectives //
-- Collect all 4 artifacts
-- maintain energy cells
-- maintain shield battery

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#8Mood(Jam)4.27
#8Overall(Jam)4.29
#9Audio(Jam)4.33
#30Graphics(Jam)4.48
#36Theme(Jam)4.01
#65Fun(Jam)3.71
#72Innovation(Jam)3.74
#364Humor(Jam)2.46

Comments

TeamOnBack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Saw this game on the twitter feed for Ludum Dare , was pretty fun once you got the controls down. I like that even the simple capsules still work with the trail renderer behind it :P

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:28pm

amazing! beautiful game with great music and gameplay

bobrocks says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Wow, this looks great! Interesting gameplay, I'll definitely be playing more!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Hard but compelling. I had to have a few goes to get the hang of it & still only got 2 artefacts. It's a beautiful piece of work!

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Wow, this is really cool.

Extremely moody, and does not get boring because of the attention to details (quickly stating which solar systems were already scanned, nicely visualizing the distance to a scanned artifact, energy and shields being cheaper at liberated planets).
Very well crafted. And visually excellent as well.
Great entry.

holgk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Great graphic and sound work.

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Love this graphic. Hard but awesome.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Wow. This is impressive. Love the mood and the graphics and the sciFi-universe :)

CryoGenesis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Insane, really great work!

Headmade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Interesting concept and stylish graphics. Well done.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Very nice game, really good, with some more finishing touches on hud could be very even better.

Xgor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Amazing game, really relaxing yet engaging.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Graphics and sound are spectacular. Will be playing this one again for sure. Great job.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:26pm

So climatic, great soundtrack. Visually it's not my style but it has this si-fi vibe to it which I consider perfect in this place. Very nice entry!

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Didn't really understand how to liberate planets, (I guess by coming and going while repairing my shield) but really cool game regardless! Maybe some kind of planet artwork could pop up when the planet is highlighted to give each one its own flavor.

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:58pm

@uvwar - When you're on a besieged planet you have an option for [COMBAT]. Clicking it destroys the hostile, using up some of your energy, and the planet becomes liberated. Thanks for trying out the game :)

lkr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Wow - that was an amazing game!

Really loved the mood of the galaxy. It felt cold, harsh and unforgiving. Especially when travelling far, just barely having enough energy, only to not find an artifact thre.

But I did win in the end :)

ryguydavis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:41pm

This was absolutely phenomenal. I loved the polish and mood you were able to squeeze into the 72 hour limit. Great intro and ending as well. Some controls felt vaguely clunky, but that is to be expected for a LD game. Great, great work.

Matt Hartley says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Very pretty!

hirsch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:58pm

From the screenshots your game looks pretty, but unfortuanently Unity Web Player does not work with Linux. As far as i know Unity supports building for Linux. Maybe you want to provide one. I would definetly play your game ;)

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:05pm

@hirsch - Didn't know that about the web player. I've added a linux standalone build but have no way to test it. Let me know if it works ok!

Mali says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:12am

Game is really good! Solid feels nice, tight controls. Lots of polish and love has been put into it I can tell. I'm not too fond of the voice telling me that I'm low on energy, but its a tiny complaint. The rest was really good.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:36am

Wow! This is sooo cool *_*
Great mood, great audio and visuals. Awesome.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:37am

Wow - incredible entry. Almost makes me wish Bioware would steal this for future Mass Effect titles - or y'know, pay you for it ;)

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:10pm

This game is absolutely AMAZING!

0x0961h says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:25pm

I'm re-e-eally diggin' the graphics of this. Few simple shaders give awesome hi-tech/futuristic vibe. The gameplay is pretty awesome too (and well-balanced for the jam game!) Good job!

(I can confirm, that Linux version works. Tested on Ubuntu 14.04)

blurryroots says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:49pm

I find the atmosphere, especially the sound effects and music to be very immersive. I like the simple yet satisfying mechanics. Very enjoyable!
I had a hard time identifying the planets i visited though, because the grey and transparent font is hard to read with such a dark background.

orbitantlers says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Pretty enjoyable, nice work!

I would like to see a version with more graphic elements in place of text in the GUI. The sheer amount of text on screen at once makes navigation much less intuitive than it could be.

sputnik says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Very nice atmosphere. Superb UI and fluid control.

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:29pm

This is SO cool. I'd probably buy this for a tablet!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:41am

Well done. Cool mood and gameplay is pleasant ++

Split82 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:09am

Hell yes! My most favourite game from all I played so far. Just two thing which bothered me. I would love to see what I can do on a planet I visited already and the sound was a little bit distorted few times.

Lokiman says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:40am

Fuuuu.... this is amazing! It reminds me this one cool game - Nexus The Jupiter Incident which I played a lot :D

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Bah, ran out of everything looking for the last artifact. Nifty game! Good cycle of mechanics and excellent visuals! Like a sped up space adventure :D

TD5 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:04am

Extremely good audio, graphics and mood. Found it quite hard to balance all of the resources I needed, but I really enjoyed the game.

runvs says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:38am

Great Mood and nice gameplay! Sounds are really awesome

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:28am

The audio atmosphere is perfect, it really contributes to this oppressive feeling which, I felt, was coherent with space travel.

I found a bit destabilizing that systems rotate after each action even if it seems to be a fair solution for not loosing the players position each time.

ponk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Super nice game!
Cool blur effect on UI.
Great job !

Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:39am

Best space sim so far! Visuals and sounds are amazing!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:55am

So cool. Beautiful game. Everything you do gives nice feedback. And it's so addictive! Best I've played, really really awesome!

jpcote says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Good game, graphics are perfect ! Well done !

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:18pm

It's amazing that a nicely polished strategy game was done in so little time. Amazing work!

stasss says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:28am

Graphics is really really amazing amazing,currently the best i saw on ld30.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Hi there. Awesome looking game, plays really nicely. Particularly like the "wait" after travelling a long distance, then your ship flies into scanner... good scale setting there! Bookmarked for another look later. Very good job!

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Beautiful, extremely atmospheric. Thank you for keeping the rules simple. I definitely enjoyed my time with this game.

Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Great atmosphere (art and music are beautiful) ! Figuring out what to do is a bit tedious though...

Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:05pm

You are in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RhipFfkMzPI

jwin says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:57am

Very well done! It took me a while to understand how everything works, but it was quite fun after that.

Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:20pm

A true piece of art. Though one thing I say is that I found it a bit easy, being able to find all the artifacts with my first try. So if this gets developed further (and I sure hope so!) a little bit more complexity could be added. But for a Ludum Dare entry the amount of polish is mindblowing!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Cool game. I included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ljAqElzAd_Q

defacid says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Fits the theme perfectly and was extremely satisfying to play. Great job!

defacid says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Actually, I do have one major critique: Flesh this out and put it on Android or iOS so I can play more!

Jedi says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:18am

Wow! Excellent mood, audio, graphics and use of the theme! Gameplay got a little repetitive but I'm super impressed by how complete and polished this is!

recursor says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Wow this is really nice! From the graphics to the lovely mood-inducing music, you have something really cool going on here.

spartangeek says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:56pm

great game! I especially love the original and challenging gameplay

Jod says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:49pm

So.... pretty.....

Lovely and smooth gameplay.

oscarmbp says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Awesome game for just 72 hours...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]