Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Delightful Harmony

by pinkmonkeyhead - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my entry for LD30, Delightful Harmony

The game is about balancing the colors and rotations of the spheres to restore the harmony of the system

Made in 10 hours. I couldn't use the whole time for this LD, so that's why the game is shorter than it should be.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#71Innovation3.96
#138Audio3.51
#152Graphics3.85
#184Mood3.47
#310Theme3.58
#436Humor2.50
#454Overall3.30
#739Fun2.84

Comments

BlueSama says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:13am

Nice work! The design is very sleek, and the mechanics are smooth. Great job!

robbiehunt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:46am

I like the atmosphere. I like the aesthetics ... not sure I fully understood what I was doing. Slap a tutorial, does out the levels and get a voice actress ... I'd probably buy this!

BUT ... 10 hours? Holy carp! That's incredible. This is really impressive for 10 cod darn hours! Major major props :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Nice game, it Works pretty nice.

Jod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:20pm

I'm not sure I quite get what it does, but it is damn pretty! Superb design, great soundwork and crips voice. Well done!

Xgor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07pm

It took at bit to get used to the consept but when i got it I found it really fun, The levels when things was moving was really frustrating though.

theCoder15 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Love the art and the idea

caranha says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:50am

The game is very beautiful, loved that. The gameplay needs a bit of work, specially the collision detection of the "spinners"

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Hard to rate the unfinished game, now it is not very intuitive. The concept seems innovative though.

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Awesome art!

siat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:59pm

I am so confused. +1 to adding a tutorial. Liked the aesthetic, though!

Floko says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:01am

awesome work! the graphics are pretty nice , the mechanics are well done . They're just a little mean to people who don't see colors correctly D: hahah

Either way, nice game , I enjoyed it a lot =D

ruerob says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:35am

I like your game. I like the style and the music. Thank you for your game.

radmars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:57am

Wow, great concept! Pretty tough at times, it's hard to be intuitive about how to shift the colors when you can only move one at a time, especially when you have to use all 3. Maybe artists are better at this game :P Would be amazing with multitouch!

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:41am

Everything felt very sleek and visually pleasing. At the beginning of each level, I felt a bit helpless, but as soon as I started messing around, my brain subconsciously just figured out what to do. It was very cool.

I can understand what other said about wanting a tutorial, but to me, half the fun was figuring it out. Very nice job, especially for 10 hours.

EMAK says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:01pm

interesting concept. very polished sounds

FGM says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Very cool. It's a little tough though. Could be a little more lenient with the color matching.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:57am

Had a bit of trouble with some levels, quite nice though!

hbocao says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:40am

Nice art! Couldnt get past the rotating level =/
Nice game anyway! =D

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:42am

Clean visual design and great audio as well. Very unique mechanics too, though a little finicky, particularly the rotating bits. Excellent entry overall - the voiceover was a really nice touch!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:43am

Very polished! I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/NXgeb3Jk3nI

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Works well, looks beautiful and has a great minimalist look to it, but some of those puzzles are tough.

lorniebear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:30pm

I like the voice

Sunflower says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Pretty cool concept once you figure it out, but I couldn't complete the whole thing. I'd really like an indication whether what I've got is good enough or not yet (especially in regards to colours, that indeed could be more lenient). >.<

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Hi there. Nice toy you made... Got them up to the 3+2 level then ... confused. Nice music too. Good job!

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:42am

That was really awesome! Never seen a game play like that before. And the distance mechanic was very simple and easy to grasp. Would love to see more levels! :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:11am

Awesome results for 10 hours work. Graphics, audio, quite polished gameplay, ... even voice-over! Great job!

LeafThief says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:26am

I liked the style. It had something of a mandala :). Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]