Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Overlap

by moomoo112 - Jam Entry

Use the Left mouse button to interact.
[If the item doesn't change you can't interact with it. Try doing something else to see if that changes]
Use the Right mouse button to .. un-interact.
[ex. Drop keys and Close doors]
Type the word "HINT" during any task to receive a possibly helpful hint.
[You won't see anything being typed onscreen though]

Due to time constraints there are only 10 tasks.


---
Possible Apologies from the Developer:
>>This was compiled with Java 7, so you'll probably need that if you don't have it.
>>You may need to allow network access so the game can talk to itself. (*LOCALHOST only)
>>This game was only tested on Win7 (64bit). Should work on Linux or Apples though.
>>This game won't work on screens smaller than 1360x768.

If any of these apply: Sorry about the inconvenience.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#27Innovation(Jam)4.13
#143Theme(Jam)3.67
#186Overall(Jam)3.50
#205Humor(Jam)2.91
#295Mood(Jam)3.25
#308Fun(Jam)3.16
#641Graphics(Jam)2.68
#647Audio(Jam)1.56

Comments

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:39am

the download page gives me not found

rjhelms says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:44am

Getting a 404 here as well.

CoopNasty says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:49am

I can't play it! Every time I click the link it brings up this webpage!

http://imgur.com/eTFyQ5d

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:53am

Should be fixed, sorry.

BethhhB says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:56am

Running on OS X, and the download page seems correct, but the file is:
"Overlap_jar.rar.html"
Not quite sure what to do

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:15am

When I ran it I get a whole bunch of those random weird letters and symbols.

CoopNasty says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:26am

I got it all downloaded and opened just fine, but neither left nor right click did anything. I tried typing in hint on my keyboard but that didn't do anything either.

buckslice says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:33am

I got in running but input doesn't work for me either.

tommyboys0107 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:33am

I can play it, and window's movement is cool!

But I think that the mechanism is not obvious.
I am stuck in part 2, and don't know what to do.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:36am

At first I thought the game is broken, but when I got the first puzzle solved, I realised how intelligent puzzles this game have. Great job!

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:37am

Ok, changed it to a zip, and changed where it is hosted, hopefully that fixes things.
I'll get an answer sheet up soon in case anyone might need it.

Eli says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:38am

The idea is awesome! And a more detailed hint would be better.. I'm stuck :(

ruerob says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:48am

Nice game. You really think outside the box. haha.

jprogman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:48am

I think there's a bug in level 7. I got the key, but it won't unlock the door.

jprogman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:02am

Worse yet -- again at level 7, I believe the game crashed at the part that I did get the key. I've decided not to play anymore up to that point. It's a very interesting game, but the resolution required to play this is frustrating. Why does my screen need to go BEYOND 768 vertical pixels?
Some puzzles are just too tough for me not to use hints.

I need to mention this: I felt I've already seen a game like this before. I must have seen it on YouTube or something...

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Fixed a major issue where the game wasn't winnable on smaller screens, still not possible on screens under 1360x768 though, sorry

SeanWiles says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:39am

I didn't get very far before getting stuck. Cool concept.

Galan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:49am

Huh, that was a head scratcher. I'm surprised I beat it. That said, the concept and mechanics were rock solid. I'd love to see this expanded to a full game, if only a better hint were given as to what the game actually is.

TeamConn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:06am

I seem to be stuck on level 4. Anyways, cool game.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:42am

That's a super clever game... possibly too clever for me, thanks for posting the answers. Great work!

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:58am

Moving the game window itself, as the first answer implied, did not solve anything. I saw the other blanks, but this did not fill them up. I could not figure out the first puzzle. It's an interesting concept, but I can't figure it out.

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Um, it looks like the wrong fix got sent to the server..
My apologies, I'm not having much luck with hosting.

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:43am

Wow, really cool concept/mechanic!

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:56am

Amazing twist on the theme. Controlling both the windows can be a bit tedious, but it fantastic nonetheless.

bentog says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:45pm

I'm not a real fan of the mysterious impossible puzzles style, but I like the overlap thing. Still a great game for those who are into it, but I personally don't like [Spoiler Alert] having to search for morse code in a game.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Awesome. It blow my mind, good thing not literately. Super. Best implementation of the theme!!!!!!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Had some trouble getting it to work, but once I did, it was awesome. Felt like the game was breaking the 4th wall, definitely thinking outside of the box. Interesting take on the theme.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Very cool idea and concept, but I got stuck on the level that says use the key. I used the hint too, but didn't help!

You need to ease into it though, I feel many people just quit when they tried to do something on the window in the first window...

moi93101 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:33pm

The interaction with windows is awesome !

Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Very interesting mechanic! Great use of theme. More please.

Managore says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:50am

Oh wow, I am really freaking happy to see someone else explore this interpretation of the theme!! And the game is really excellent, too!!

Tosic says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:16am

Innovative idea, kinda reminds me of doors 100! :D

albertnez says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Very creative game and good concept of the theme.

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:59pm

That was really awesome! I love when games take an idea and push it to the limit, the puzzles were super inventive and really fun to work through! I really hope you keep going with this idea :D

JangoBrick says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 1:33am

What an awesome concept! Completely mind-blowing game. Great work. Wow.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]