Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Conversation

by arhpositive - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Important Notice: A game-breaking bug was fixed on Monday evening.

Hello there, visitor! Play the game and drop a comment below to ensure your game gets back a vote & comment from me.

My name is Arhan Bakan, and this is my third Ludum Dare entry.

THE STORY

"Conversation" is a game about a few characters and the ongoing conversations between them. "Connected Worlds" theme fits when conversations are considered as connections between two different characters.

HOW TO PLAY

Clicking and holding the left mouse button on a character starts a conversation with the closest character on the scene. This will be marked with a conversation line.

During a conversation characters will slowly get closer. You can also rotate both characters by moving your mouse left or right.

Releasing the mouse button will stop the conversation.

You will see some conversation topics (question marks) flying around.

Your GOAL is to collect these conversation topics with the conversation lines between characters.

Collecting a conversation topic with a conversation line will result in a successful conversation, the conversation line will turn green and the characters will stay still when they end that conversation. This will give you points.

Failing to collect a conversation topic means that characters will repel each other when they end that conversation. They will slowly back away from each other.

Characters crashing onto each other, characters crashing into other conversation lines or characters crashing into conversation topics will yield negative points.

Game ends when all but two characters go out of the screen and get removed from the game. This will rarely happen so you can say that the game has no clear goal or no clear end condition.

At its current state it's a very hard and imbalanced game, but try to enjoy it and don't forget to leave comments below!

Happy Ludum Dare voting, everyone!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#94Innovation3.91
#505Theme3.33
#576Audio2.69
#761Humor2.04
#788Mood2.73
#856Overall2.91
#950Fun2.58
#1123Graphics2.09

Comments

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:57am

The concept is great, but I've found a game breaking bug: When two planets collide, the game freezes. You must have some memory leak in there. Please fix it asap so other will be able to play your game :)
(You've got lot's of points for the concept)

Tovip says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:57am

I really like the concept but having a person float off the screen feel's like it makes the game too hard especially when the game is already pretty challenging.

arhpositive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:56am

ViliX, thanks a lot for noticing that bug. That's the punishment for submitting the last version in panic. I've restored the previous build via Dropbox, and while it has another bug, it's less lethal and the game is playable.

I'll fix the bug tonight when I get to home from work.

Tovip, I didn't really have the time to think about balance issues and your point is a good one. Planning on doing a post-compo version with some tweaks and fixes.

Lycaon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:48pm

While very interesting, the game sort of falls flat in its execution. I'm all for alternate ways of simulating conversation, but this one doesn't work all that well, at least in its current form. Controlling the little bastards got really frustrating, especially when all you want to do is get a link between two people going so you can catch a conversation topic but it just won't connect to the person that you want it to.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:50pm

I totally agree, this is a great concept! It was pretty hard but I still had fun playing it :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:31am

Cool idea, fun game and those people are cute. Good work!

MrP123 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:42am

Very interesting concept, but still needs a lot of balancing.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Excellent concept, a bit hard to control.

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Nice game, pretty simple and the graphics are... well simple :) And I've lost a couple of people during if I don't converse enough haha.

dvdking says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:07pm

controls are real hard, I couldn't quite figure out which planet connects to which

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Really nice idea. Once I got the hang of the controls it was quite fun and challenging.

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Cool concept, quite challenging once you get it.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:04pm

That's a really cool metaphor you used for the mechanic. Great job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Interesting concept, I'd love to play a more finished version, you should keep working on it!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Interesting take on the theme - fun to play, but a little bit difficult when the people float off, as someone else has said - and also it'd be nice to be able to choose which people are conversing.

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Nice idea! I like the mechanic of moving people by interaction in pairs.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:29am

Hi there. Novel idea you've got there. Found it fairly frustrating to control the characters, often ended up parallel to the direction of ideas drifting around and unable to steer pairs in time... so losing score as fast as gaining. Maybe runs a bit fast for thinking through how to catch all ? Good job with a new idea though!

Razoric says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Cool, novel mechanic. Would like to see it fleshed out more with added polish. Could be really neat.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Interesting take on the theme and nice gameplay concept. Well done!

granut100 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Interesting game!

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:40pm

It's an interesting idea, but i think it would benefit from having more clear goals. It would also help if rotating a pair of characters was a little faster... My basic idea here is that you could make the game feel more intense by making the characters react quickly to input and add one or two more characters into the mix so that the player has to manage more connections at once. Also, an idea might be to allow players to rotate connections with the arrow keys whenever they hold down the mouse button.

arhpositive says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Everyone, thank you so much for your comments!

So, in general, most of you think that the idea is cool and original, while gameplay could use a lot of improvement, along with more polish in graphics, sound effects and music.

I believe this idea has some potential to be converted into a mobile game. I see that a lot of you have put some suggestions on how to tweak the game in order to make it more appealing, and I thank you for that. I want to continue working on this game as soon as I find time to do so, and I'll take all the comments here into consideration.

Thanks again! Keep playing more Ludum Dare games!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Collecting conversation topics and making people talk is great idea. One of the best game games I've seen on matching the theme so far. Falls short on fun but overall it's good.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Interesting mechanic. The rotation seemed a bit slow. I feel like this may have potential for touch screens.

ploogle says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:38pm

After a couple minutes I got the hang of it. Very nice!

dylanwolf says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 1:57am

Neat concept, but the learning curve's a bit tough since there's a lot of variables to consider.

local minimum says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:16pm

I clearly don't rock at conversations, but that wasn't much news for me. Nice game. I managed to loose a lot and get negative scores, so I must have been missing some key features or I am to slow at the moment to have my attention divided between all the people drifting away.

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Simple yet innovative gameplay, and a nice take on the theme. As you said it's really hard to play and a bit frustrating, I guess it could use some more experimentation to find out how to make things more fun to play, but it really feels like you've found something new here. Congrats :)

Oh and also the music, while basic, really fits the mood of the game.

recursor says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Very interesting idea. It is just difficult enough at first to be challenging, and I did let one of the little guys run off screen. Perhaps if one gets close to the edge just subtract some points and make him stop or something. Anyway, I enjoyed it. Nice job

Sunflower says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Uhuh, quite confusing at first, it felt pretty slow once I got the hang of it. The fact that you can keep your characters on screen with little effort when you know how to go about it doesn't help, either. Ended with 114, probably could get more, but I just let the faces float away. >.<

suppi says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:12pm

interesting game! but the conversations felt kinda random and slow so my characters kept drawing apart :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]