Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Curmudgeon: The Quest For Spicy Booty

by drstik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have been sent on an epic quest to the New World in search of 4 exotic spices to please your hungry King's palate.

Sail your ship using either the W-A-S-D or arrow keys and bump into islands to explore them.

As some of you have noticed there isn't any sound in the game, as I decided to prioritize some last minute polishing and bug fixing. I've linked something for you to listen to while you play that will hopefully get you in the intended mood :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#135Graphics3.90
#263Humor2.85
#402Overall3.35
#477Fun3.13
#559Innovation3.15
#630Mood2.89
#808Theme2.87
#939Audio1.74

Comments

MCPGNZ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:34am

Pretty nice gime but i got stuck between islands. Graphic design is interesting :D

acehk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:37am

Wow, awesome visuals and atmosphere. Would have been nice if there was a little more interaction/choices... I felt like RNG slayed my party XD. But yeah, great job on the visuals, especially the UI.

kenrickrilee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:38am

Super pretty, peaceful, relaxing game :)

diamondgfx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:42am

Mood would have definitely been improved with some more audio; I couldn't hear anything at all. Game was fun (although I didn't realize for a bit that the food ticker was going down).

pinion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:44am

Great game!

Loved the writing and the little pop up flags.

I won but it was really close - most of my crew starved to death but then I found goat stew.

Brilliant!

Calciumtrice says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:48am

Oh man, this was sweet as heck. I only had cinnamon left to find when the last of my crew starved to death. I had no gold either when it happened (damn buccaneers). I fear I may not be a very good captain.

Amusing writing, good options, cheerful graphics, really great overall. The choices reminded me of FTL. :)

ConciseBit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:11am

I collected all spices within 5 minutes in my first run (~8 islands)! Did i got lucky? :p

I like the sweet graphics and the writing.
Somehow i developed a bit of motion sickness but that must be me (OR IS THAT INTENDED? :D)

Good job!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:43pm

I really enjoyed this game. The text was highly humorous and the events were fun.

Ixeno says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:41am

Amazing graphics and atmosphere!

graebor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:42am

Quite liked this one, just really wish the ship controls were snappier and more responsive. Movement felt much too floaty, slow and loose, even for sailing. Audio would have helped too, of course, 48 hours is not a lot of time!

jesterswilde says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:43am

You executed the theme really well. I found the font a bit hard to read, but really solid. I like it.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:50am

I liked the graphics! It sort of felt like an "Oregon Trail of the Sea." I got down to zero food and then somehow won anyway at the last minute, which was cool. I was kind of wondering if my extra crew members would help out with that situation.

Anyway, I think the main thing I'd say is that the intro text could use a bit of a cleanup. "You'll curry my favor if you curry my food" is a great line, but we could use without three screens of info in a difficult font.

Teesquared says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:56am

Nice graphics and UI. I liked the game play and theme.

jpcote says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:59am

Nice game, graphics are awesome ! I love the water textures !

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Fascinating game! I really like all the little random bits of narrative which comes with each island; bringing a madman on board as part of my crew, trying to steal goods from a native tribe and fighting off pirates. I also like how you gave the crew members names, it did well in giving me a sense of responsibility over them. At one point (I thought you could restock food if you bumped into the starting castle) I experience the dilema of, "Should I explore more and maximise my riches or should I return to the castle to get more food for my crew?". Quite entertaining. One thing though, the game solely luck based and not much to do with strategy or the skill of the player.

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Nice execution - really like the water effect. Needs some music, when sailing for a long time with nothing to do it takes away from the game. I sang the wind waker theme in my head ;)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Graphic design is very pleasant and original. Game itself was pretty interesting too play! Great job on this one!

ncannasse says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:38pm

I enjoyed playing it :) Too bad there was no sounds to enhance the Mood, since the texts are quite funny.

EMAK says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Pretty nice entry!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:05am

I love the aesthetics of the game. Minimalistic but just beautiful. Especially water.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:55am

Poor Al

eastes says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:00am

BRING ME MY BUCKET. Hilarious.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:02am

Cool game, I really liked the look. I only got pepper though cause I thought if I went back to the castle I would get more food but I guess I was exiled till I got spices :(

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:53am

Reminded me of Windwaker and Pirates!

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Good game. I like how the controls handle the ship like you are sailing except backing up maybe. Fun and good looking. GJ

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:23am

Hi there. Like the animated sea and sailing mechanics, the slight lag on steering is very reminiscent of boating. Had fun and discovered 2/4 spices. Nice progression mechanic with the island flagging. As you say, shame no time for sounds. Good job overall!

sandbaydev says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Nice visuals, fine questions/options to choose from. I thought the ship went too slow though... I would have wanted to skip most of the sailing.

I would have liked to see some hint about the potential events before exploring an island. For example, if there was somebody waving and shouting to be rescued, that would be perhaps interesting.

eatsleepindie says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:33am

Like Oregon Trail on the high seas! Awesome game, really great job on the UI and the world, the animated ocean just seals the deal.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]