Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Rails

by JonathanG - Jam Entry

by Jonathan Gover, Duncan Stead and Ricky Willis


Build a thriving empire of trade between planets using the power of steam!

- Click on planets to see which goods they produce, and which goods you can deliver to them.

- Click and drag between planets to build rail lines between them. Right-click a rail line to sell it, and reclaim half the cost.

- While viewing a planet, you can construct a steam engine on the surface. You can add different types of carriage while viewing a train.

- Set a route for the train by clicking the planets and selecting what to drop off and what to pick up on each. Make sure the planets are connected by rails!

- Profit!


(Hint - if you can increase the population of a planet, it will level up and produce more!)

(Hint - engines start travelling anti-clockwise around a planet. Pay attention to the direction of the arrows when building rails, because if a train can't pass from one rail to another at a shallow enough angle, it won't even start moving. It also won't start moving until there's a completed route to its next destination.)


UPDATE - the buying/selling economy was so unbalanced as to make it unplayable, so the following changes were made:
- rail/engine/carriage prices set properly instead of being debug values
- goods prices adjusted so you can make a profit
- start with more money
- two planets swapped so the beginning of the game is easier
- can no longer buy carriages if you don't have enough money

UPDATE - ported to Linux! Both the original and fixed versions are available :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#26Theme(Jam)4.06
#106Innovation(Jam)3.62
#114Audio(Jam)3.68
#141Overall(Jam)3.59
#292Mood(Jam)3.27
#341Graphics(Jam)3.48
#468Fun(Jam)2.88
#520Humor(Jam)2.06

Comments

bob_fish says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:03am

Nice, had some troubles clicking on planet at start and building rail though. Quite fun though and reminds me of Transport Tycoon a bit!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Hi, looks good and complicated, but couldn't read half of UI - was off the RHS of the player window (chrome zoomed out so it was in-game problem I think not my end)

JonathanG says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:08am

If Chrome is zoomed out, then it will resize the Unity Web Player smaller than 960x600. Unfortunately all our UI code assumes that the player will be that size, so if it isn't then you'll have problems. Try resetting Chrome to default zoom level.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Good job

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Like others have said, the GUI is slightly cut off. Overall though it only took a little bit of time to figure out. Interesting way of incorporating the theme!

tbam says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:11pm

One of the better trader games I've played. The rails were really neat.

Rialgar says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:31pm

very nice concept, but suffers for interface. I could never figure the whole system out, because I could not find how to produce copper, I suspect a planet needing a level up, but to make that one work I neeed another one that needs copper, circular dependency anyone?

Njord says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Nice work ! The game looks nice and well polished ! It's a bit complex though, and it could use more feedback / a clearer UI, or a good ingame tutorial.

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:36pm

This game is awesome! Very well done, congratulations!

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Really great concept - love the music!

Trilby says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:36am

I love the concept. I'm not too keen on the music though.

creative630 says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Call me dumb, but I just can't drag between planets? It always registers it as a single click?

JonathanG says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Did you go into "Build Rails" mode by clicking the button in the bottom right? If so, can you draw red lines in space by clicking and dragging?

bushmango says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Cool idea but the rails being one-way (?) is really confusing! Most of the time my trains weren't moving. I spent most of the time fighting the interface when the game would be REALLY FUN if I could have the trains moving more predictably :)

Acuity says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Music is pretty chill, and gameplay is interesting!

someone says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Cool trading game. I like how the rails are constructed. Interesting that they are one way, but you can use both sides of one rail by building ramps at the ends.
I managed to get a stray carriage moving on its own at one point which was weird.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Yeah, adding carriages while the train is in motion causes all sorts of oddities and is not highly recommended. Also, whatever you do, DON'T delete a rail while a train is travelling along it!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]