Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pilgrimage

by Follett - Jam Entry

Pilgrimage is singleplayer/multiplayer adventure game in the vein of Journey by that game company. Work together with other players to explore a wide desert and find the relics needed to escape.

Work with other pilgrims to stay alive and not freeze by using fires to stay warm and road markers to not lose track.

The connected worlds aspects works with players being able to use the fires and markers left by other pilgrims. When or if you die your fires and markers will stay in the world to be re-used by other struggling pilgrims.

Best played in windows desktop, web player not recommended.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#46Mood(Jam)3.96
#85Graphics(Jam)4.22
#103Audio(Jam)3.72
#126Overall(Jam)3.63
#393Innovation(Jam)3.00
#415Theme(Jam)3.09
#457Humor(Jam)2.24
#477Fun(Jam)2.87

Comments

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:16am

Lovely aesthetics, the inspirations are very clear. Love the use of theme and multiplayer elements.

laremere says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:17am

If you upload your game to itch.io or gamejolt, it will be easier for people to play. As it stands your "web" link still requires downloading the game to play it.

toranoko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:24am

I could walk around in this forever : ) beautiful game

Maxium says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:26am

Fantastic Ambiance! The movement controls are fluid, although the backpack controls could be improved. Also, had almost unplayable fps at the start of the level, but past that everything was smooth.

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:27am

Pretty cool, character movement was super cool. I had real framerate issues so I couldn't play that much :< . Cool entry though!

handkor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:30am

This is very lovely and relaxing. I don't know why but your character reminds me of Finn from Adventure Time, probably the colors.

laremere says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:35am

*after playing* ambitious project! Unfortunately it does get quite low fps even on low settings for me, and default settings had some rendering problems. Very nice work. I did manage to find one relic but didn't want to go searching for the others.

k.escoe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:36am

the web version wants me to download a file. But other than that the game is awesome i love the atmosphere its so soothing!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:36am

First off I had a surprising amount of fun just running around with other people on the server. That being said, I have no idea where the relics are, I ran over to a giant structure which didn't increase my number of found relics and it gets tiring running in empty desert. Despite that I'm super impressed by this game and would love to see it fleshed out a little more.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:38am

Forgot to say:
Missed connections. Me jumping in front of you. You jumped back. We ran to the giant structure and were confused. You built a fire and we warmed up together.

laremere says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:18am

Viking Warriors: That was me. You should've followed me a bit longer, I ended up finding a relic.

Follett says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:30am

Thanks for your feedback guys. I put it on Itch.IO like you said. Hope it makes it easier for you to play.

Follett says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:34am

Oh and the cloth causes frame rate drops in the web version.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:27am

Really beautiful, I'm glad chrome wasn't being weird about dropbox and I was able to download this.
The animations are WONDERFUL, i really wish you could've had a better character model to show them off with. But seriously, I really wanted to point that out, they were so nice.
reminded me of Journey(which I've never played :p )
and the music and ambience was really well done.
Unfortunately, my internet is going really slow, so i couldn't play much without huge lag spikes; is there a way to offline mode?

glenaskey says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:33am

This was great. Fantastic animations

xXweeguyXx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Incredible game! Really did remind me of Journey, in the best way possible. Your inspirations are clear and I like it.

Fumiko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Man - i wanted to play this game since i saw one of your ludum dare post on the mainsite. And the game is really no let down!
The concept is great, the game is beautiful and man... that animationquality sure is polished well. I was playing this game alone so i am sure i haven't even seen the true gameplay/fun potential yet. However the game has a real hard time starting and i can't seem to get the windows version running under any circumstances. Which is pretty sad because it's one of those games i would see myself starting and playing even after a month when ludum dare is not that present anymore in my mind. I experienced quite the framedrops during playing although i'm sure much of it was because i had to run the browser-version of the game. Anyways this game is pretty cool and I hope you'll get out a fixed version in due time - as of yet i wasn't able to reach any fragment - but when the game doesn't go to slideshowmode anymore when i face the mid of the map i am sure to give it a go again. great game.

burgerdare says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:10pm

The animation quality is astounding, and the overall atmosphere is stupendous. Sadly, it feels very bland in the mechanical department, and the player's goal is too vague to really be very engaging, at least for me.

jdavidson091 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:33am

Really cool theme, loved the aesthetic as well. Great music. UI could use an overhaul, of course, but the game as a whole was very interesting! Perfect mood and cool use of the theme

tchem says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:36am

great work. The atmosphere and aesthetics are awesome, remember cleary Journey. i like the concept and navigation in this world.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:59am

Seemed a lot like Journey. Could be really great with some more visuals / stunning environment. Great music

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:22am

Amazing colors and atmosphere! Great prototype to develop a big thing!

Haddy22 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:50am

Great job. I can see how this would be a lot easier with a group so you can share resources and maybe actually find all 3 relics. I found one by myself though! Lovely atmosphere, amazing you did this in a game jam. I had a really hard time getting into a game with some high frame-rate problems as others have mentioned but once in game it was smooth and impressive. Nice job!

Skywilly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:05am

Great inspirations & good concept !

aldonbaker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:48am

Pretty good graphics, the music was sort of inappropriate for the game. It needed something more... eastern hemisphere. It was very imitation bach.

aldonbaker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:55am

Please do me a favor and message me on twitter, i'd like to talk to you further about your game.

aldonbaker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:55am

@aldonbaker

Simplexcity says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:59am

Its like adventurejourneytimesouls. great stuff!!! i love you

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:46am

That seems really great but I can't play it due to the huge lag. I have not the best PC but still play lot of recent game with it. Anyway, seems awesome.

leafarz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:11pm

great visuals! even the animation of the character is superb! character kinda looks like finn tho :)) also the game is very soothing because of the music and probably the light colors used in game. reminds me of journey (dunno if it's just me)
i had a hard time figuring out what to do in game imo.
but overall great job! would love to see this game further developed in the future! thumbs up for you :D

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:15pm

I love the animations, they look very natural and smooth. Sadly I couldn't find another player. At one point a message popped up, saying that another player had died and asked me to restart. Was that a bug? Also I managed to climb up the big stones and fell of the world ;) I would like to see this game progress a bit further!

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:54pm

I would have liked to like this more: if only I would have some other player to play with me :)

Also the framerate was killing my machine unless I looked "downwards" to the ground.

So, with limited testing & playing, I still think this entry does have potential. The chap animations and movement were excellent. There was enough elements to start exploring. Well done.

Sandcrawler says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Looks Great, and the Audio is good. I couldn't get the Windows version to work, it kept crashing when I hit to create a world. The Web version worked for me, but had some issues.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Good atmosphere. But how to find a relic? What IS a relic?

RobotFriend says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:04am

I couldn't find anything or figure out how to make a fire. Maybe I'm dumb.

Follett says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:29am

Hey Robot, your character at the start should have a little speech bubble saying hold TAB to open inventory

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:48am

It is... legit.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Ha, reminds me of my entry. :D Like this a lot!

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:31am

The forward/back controls would get swapped randomly. I don't know if this was a feature or a bug.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:16am

Hi there. As described the webplayer crashed, tried it a few times (Chrome/W8.1)

bytegrove says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Aw, I'm not sure I'm playing this right.. I wasn't able to find any relics before I ran out of campfires. I found a tower in the desert, but overall the game felt very empty. It's quite pretty though(the grey shiny stones looks a little out of place though), and the animations and controls are really smooth.

Split82 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Interesting! Unfortunately I didn't find any relic :)

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:49am

1. Great work on the model and animation. Looks like you've mastered Mecanim.
2. Great work on ambience and mood: the use of streamers was a nice touch.
3. The concept of a server controlled instance is, frankly, amazing.
4. However, the actual game that these beautiful elements support is somewhat lacking when played without other players or any real milestones, markers, etc. If you had shrunk the landscape by half or more, it may have intensified the experience, instead of letting the sense of wonder wane.
That said, awesome jam.

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:49am

oops... comments above! :)

Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:54am

Had fun exploring but couldn't find any relics which was frustrating. The character animation is great and the music works well in helping set the mood. Hoping to see this expanded upon.

hb3p8 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Awesome game. Nice character animation and graphics. Love game concept. Great job!

besieger1 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:49am

Loved this game, the multiplayer expirance was so strange but extreamly good at the same time. I honsesly think this will win best theme.

PS: Do you plan the release source for this game as it would be grate for community to learn from, specially the multiplayer part.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Reminds me a lot of Journey

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Very beautiful game, I played singl, but I'd love to see how is the experience with many other players.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]